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HB 2099-3

(LC 2935)

4/28/23 (HE/ps)

Requested by JOINT COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION (at the request of Department of

Transportation)

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO

HOUSE BILL 2099

In line 2 of the printed bill, after “transportation” insert “; creating new

provisions; amending ORS 87.152, 153.083, 184.742, 319.520, 319.530, 319.550,

366.805, 367.081, 646A.090, 802.031, 802.600, 803.102, 803.120, 803.212, 803.530,

803.552, 805.103, 805.210, 805.250, 807.080, 807.220, 807.230, 807.310, 809.520,

819.482, 820.110, 822.015, 822.020, 822.025, 822.027, 822.030, 822.033, 822.035,

822.040, 822.045, 822.050, 822.060, 822.310, 822.315, 822.515, 822.700, 822.990 and

825.480; repealing ORS 805.117, 805.242, 822.505, 822.510, 822.520, 822.525,

822.530 and 822.535; prescribing an effective date; and providing for revenue

raising that requires approval by a three-fifths majority”.

Delete lines 4 through 11 and insert:

“SAFE ROUTES TO SCHOOL

“SECTION 1. ORS 184.742 is amended to read:

“184.742. (1) The Oregon Transportation Commission may provide match-

ing grants under this section for safety improvement projects near schools.

“(2) To qualify for a matching grant an applicant shall:

“(a) Demonstrate that a project fits within the applicable plan developed

pursuant to ORS 195.115;

“(b) Provide a cash match of at least 40 percent of the project’s costs; and

“(c) Provide any other information required by the commission.



1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

“(3) Notwithstanding subsection (2) of this section, by rule, the commis-

sion may reduce the amount the applicant must provide for a cash match.

[An applicant providing a reduced cash match shall provide at least 20 percent

of the project’s costs. This subsection applies if:]

“[(a) The school is located in a city with a population of 5,000 or fewer;]

“[(b) The project reduces hazards within a safety corridor, as defined by

the commission by rule; or]

“[(c) The school site qualifies for assistance under Chapter I of Title I of

the federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965.]

“(4) The commission shall prioritize the expenditure of funds as author-

ized under this section for projects that are located within a [one-mile]

two-mile radius of a school that serves students in prekindergarten,

kindergarten or grades 1 through [8] 12, or any combination of those grade

levels[, or a school that serves students in kindergarten through grade 12].

“(5) The matching grants shall be used to reduce barriers and hazards to

children walking or bicycling to and from school, including but not limited

to safety improvement projects that:

“(a) Improve sidewalks;

“(b) Reduce vehicle speeds;

“(c) Improve pedestrian and bicycle crossings; or

“(d) Create or improve bicycle lanes.

“(6) The commission may adopt rules specifying the application process

and the selection criteria that will be used in awarding matching grants.

“CONNECT OREGON

“SECTION 2. ORS 367.081 is amended to read:

“367.081. (1) Each biennium, the Department of Transportation may pro-

vide grants for transportation projects under ORS 367.080 only if the de-

partment determines that $50 million or more will be available in the
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Connect Oregon Fund for [the biennium in which the grants are provided]

grants awarded under ORS 367.080 to 367.086.

“(2) The department may use up to one percent of the amounts available

within the Connect Oregon Fund to pay administrative costs incurred by the

department in carrying out the provisions of ORS 367.080 to 367.086.

“(3) Each biennium, the department shall transfer seven percent of the

moneys in the Connect Oregon Fund to the Multimodal Active Transporta-

tion Fund established under ORS 367.091 for the purpose of providing grants

for bicycle and pedestrian transportation projects.

“USE FUEL

“SECTION 3. ORS 319.550 is amended to read:

“319.550. (1) Except as provided in this section, a person may not use fuel

in a motor vehicle in this state unless the person holds a valid user’s license.

“(2) A nonresident may use fuel in a motor vehicle not registered in

Oregon for a period not exceeding 30 consecutive days without obtaining a

user’s license or the emblem issued under ORS 319.600, if, for all fuel used

in a motor vehicle in this state, the nonresident pays to a seller, at the time

of the sale, the tax provided in ORS 319.530.

“(3) A user’s license is not required for a person who uses fuel in a motor

vehicle [with a combined weight of 26,000 pounds or less] if, for all fuel used

in a motor vehicle in this state, the person pays to a seller, at the time of

the sale, the tax provided in ORS 319.530.

“(4) A user’s license is not required for a person who is subject to

the weight-mile tax described in ORS 825.474 and 825.476 or the flat fee

rate described in ORS 825.480.

“[(4)(a)] (5)(a) A user’s license is not required for a person who uses fuel

as described in ORS 319.520 (7) in the vehicles specified in this subsection

if the person pays to a seller, at the time of the sale, the tax provided in
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ORS 319.530.

“(b) Paragraph (a) of this subsection applies to the following vehicles:

“(A) Motor homes as defined in ORS 801.350.

“(B) Recreational vehicles as defined in ORS 174.101.

“[(5)] (6) A user’s license is not required for a person who uses fuel in a

motor vehicle:

“(a) Metered use by which is subject to the per-mile road usage charge

imposed under ORS 319.885; and

“(b) That also uses fuels subject to ORS 319.510 to 319.880.

“[(6)] (7) A user’s license is not required for a person who uses fuel in a

motor vehicle on which an emblem issued for the motor vehicle pursuant to

ORS 319.535 is displayed.

“SECTION 4. ORS 319.520 is amended to read:

“319.520. As used in ORS 319.510 to 319.880, unless the context clearly

indicates a different meaning:

“(1) ‘Cardlock card’ means a fuel card:

“(a) Capable of generating an electronic invoice or electronic statement

that includes the information required by ORS 319.671 and the applicable fuel

tax amount;

“(b) Issued for a specific vehicle, a specific piece of equipment or a group

of equipment;

“(c) That includes the qualifying information, as designated by the De-

partment of Transportation by rule, that is printed on the electronic invoice

or electronic statement;

“(d) That allows the tax status of the cardlock card to be indicated on the

electronic invoice or electronic statement and includes state tax as a sepa-

rate item on the invoice or statement; and

“(e) That allows a cardlock card issuer to generate a statement recording,

by fuel type, gallons of fuel purchased for domestic and foreign customers

each month.
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“(2) ‘Combined weight’ means the total empty weight of all vehicles in a

combination plus the total weight of the load carried on that combination

of vehicles.

“(3) ‘Delinquent’ means having failed to pay a tax or penalty within the

time provided by law.

“(4) ‘Department’ means the Department of Transportation.

“(5) ‘Domestic customer’ means a customer making a purchase at a

nonretail facility owned by the cardlock card issuer.

“(6) ‘Foreign customer’ means a customer making a purchase at a

nonretail facility owned by a seller other than the cardlock card issuer.

“(7) ‘Fuel’ means any combustible gas, liquid or material of a kind used

for the generation of power to propel a motor vehicle on the highways except

motor vehicle fuel as defined in ORS 319.010.

“(8) ‘Highway’ means every way, thoroughfare and place, of whatever

nature, open to the use of the public for the purpose of vehicular travel.

“(9) ‘Light weight’ means the weight of a vehicle when fully equipped for

moving over the highway.

“(10) ‘Liquefied petroleum gas’ includes propane, pentane and any

mixture of propane and pentane.

“[(10)] (11) ‘Motor vehicle’ means every self-propelled vehicle operated on

the highway, except an implement of husbandry used in agricultural oper-

ations and only incidentally operated or moved upon the highway.

“[(11)] (12) ‘Nonretail facility’ means:

“(a) An unattended facility accessible only by cardlock card and not as-

sociated with a retail facility; or

“(b) An unattended portion of a retail facility separate from the retail

operations and accessible only by cardlock card.

“[(12)] (13) ‘Person’ means any individual, firm, copartnership, joint ven-

ture, association, corporation, trust, receiver or any group or combination

acting as a unit.
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“[(13)] (14) ‘Seller’ means:

“(a) A person that sells fuel to a user; or

“(b) If the fuel is dispensed at a nonretail facility, the person that owns

the user’s accounts and bills the user for fuel purchased at a nonretail fa-

cility.

“[(14)] (15) ‘To sell fuel for use in a motor vehicle’ means to dispense or

place fuel for a price into a receptacle on a motor vehicle, from which re-

ceptacle the fuel is supplied to propel the motor vehicle.

“[(15)] (16) ‘To use fuel in a motor vehicle’ means to receive into any re-

ceptacle on a motor vehicle, fuel to be consumed in propelling the motor

vehicle on the highways of this state; and, if the fuel is received into the

receptacle outside the taxing jurisdiction of the state, ‘to use fuel in a motor

vehicle’ means to consume in propelling the motor vehicle on the highways

of this state.

“SECTION 5. ORS 319.530 is amended to read:

“319.530. (1) To compensate this state partially for the use of its highways,

an excise tax hereby is imposed at the rate of 34 cents per gallon on the use

of fuel in a motor vehicle.

“(2) Except as otherwise provided in subsections (3) [and (4)] to (6) of this

section, 100 cubic feet of fuel used or sold in a gaseous state, measured at

14.73 pounds per square inch of pressure at 60 degrees Fahrenheit, is taxable

at the same rate as a gallon of liquid fuel.

“(3) [One hundred twenty] 123.57 cubic feet, or 5.66 pounds, of com-

pressed natural gas used or sold in a gaseous state[, measured at 14.73 pounds

per square inch of pressure at 60 degrees Fahrenheit,] is taxable at the same

rate as [a gallon of liquid fuel] one gasoline gallon.

“[(4) One and three-tenths liquid gallons of propane at 60 degrees

Fahrenheit is taxable at the same rate as a gallon of other liquid fuel.]

“(4) 1.353 gallons, or 5.75 pounds, of liquefied petroleum gas is tax-

able at the same rate as one gasoline gallon.
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“(5) 1.71 gallons, or 6.059 pounds, of liquefied natural gas is taxable

at the same rate as one diesel gallon.

“(6) One kilogram of hydrogen is taxable at the same rate as one

gasoline gallon.

“SMALL CITY ALLOCATION

“SECTION 6. ORS 366.805 is amended to read:

“366.805. (1) Except as provided in subsection (2) of this section, the ap-

propriation specified in ORS 366.800 shall be allocated to the cities as pro-

vided in this subsection. The moneys subject to allocation under this

subsection shall be distributed by the Department of Transportation accord-

ing to the following:

“(a) The moneys shall be distributed to all the cities.

“(b) Each city shall receive such share of the moneys as its population

bears to the total population of the cities.

“(2) Each year, the sum of $2,500,000 shall be withdrawn from the appro-

priation specified in ORS 366.800 and $2,500,000 shall be withdrawn from

moneys available to the Department of Transportation from the State High-

way Fund. The sums withdrawn shall be transferred to a separate account

to be administered by the Department of Transportation. The following apply

to the account described in this subsection:

“(a) Money from the account shall be used only [upon streets] on roads:

“(A) That are not a part of the state highway system with the exception

of project elements that are required to comply with federal or state

law;

“(B) That are within cities with populations of 5,000 or fewer persons; and

“(C) That are inadequate for the capacity the [streets serve] roads serve

or are in a condition detrimental to safety.

“(b) To the extent moneys are available, all moneys in the account
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shall be [allotted] allocated each year.

“(c) Subject to paragraph (d) of this subsection, the department shall de-

termine [the distribution of the expenditures after considering applications

from the cities submitted to the department] annual allocation after con-

sidering applications, including project budgets, submitted by the

cities to the department.

“(d) The department may enter into agreements with cities upon the ad-

vice and counsel of the small city advisory committee to establish the

method used to review and rank applications and determine allocation

based on those applications [organizations representing cities to establish:]

“[(A) The method of allotting moneys from the account; or]

“[(B) The method of considering applications from cities and determining

distribution based on the applications].

“(3) The Director of Transportation shall establish a small city advisory

committee. The small city advisory committee shall review applications

submitted by small cities and shall recommend [applications for approval]

ranked applications to the director. In consultation with the League of

Oregon Cities, the director shall appoint to the small city advisory com-

mittee one representative of a small city in each of the five regions of this

state.

“(4) For purposes of this section:

“(a) Region one consists of Clackamas, Hood River, Multnomah and

Washington Counties.

“(b) Region two consists of Benton, Clatsop, Columbia, Lane, Lincoln,

Linn, Marion, Polk, Tillamook and Yamhill Counties.

“(c) Region three consists of Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson and Josephine

Counties.

“(d) Region four consists of Crook, Deschutes, Gilliam, Jefferson,

Klamath, Lake, Sherman, Wasco and Wheeler Counties.

“(e) Region five consists of Baker, Grant, Harney, Malheur, Morrow,
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Umatilla, Union and Wallowa Counties.

“DRIVING PRIVILEGES

“SECTION 7. Section 8 of this 2023 Act is added to and made a part

of the Oregon Vehicle Code.

“SECTION 8. (1) The Department of Transportation shall adopt

rules necessary to administer the federal Drug and Alcohol Clearing-

house.

“(2) The department may not issue or renew commercial driving

privileges and may cancel or suspend commercial driving privileges if

a person has not complied with the rules established under this sec-

tion.

“(3) A person is entitled to an administrative review under ORS

809.440 when the department does not issue or renew commercial

driving privileges under this section or cancels or suspends commer-

cial driving privileges under this section.

“SECTION 9. ORS 807.080 is amended to read:

“807.080. [(1) The Department of Transportation, by rule, shall provide for

the following in a manner consistent with this section:]

“[(a) The issuance of driver competency testing certificates.]

“[(b) The regulation of persons issued driver competency testing

certificates.]

“[(2) A person issued a driver competency testing certificate under this

section may certify, in a manner established by the department, the competency

of drivers to safely exercise driving privileges granted only under one or more

of the following:]

“[(a) A Class A commercial driver license.]

“[(b) A Class B commercial driver license.]

“[(c) A Class C commercial driver license.]
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“[(d) An endorsement related to a commercial driver license.]

“[(3) The department may waive an actual demonstration of ability to op-

erate a motor vehicle under ORS 807.070 for an applicant who is certified by

the holder of a driver competency testing certificate as competent to exercise

the driving privileges in the class of license or in the endorsement sought by

the applicant.]

“[(4) The rules adopted by the department under this section may establish

reasonable fees for the issuance of a certificate or as part of any program of

regulating certificate holders that is established by the department.]

“[(5) When adopting rules under this section, the department may:]

“[(a) Make the certificate renewable upon any basis determined convenient

by the department and may include provisions for cancellation, revocation or

suspension of certificates or for probation of certificate holders.]

“[(b) Provide for the issuance of certifications allowing the holder to certify

competency in several classes or types of driving privileges or limiting the

classes or types of driving privileges for which the holder may certify compe-

tency.]

“[(c) Establish the forms of certificates to be issued.]

“[(d) Establish and require forms that are to be used by certificate holders

in certifying competency.]

“[(e) Establish any qualifications or requirements for obtaining a certificate

that the department determines necessary to protect the interests of persons

seeking certification by certificate holders.]

“[(f) Issue certificates to publicly owned and operated educational facilities

to allow programs for certification of competency.]

“[(g) Issue certificates to employers to allow the employers to establish

programs primarily for the certification of employees’ competency. The depart-

ment may provide that programs established under this paragraph may be op-

erated without driver training school certificates under ORS 822.500 and

without driver training instructor certificates under ORS 822.525.]
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“[(h) Establish any other provisions or requirements necessary to carry out

the purposes of this section.]

“(1) The Department of Transportation may adopt rules and enter

into contracts necessary for the regulation and certification of persons

and organizations authorized to certify an individual’s competency to

safely operate a motor vehicle, including a commercial motor vehicle,

on behalf of the department.

“(2) Rules adopted under this section may include, but are not

limited to, the following:

“(a) Establishing methods and procedures for the testing of com-

petency to operate different types of motor vehicles.

“(b) Establishing the manner and mechanism by which test results

shall be sent to the department.

“(c) Establishing reasonable fees as part of any program for regu-

lation created by the department under this section.

“(d) Establishing grounds for suspension, cancellation or revocation

of a person’s or organization’s authorization to certify competency to

operate motor vehicles.

“(e) Establishing requirements for records retention.

“(f) Establishing requirements for inspections of premises, investi-

gations and monitoring, including covert monitoring, to ensure that

testing is conducted in strict accord with rules adopted under this

section.

“(g) Establishing bond and insurance requirements.

“(3) In adopting rules under this section, the department shall take

into consideration the regulations and laws of the federal government.

“SECTION 10. ORS 807.220 is amended to read:

“807.220. (1) The Department of Transportation shall provide for the is-

suance of emergency driver permits in a manner consistent with this section.

“(2) Except as otherwise provided in this section an emergency driver
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permit is subject to the fees, provisions, conditions, prohibitions and penal-

ties applicable to a Class C driver license.

“(3) The following apply to an emergency driver permit:

“(a) The department may issue an emergency driver permit to a person

14 years of age or older.

“(b) The department shall place restrictions on the permit that designate

the routes over which the permit is valid. The department shall designate

routes it determines necessary from the facts creating the emergency.

“(c) The permit shall only be issued if the department is satisfied that an

emergency exists that requires operation of a motor vehicle by the applicant.

“(d) The department may establish a form for the permit that differs from

the form required for a license.

“(e) The only fee required for issuance of the permit is the emergency

driver permit fee under ORS 807.370.

“(f) The department may establish a period for the expiration of the per-

mit that coincides with the end of the emergency that is the basis for the

permit.

“(g) The department shall cancel the permit if the department determines

that the holder of the permit has operated a motor vehicle over any highway

or for any purpose other than one approved under the permit.

“(h) If an emergency driver permit is canceled, the person issued the

permit is ineligible to be issued another emergency driver permit for a period

of one year.

“(i) In addition to any other application requirements for the emergency

driver permit, the applicant must obtain the [endorsement on the

application] approval of the sheriff of the county in which the applicant re-

sides.

“(4) The department may issue an emergency driver permit, if the person

qualifies for the permit, to a person whose driving privileges are suspended

under ORS 809.280 because the department has received an order suspending
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driving privileges under ORS 809.260. In addition to other emergencies, a

situation that leaves the applicant with no alternative means to travel to

and from school is an emergency for purposes of a permit issued under this

subsection.

“SECTION 11. ORS 807.230 is amended to read:

“807.230. The Department of Transportation shall provide for issuance of

special student driver permits in a manner consistent with this section. A

special student driver permit grants the driving privileges provided in this

section or under the permit. Except as otherwise provided in this section,

a special student driver permit is subject to the fees, provisions, conditions,

prohibitions and penalties applicable to a Class C driver license. The fol-

lowing apply to a special student driver permit:

“(1) The department may issue a special student driver permit to a person

14 years of age or older.

“(2) The department shall place restrictions on the permit to limit opera-

tion of a vehicle under the permit to operation necessary as a means of

transportation to or from the school, college or other educational institution

attended by the person to whom the driver permit is issued.

“(3) The permit shall only be issued if the applicant has no other avail-

able means of transportation by which to continue the applicant’s education.

“(4) The permit shall only be issued if the department is satisfied that the

applicant has had sufficient experience in the operation of motor vehicles to

operate a motor vehicle without endangering the safety of the public.

“(5) The department may establish a form for the permit that differs from

the form required for a license that is issued.

“(6) The only fee required for issuance of the permit is the special student

driver permit fee under ORS 807.370.

“(7) The department shall cancel the permit if the department determines

that the holder of the permit has operated a motor vehicle over any highway

or for any purpose other than as approved under the permit.
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“(8) If a special student driver permit is canceled, the person issued the

permit is ineligible to be issued any license or driver permit until the person

is old enough to be eligible for a license.

“(9) In addition to any other application requirements for the special

student driver permit, the applicant must:

“(a) Certify that the applicant has no other available means of transpor-

tation that would enable the applicant to continue the applicant’s education;

“(b) Specify the road or highway over which the applicant desires to op-

erate motor vehicles;

“(c) Obtain the [endorsement] approval of the sheriff of the county in

which the applicant resides and of the principal of the school the applicant

attends; and

“(d) Provide any other information required by the department.

“SECTION 12. ORS 807.310 is amended to read:

“807.310. (1) The Department of Transportation shall provide for the is-

suance of applicant temporary driver permits in a manner consistent with

this section.

“(2) The department may issue an applicant temporary driver permit to

an applicant for a Class C driver license or for a noncommercial driver

permit while the department is determining all facts relative to application

for the Class C driver license or noncommercial driver permit. The de-

partment shall set forth on the applicant temporary driver permit the driving

privileges granted under the permit.

“(3) The holder of an applicant temporary driver permit must have the

temporary driver permit on the holder’s person while operating a motor ve-

hicle. The holder of an applicant temporary driver permit must operate

within the driving privileges granted under the temporary driver permit.

“(4) An applicant temporary driver permit is valid for a period of 30 days

from the date issued. The department may extend the term of the permit for

sufficient cause. An extension of the term of the permit may not exceed an

 HB 2099-3 4/28/23
 Proposed Amendments to HB 2099 Page 14



1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

additional 30 days.

“(5) An applicant temporary driver permit automatically becomes invalid

if the applicant’s license or permit is issued or refused for good cause.

“(6) The department may not charge a fee for issuance of an applicant

temporary driver permit under this section.

“(7) The department may, by rule, establish when an applicant may

be issued a temporary driver permit for commercial driving privileges.

“SECTION 13. ORS 809.520, as amended by sections 107 and 108, chapter

630, Oregon Laws 2021, is amended to read:

“809.520. (1) Notwithstanding ORS 809.510 (1) to (5) and (7), the Depart-

ment of Transportation shall permanently suspend a person’s commercial

driving privileges for the lifetime of the person if the department receives a

record of conviction for a crime punishable as a felony in which a motor

vehicle was used and that involved the manufacturing, distributing or dis-

pensing of a controlled substance, as defined in ORS 475.005. The department

may not reinstate commercial driving privileges of a person whose commer-

cial driving privileges are suspended under this subsection.

“(2) Notwithstanding ORS 809.510 (1) to (5) and (7), the department shall

permanently suspend a person’s commercial driving privileges for the lifetime

of the person if the department receives a record of conviction for a crime

in which a commercial motor vehicle was used and that involved an act or

practice of severe forms of trafficking in persons as defined by the depart-

ment by rule. The department may not reinstate commercial driving privi-

leges of a person whose commercial driving privileges are suspended under

this subsection.

“(3)(a) Notwithstanding ORS 809.510 (1) to (5) and (7), the department

shall suspend a person’s commercial driving privileges for the lifetime of the

person if the department receives a second or subsequent record, report or

notice described in ORS 809.510 (1) to (5) and (7) that does not arise out

of the same incident and that would be grounds for suspension of the
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person’s commercial driving privileges under ORS 809.510 (1) to (5) and

(7).

“(b) The department may adopt rules providing for the reinstatement of

commercial driving privileges suspended under this subsection. The depart-

ment may not reinstate commercial driving privilege suspensions under this

subsection earlier than 10 years after the date that the person’s commercial

driving privileges are suspended under paragraph (a) of this subsection.

“(c) The department shall permanently suspend a person’s commercial

driving privileges for the lifetime of the person if the department receives a

record, report or notice described in paragraph (a) of this subsection that

relates to conduct that occurred after the person’s commercial driving priv-

ileges were reinstated under paragraph (b) of this subsection. The department

may not reinstate the commercial driving privileges of a person whose com-

mercial driving privileges are suspended under this paragraph.

“(4) A suspension imposed under this section is consecutive to any other

suspension imposed under ORS 809.510, 809.525, 809.530 or 809.535, if the

suspensions do not arise out of the same incident.

“SECTION 14. ORS 820.110 is amended to read:

“820.110. (1) The State Board of Education shall adopt and enforce rules

to establish requirements of operation, qualifications or special training of

drivers and special accident reports for school buses and school activity ve-

hicles.

“(2) The governing board of a public university listed in ORS 352.002 may

adopt and enforce separate standards of the type described under this section

for school buses and school activity vehicles that are under its jurisdiction.

“(3) The rules and standards adopted under this section:

“(a) Are subject to ORS 820.190 and 820.200 and to any other statute or

regulation relating to the operation of vehicles, qualifications of drivers and

accident reports.

“(b) Must be consistent with requirements established by statute or by
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rule adopted under statutory authority that relate to the same subject.

“(c) May include different requirements for different classes or types of

school buses or school activity vehicles.

“(d) May include any exemptions determined appropriate under ORS

820.150.

“(4) If the Department of Transportation suspends, cancels or revokes any

driving privileges of a person who holds a school bus endorsement [under

ORS 807.035 (5)], the Department of Transportation shall notify the Depart-

ment of Education of the suspension, cancellation or revocation.

“WEIGHMASTER AUTHORITY

“SECTION 15. ORS 153.083, as amended by section 4, chapter 64, Oregon

Laws 2022, is amended to read:

“153.083. (1) Notwithstanding ORS 9.160 and 9.320, in any trial of a vio-

lation, whether created by ordinance or statute, in which a city attorney or

district attorney does not appear, the peace officer who issued the citation

for the offense may present evidence, examine and cross-examine witnesses

and make arguments relating to:

“(a) The application of statutes and rules to the facts in the case;

“(b) The literal meaning of the statutes or rules at issue in the case;

“(c) The admissibility of evidence; and

“(d) Proper procedures to be used in the trial.

“(2) Notwithstanding ORS 9.160 and 9.320, in any trial of a violation,

whether created by ordinance or statute, in which a city attorney or district

attorney does not appear, the duly authorized traffic enforcement agent who

issued the citation for the offense may present the evidence reviewed by the

agent as the basis for issuing a citation under ORS 810.436, 810.437 or

810.444.

“(3) Notwithstanding ORS 9.160 and 9.320, in any trial of a violation,
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whether created by ordinance or statute, in which a city attorney or

district attorney does not appear, the weighmaster or motor carrier

enforcement officer who issued the citation for the offense may pres-

ent the evidence reviewed by the weighmaster or motor carrier

enforcement officer as the basis for issuing a citation listed under ORS

810.530.

“[(3)(a)] (4)(a) As used in this section, ‘duly authorized traffic enforce-

ment agent’ means an individual who:

“(A) Is employed, appointed and duly sworn in by the governing body of

the incorporated city in which the agent performs the agent’s duties; and

“(B) Has completed all necessary technical, administrative and other

training to review photographs and issue citations under ORS 810.436,

810.437 or 810.444.

“(b) Duly authorized traffic enforcement agents are not police officers as

defined in ORS 801.395.

“VEHICLE DEALERS

“SECTION 16. ORS 822.035 is amended to read:

“822.035. The Department of Transportation:

“(1) Upon receipt of an application for a vehicle dealer certificate, shall

examine the application and may make an individual investigation relative

to statements contained in the application.

“(2) Upon being satisfied that an applicant is entitled to a vehicle dealer

certificate and that the proper fees have been paid for the certificate, shall

assign the vehicle dealer a distinctive dealer number that allows the dealer

to conduct business under the certificate and shall forward to the dealer a

vehicle dealer certificate stating thereon the dealer’s number.

“(3) Has authority to determine whether or not an applicant for a vehicle

dealer certificate is a vehicle dealer.
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“(4) Has authority to make suitable rules for the issuance of vehicle

dealer certificates to expire consistently with ORS [822.040] 822.020.

“(5) May make inspections of any vehicle dealer records required under

ORS 822.045 and of any vehicles included in a vehicle dealer’s inventory or

located on the vehicle dealer’s premises. Inspections authorized by this sub-

section may be conducted by the department at reasonable intervals[, during

normal business hours,] and may not exceed a scope of inspection necessary

for the department to determine the following:

“(a) A vehicle dealer’s compliance with statutes regulating vehicle dealers

under the vehicle code;

“(b) A vehicle dealer’s compliance with those provisions of the vehicle

code regulating the titling and registration of vehicles;

“(c) A vehicle dealer’s compliance with rules adopted by the department

relating to the regulation of vehicle dealers and the registration and titling

of vehicles; and

“(d) The identification of stolen vehicles.

“(6) May make inspections during the normal business hours of the

department, from Monday through Friday.

“[(6)] (7) Shall provide a vehicle dealer with plates or devices authorized

under ORS 805.200 to allow the exercise of the privileges granted under ORS

822.040.

“[(7)] (8) May provide a vehicle dealer with identification cards in the

names of the owners of the business or in the names of authorized employees

of the business.

“[(8)] (9) May not issue a vehicle dealer certificate under ORS 822.020 to

an applicant who has been issued a similar certificate from another juris-

diction that has been revoked or is currently suspended unless the applicant

possesses a current, valid vehicle dealer certificate issued under ORS 822.020.

“[(9)] (10) May not use the revocation or suspension by another [state]

jurisdiction of a vehicle dealer certificate or similar certificate as a basis
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for refusing to allow a vehicle dealer holding a current, valid vehicle dealer

certificate issued under ORS 822.020 to obtain a vehicle dealer certificate

under ORS 822.020 or a supplemental certificate under ORS 822.040 [or to

renew a certificate under ORS 822.040].

“[(10)] (11) May adopt any reasonable rules necessary for the adminis-

tration of the laws relating to the regulation of vehicle dealers, the issuance

of vehicle dealer certificates, the issuance of vehicle dealer identification

cards, regulation of vehicle dealers designated as agents under ORS 802.031

and the issuance of vehicle dealer plates. The rules adopted under this sub-

section must be consistent with the statutory provisions of the vehicle code.

The rules may include, but are not limited to, grounds and procedures for

the revocation, denial, probation or suspension of vehicle dealer certificates

or of a vehicle dealer’s designation to act as an agent of the department.

“SECTION 17. ORS 822.020 is amended to read:

“822.020. (1) Except as provided in ORS 822.022 and 822.035 [(8)] (9), the

Department of Transportation shall issue a vehicle dealer certificate to any

person if the person meets all of the following requirements:

“[(1)] (a) The person must complete the application for a dealer certificate

described under ORS 822.025.

“[(2)] (b) The person must deliver to the department a bond or letter of

credit that meets the requirements under ORS 822.030.

“[(3)] (c) The person must deliver to the department a certificate of in-

surance that meets the requirements established by ORS 822.033.

“[(4)] (d) The person must pay the fee required under ORS 822.700 for is-

suance of a vehicle dealer certificate.

“[(5)] (e) The person must certify completion of the precertification edu-

cation and test requirements of ORS 822.027 (1)(a) if the person is a dealer

subject to the education and test requirements.

“(2) A vehicle dealer certificate issued or renewed under this section

expires three years after the date of issuance or renewal.
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“(3) A vehicle dealer certificate may be renewed if the applicant for

renewal does all of the following:

“(a) Pays the required fee for renewal under ORS 822.700.

“(b) Delivers to the department a bond that meets the requirements

under ORS 822.030.

“(c) Delivers to the department a certificate of insurance that

meets the requirements under ORS 822.033.

“(d) Provides the names of all partners or corporate officers.

“(e) Certifies completion of the continuing education requirements

of ORS 822.027 (1)(b) if the person is a dealer subject to the education

requirements.

“(f) If the dealer offers new recreational vehicles for sale under the

certificate, certifies that the dealer maintains a recreational vehicle

service facility as listed in the dealer certificate application described

in ORS 822.025.

“(4) If a civil penalty assessed under ORS 822.009 remains unpaid

after the date of issuance of the final order, the department may re-

fuse to issue or renew a vehicle dealer certificate under this section,

until the civil penalty is paid in full or until six years have passed

since the date of issuance of the final order, whichever occurs first.

“(5) The department may adopt rules for the issuance and renewal

of vehicle dealer certificates under this section.

“SECTION 18. ORS 822.040 is amended to read:

“822.040. (1) The holder of a current, valid vehicle dealer certificate issued

under ORS 822.020 may exercise the following privileges under the certif-

icate:

“(a) Subject to ORS 822.045, a dealer is authorized, without violating

ORS 803.025 or 803.300, to use and operate over and along the highways of

this state [all] vehicles displaying the dealer’s plates whether registered or

not or whether or not a title is issued for the vehicle[.] if the vehicle:
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“(A) Is owned or controlled by the dealer;

“(B) Is used by the dealer, members of the dealer’s firm, any

salesperson thereof or any person authorized by the dealer;

“(C) Indicates it is offered for sale; and

“(D) When offered for sale, is available for display during the vehi-

cle dealer’s normal business hours. [This paragraph does not authorize

dealers to use or operate vehicles under dealer plates unless the vehicles are

actually owned or controlled by the dealer and in actual use by the dealer,

members of the dealer’s firm, any salesperson thereof or any person authorized

by the dealer. Vehicles operated under dealer plates may be used for the same

purposes as are any other vehicles registered in this state that are registered

by payment of the fee under ORS 803.420. This paragraph is subject to the

limitations under ORS 822.045.]

“(b) A dealer is entitled to receive dealer plates or devices and replace-

ment or additional dealer plates or devices. As many additional dealer plates

as may be desired may be obtained upon the filing of a formal application

for additional plates with the Department of Transportation. The plates is-

sued to dealers shall require the payment of fees as provided under ORS

805.250.

“(c) The person is not subject to the prohibitions and penalties under ORS

822.005 as long as the holder’s vehicle dealer business is conducted in a lo-

cation approved under the certificate.

“(d) The dealer shall be considered the owner of vehicles manufactured

or dealt in by the dealer, before delivery and sale of the vehicles, and of all

vehicles in the dealer’s possession and operated or driven by the dealer or

the dealer’s employees.

“(e) Notwithstanding ORS 825.474, in lieu of paying the weight-mile tax

imposed under ORS 825.474, the dealer may pay the fuel taxes imposed under

ORS 319.020 and 319.530, when the vehicle:

“(A) Displays the dealer’s plates;
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“(B) Is actually owned or controlled by the dealer and in actual use by

the dealer, members of the dealer’s firm, any salesperson of the dealer or any

person authorized by the dealer;

“(C) Is operated on the highway for the purpose of test driving the vehi-

cle; and

“(D) Is unloaded.

“(2) The holder of a vehicle dealer certificate may open additional places

of business under the same business name by obtaining a supplemental cer-

tificate from the department under this subsection. The following all apply

to a supplemental certificate issued under this subsection:

“(a) The department may not issue a supplemental certificate under this

subsection if the additional place of business opened will be operated under

a different business name than that indicated on the current certificate. Any

business that a vehicle dealer operates under a separate business name must

be operated under a separate certificate and the dealer must apply for and

pay the fees for a regular dealer certificate for the business.

“(b) A supplemental certificate issued under this subsection is subject to

the fee for supplemental certificate under ORS 822.700.

“(3) The holder of a vehicle dealer certificate may move a place of busi-

ness or change a business name by obtaining a corrected certificate from the

department. For purposes of this subsection, ‘place of business’ includes a

recreational vehicle service facility as defined in ORS 822.082. The following

apply to a corrected certificate issued under this subsection:

“(a) The department shall prescribe the form for application for a cor-

rected certificate.

“(b) A person applying for a corrected certificate shall pay the fee for the

corrected certificate established in ORS 822.700.

“(4) The department may establish by rule the requirements a holder of

a vehicle dealer certificate must meet to display a vehicle at a location other

than the dealer’s place of business for the purpose of advertising without
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first obtaining a supplemental certificate from the department. In addition

to any requirements established by the department by rule, all of the fol-

lowing apply:

“(a) The dealer must have a signed agreement with the owner of the

property or the person using the property where the vehicle is to be dis-

played stating that the vehicle is for an advertising promotion only and that

the processing of any documents or other activities required to purchase a

vehicle must be done at the dealer’s place of business.

“(b) The vehicle on display must be clearly marked with the dealer’s name

and contact information and a notice that the vehicle is displayed only for

the purpose of advertising and may be purchased only at the dealer’s place

of business.

“(c) Displaying the vehicle must not violate any zoning laws or ordi-

nances.

“(d) The dealer or the dealer’s employees may not remain with the vehicle

except for the purpose of moving the vehicle in or out of the display area.

“[(5) A vehicle dealer certificate is valid for a three-year period and may

be renewed as provided by the department. The department shall only renew

a certificate if the applicant for renewal does all of the following:]

“[(a) Pays the required fee for renewal under ORS 822.700.]

“[(b) Delivers to the department a bond that meets the requirements under

ORS 822.030.]

“[(c) Delivers to the department a certificate of insurance that meets the

requirements under ORS 822.033.]

“[(d) Provides the names of all partners or corporate officers.]

“[(e) Certifies completion of the continuing education requirements of ORS

822.027 (1)(b) if the person is a dealer subject to the education requirements.]

“[(f) If the dealer offers new recreational vehicles for sale under the certif-

icate, certifies that the dealer maintains a recreational vehicle service facility

as listed in the dealer certificate application described in ORS 822.025.]
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“[(6) The department may adopt suitable rules for the issuance and renewal

of certificates under this section and ORS 822.020.]

“SECTION 19. ORS 822.050 is amended to read:

“822.050. (1) The Department of Transportation may revoke, suspend or

place on probation a vehicle dealer if the department determines at any time

for due cause that the dealer has done any of the following:

“(a) Violated any grounds for revocation, suspension or probation adopted

by the department by rule under ORS 822.035.

“(b) Failed to comply with the requirements of the vehicle code with ref-

erence to notices or reports of the transfer of vehicles or campers.

“(c) Caused or suffered or is permitting the unlawful use of any certificate

or registration plates.

“(d) Violated or caused or permitted to be violated ORS 815.410, 815.415,

815.425 or 815.430.

“(e) Falsely certified under ORS 822.033 that the dealer is exempt from

the requirement under ORS 822.020 [or 822.040] to file a certificate of insur-

ance.

“(f) Continued to fail to provide clear title or repeatedly failed to provide

clear title in violation of ORS 822.045.

“(g) Knowingly certified false information required by the department on

an application for a vehicle dealer certificate, supplemental certificate or

corrected certificate.

“(h) Failed to pay a civil penalty assessed under ORS 822.009 and the

amount of penalty was not paid within 10 days after the order becomes

final.

“(i) Displayed dealer plates on vehicles unless the vehicle was of-

fered for sale.

“(2) The department shall cancel a vehicle dealer certificate 45 days after

receipt of legal notice that the bond described under ORS 822.030 is canceled,

unless the department receives proof from the vehicle dealer that the dealer
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has obtained another bond. Between the day that the department receives

notice that the bond is canceled and the day the vehicle dealer presents proof

of another bond, the vehicle dealer may not act as a vehicle dealer.

“(3) The department shall cancel a vehicle dealer certificate 45 days after

receipt of notice that the certificate of insurance required under ORS 822.033

is canceled, unless the department receives proof from the vehicle dealer that

the dealer has obtained another certificate of insurance. Between the day

that the department receives notice that the certificate of insurance is can-

celed and the day the vehicle dealer presents proof of another certificate of

insurance, the vehicle dealer may not act as a vehicle dealer.

“(4) The department shall cancel a vehicle dealer certificate immediately

upon receipt of notice that zoning approval for the business has been re-

voked.

“(5) Upon revocation, cancellation or suspension of a vehicle dealer cer-

tificate under this section, the department shall recall and demand the return

of the certificate and any vehicle dealer plates issued.

“VEHICLE REGISTRATION PLATES

“SECTION 20. ORS 805.210 is amended to read:

“805.210. (1) The owner of a vehicle of special interest may apply to the

Department of Transportation for permission to use special interest regis-

tration plates. To receive permission to use special interest registration

plates the person must:

“(a) Maintain the vehicle of special interest as a collectors’ item and use

the vehicle only for exhibitions, parades, club activities and similar uses but

not use the vehicle primarily for the transportation of persons or property;

“(b) Supply the special interest registration plates which the person de-

sires to use; and

“(c) Include the plates with the application for permission to use them.
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“(2) The department shall determine which special interest plates

are available for issuance under this section.

“[(2)] (3) The department, prior to approval of an application under this

section, shall determine that the special interest registration plates meet the

following requirements:

“(a) The plates shall be issued by the State of Oregon for use on vehicles

in this state.

“(b) The numbers and characters on the plate shall be distinctive.

“(c) The plates shall be legible, durable and otherwise of a size, shape,

color and design that will serve the purposes of safety and identification.

“(d) If the plates are from a series of plates in current use, the plates

shall be from the same year or period of issue in which the vehicle was

manufactured.

“[(3)] (4) If the special interest registration plate offered for approval was

issued in a year in which single registration plates only were required, the

department shall grant permission for use of that registration plate alone if

it is otherwise acceptable.

“[(4)] (5) If the special interest registration plates offered for approval are

from a series of plates in current use, as described in subsection [(2)(d)]

(3)(d) of this section, the department may affix a distinctive sticker to each

plate at the time of approval. Stickers shall be of a size, color and design

determined by the department and shall be displayed on plates in the manner

determined by the department.

“[(5)] (6) The department may approve plates issued by the state that have

been restored to their original color and design provided that if the plate

was reflectorized when originally issued, it must be fully reflectorized when

restored.

“SECTION 21. ORS 803.530 is amended to read:

“803.530. (1) Registration plates assigned to a vehicle by the Department

of Transportation shall remain with the vehicle to which the plates are as-

 HB 2099-3 4/28/23
 Proposed Amendments to HB 2099 Page 27



1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

signed and are valid only during the registration period for which the plates

are issued except as provided in this section.

“(2) The department may allow registration plates to be transferred to

another vehicle if:

“(a) The department receives an application;

“(b) The applicant pays the plate transfer fee under ORS 803.575; and

“(c) The applicant complies with the registration qualifications described

in ORS 803.350.

“(3) The department shall transfer registration plates under this section

if the applicant and the vehicle qualify for the plates and the plates are:

“(a) Legible and capable of being used for identification purposes; and

“(b) Any of the following:

“(A) From a current issue of registration plates;

“(B) Customized registration plates described under ORS 805.240;

“(C) Oregon Trail commemorative registration plates issued under section

113, chapter 741, Oregon Laws 1993;

“(D) Special registration plates issued under ORS 805.255, 805.260, 805.263,

805.266, 805.278 or 805.283;

“(E) Group registration plates issued under ORS 805.205;

“(F) Veterans’ recognition registration plates issued under ORS 805.105;

“(G) Pacific Wonderland registration plates issued under ORS 805.287; or

“(H) Registration plates issued through the special registration program

under ORS 805.222.

“(I) Registration plates that are no longer currently issued that the

department determines may still be transferred.

“(4) Notwithstanding ORS 803.400, when registration plates are trans-

ferred from one vehicle to another vehicle owned by the same person, the

registration period represented by the plates also transfers with the plates.

When registration plates are transferred from one vehicle to another vehicle

not owned by the same person, the remaining registration period represented
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by the transferred plates ceases for both the vehicle receiving the transferred

plates and the vehicle from which the plates were removed.

“(5) The owner of a registered vehicle to which a plate is assigned may

replace a registration plate. The following apply to this subsection:

“(a) To replace a plate under this subsection, the owner must apply to the

department for replacement of the plate in a form prescribed by the depart-

ment and pay the replacement plate fee established under ORS 803.575.

“(b) The department, in lieu of replacement, may issue duplicate plates for

the same fee as charged for replacements.

“(c) The plates issued under this subsection are valid only for the period

of the plates replaced.

“(d) The replaced plates may not be considered customized plates when

they are replaced, if:

“(A) The original plates were from plates currently issued;

“(B) The original plates were not customized plates; and

“(C) The replacement plates are a duplicate of the original plates.

“(e) When a vehicle is assigned a pair of plates and the owner wishes to

replace a single plate, the department may replace a single plate rather than

replace both plates.

“(6) A county may replace a registration plate that is from a specially

designed government series with a registration plate that is from a regular

series. The following apply to this subsection:

“(a) To replace a plate under this subsection, the county must apply to

the department for replacement of the plate in a form prescribed by the de-

partment and pay the replacement plate fee established under ORS 803.575.

“(b) The plates issued under this subsection are valid only for the period

of the plates replaced.

“(7) If the department retired the vehicle’s registration under ORS 819.030

because the vehicle is totaled or substantially altered, a person may apply

under subsection (2) of this section to transfer the registration plates to an-
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other vehicle.

“(8) Subject to subsections (2) and (4) of this section, after the department

authorizes the use of special interest plates under ORS 805.210, a person may

apply to transfer the plates to either:

“(a) A vehicle that was previously determined by the department to

qualify as a vehicle of special interest; or

“(b) A vehicle approved by the department as a vehicle of special interest

at the time of application.

“(9) If a person described in subsection (8) of this section provides the

department with only one special interest registration plate for transfer and

the department’s vehicle records show the special interest registration plate

belongs to a vehicle record with no owner matching an applicant, the appli-

cant shall provide proof, as determined by the department by rule, that the

plate is no longer used on the vehicle it is currently showing being regis-

tered to in the department’s vehicle records.

“SECTION 22. ORS 805.103 is amended to read:

“805.103. (1) The Department of Transportation shall provide for issuance

of registration plates for a motor vehicle registered under ORS 803.420 (6)(a),

in a manner consistent with this section, to motor vehicle owners who

qualify for the plates as Congressional Medal of Honor recipients under

subsection (2) this section.

“(2) A person who is a Congressional Medal of Honor recipient qualifies

for registration plates under this section if the person provides the depart-

ment with a certificate from the United States Department of Veterans Af-

fairs attesting to the person’s status as a Congressional Medal of Honor

recipient.

“(3) Registration plates issued under this section shall be considered

customized registration plates for purposes of the fee required in ORS

805.250. The department may waive the fee required in ORS 805.250.

“(4) The department may not issue registration plates for a motor vehicle
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under this section if another motor vehicle owned by the applicant has been

issued registration plates under this section.

“(5) The registration plates issued under this section shall:

“(a) Be issued with a unique background design determined by the de-

partment;

“(b) Be issued with a specific configuration as determined by the depart-

ment;

“(c) Contain the words ‘Medal of Honor’;

“(d) Contain the image of the Congressional Medal of Honor; and

“(e) Meet the requirements for registration plates under ORS 803.535.

“(6) If there is a transfer of interest in the motor vehicle to which the

registration plate under this section is assigned, or if the motor vehicle is

totaled and not reconstructed, the motor vehicle owner shall remove the

registration plate. The Congressional Medal of Honor recipient may retain

the registration plate, but the registration plate may not be placed on any

other motor vehicle unless the registration plate is transferred as set forth

in subsection (7) of this section.

“(7) If the motor vehicle owner qualifies for the registration plates under

subsection (2) of this section, the department may transfer registration plates

issued under this section to another motor vehicle registered under ORS

803.420 (6)(a), as set forth in ORS [805.242] 803.530.

“(8) The department shall cancel any registration plates issued under this

section if the department determines that the motor vehicle is owned by a

person who does not qualify for the registration plates under subsection (2)

of this section or that the motor vehicle is not registered under ORS 803.420

(6)(a).

“(9) The department may adopt rules necessary to carry out the provisions

of this section.

“VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBERS
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“SECTION 23. ORS 803.212 is amended to read:

“803.212. (1) The Department of Transportation, or persons or agencies

authorized to do so by the department, shall conduct a physical inspection

of the vehicle identification number or numbers of each vehicle located in

this state and required by ORS 803.210 to be inspected. The department may

designate certified dealers and law enforcement agencies, by rule, to

perform the inspection and may enter into agreements with the Oregon State

Police or other law enforcement agencies of this state to perform inspections

for compensation. The inspection shall determine whether the vehicle

identification number or numbers match those on the records of the depart-

ment, on the title or primary ownership record or contained in other infor-

mation received by the department.

“(2) If a vehicle that is required by ORS 803.210 to be inspected is located

in another jurisdiction, the department may designate a person or agency in

such jurisdiction to perform the physical inspection and may waive the in-

spection fee.

“(3) Except as provided in subsection (4) of this section, the department

shall check the vehicle identification number or numbers of all vehicles re-

quired by ORS 803.210 to be inspected against those listed as stolen at the

National Crime Information Center. If the check indicates the vehicle is

stolen, the department:

“(a) Shall immediately notify the Oregon State Police or, if the depart-

ment determines it would be appropriate to do so, notify another law

enforcement agency; and

“(b) Shall not issue title within 30 days of giving the notice required by

paragraph (a) of this subsection unless the department is notified before the

end of the 30 days that the vehicle is not stolen. After the passage of the

30-day period, the department may issue the title.

“(4) The department may refer a vehicle to the Oregon State Police or

other appropriate law enforcement agency for a vehicle identification number
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or product identification number inspection if:

“(a) Inspection of the vehicle under this section reveals that the vehicle

identification number or product identification number on the vehicle is

different from the number provided to the department or appears to have

been tampered with, altered or defaced; or

“(b) The vehicle is a reconstructed or assembled vehicle or has been re-

ported destroyed or totaled under ORS 819.012, 819.014 or 819.030 or is any

other salvaged vehicle from another jurisdiction. This subsection does not

apply to a vehicle that has been reported totaled to the department because

of theft and has subsequently been recovered.

“(5) If the department refers a vehicle to a law enforcement agency under

subsection (4) of this section, the law enforcement agency shall inspect the

vehicle. If the law enforcement agency determines that there is reason to

believe that the identification number of the vehicle has been tampered with,

altered or forged or that the vehicle is stolen, the law enforcement agency

may seize the vehicle and may hold the vehicle until completing an investi-

gation to establish the origin and ownership of the vehicle. The department

shall reimburse the Department of State Police, and may reimburse any other

law enforcement agency, for any inspections conducted under this subsection

in an amount agreed upon by the department and the Department of State

Police or other law enforcement agency.

“ODOMETER DISCLOSURE

“SECTION 24. ORS 803.102 is amended to read:

“803.102. (1) As used in this section:

“(a) ‘Transferee’ means any person to whom ownership of a motor vehicle

is transferred by purchase, gift or any other means other than by creation

of a security interest and any person who, as an agent, signs an odometer

disclosure statement for the transferee.
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“(b) ‘Transferor’ means any person who transfers ownership of a motor

vehicle by sale, gift or any means other than by creation of a security in-

terest and any person who, as an agent, signs an odometer disclosure state-

ment for the transferor.

“(2) Except as otherwise provided in this section, upon transfer of any

interest in a motor vehicle, an odometer disclosure statement shall be made

by the transferor to the transferee. The disclosure shall be in a form that

complies with the provisions of ORS 803.120 and shall contain the informa-

tion required under ORS 803.122.

“(3) If a transfer requiring a disclosure statement involves a leased vehi-

cle, the lessor shall notify the lessee that the lessee is required to provide

odometer disclosure. The lessee shall furnish the lessor with a form that

complies with the requirements of ORS 803.120 and shall provide the infor-

mation required by ORS 803.122 except that for purposes of the required in-

formation, the lessee shall be considered the transferor, the lessor shall be

considered the transferee and the date shall be the date of the disclosure

statement.

“(4) Where an interest in a vehicle is transferred by operation of law, the

Department of Transportation shall determine by rule whether an odometer

disclosure statement is required and if so, who is required to provide it.

“(5) The department, by rule, may exempt vehicles from the odometer

disclosure requirements of this section in accordance with federal laws, rules

or regulations pertaining to odometer disclosure requirements.

“[(6) A person may provide an odometer reading to the department, in the

manner prescribed by the department by rule, for a vehicle that is 10 years old

or older.]

“SECTION 24a. ORS 803.120 is amended to read:

“803.120. (1) When an odometer disclosure is required by statute or by the

Department of Transportation, [or when an odometer reading is provided un-

der ORS 803.102 (6),] the disclosure or reading shall be provided in a form
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required by the department by rule. The department may require different

forms for different situations and may require different information to be

disclosed for different purposes.

“(2) Any form authorized by the department for use as an odometer dis-

closure upon transfer of an interest in a vehicle shall refer to the federal law

requiring disclosure of odometer information and shall state that failure to

complete the disclosure form, or providing false information on the form,

may result in a fine or imprisonment.

“(3) Any form authorized by the department for use as an odometer dis-

closure upon transfer of an interest in a vehicle shall provide a way for the

transferor to indicate, to the best of the transferor’s knowledge, which of the

following is true:

“(a) That the odometer reading reflects the actual mileage of the vehicle;

“(b) That the odometer reading reflects an amount of mileage in excess

of the designed mechanical odometer limit; or

“(c) That the odometer reading does not reflect actual mileage and should

not be relied on.

“(4) An odometer disclosure required upon transfer of an interest in a

vehicle shall be made on the vehicle title unless the department provides

otherwise by rule.

“COMMERCIAL DRIVER TRAINING SCHOOLS

“SECTION 25. ORS 822.505, 822.510, 822.520, 822.525, 822.530 and

822.535 are repealed.

“SECTION 26. ORS 822.515 is amended to read:

“822.515. (1) A person who holds a valid, current commercial driver

training school certificate issued under this section is not subject to the

prohibitions or penalties under ORS 822.500.

“(2) The Department of Transportation shall adopt rules to provide for the
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issuance of commercial driver training school certificates under this section

and driver training instructor certificates. [Rules adopted by the depart-

ment under this section shall provide requirements for all of the following:]

“[(a) Requirements for a certificate under this section including require-

ments concerning manner and form of application, location, place of business,

facilities, records, equipment, courses and standards of instruction, instructors,

previous records of the school and instructors, financial statements, schedule

of fees and charges, character of school operators and instructors, vehicle

equipment and condition and inspection during reasonable business hours.]

“[(b) Any other matters the department may prescribe for the protection of

the public.]

“[(3) The department:]

“[(a) May refuse to issue or renew or may suspend or revoke any certificate

issued under this section in any case where the department finds that the ap-

plicant or certificate holder has violated or failed to comply with any rules

adopted under this section or any provision of this section, ORS 822.500 to

822.510, 822.525 or 822.530.]

“[(b) Shall cancel immediately any certificate if a bond described under

ORS 822.505 is canceled by legal notice.]

“[(4) Commercial driver training school certificates issued under this sec-

tion are subject to the following:]

“[(a) A certificate shall expire on the last day of each calendar year.]

“(3) The rules adopted under this section related to commercial

driver training schools may prescribe, but need not be limited to:

“(a) The form and manner of the application;

“(b) The minimum qualifications for the commercial driver training

school certificate;

“(c) Grounds and procedures for the denial of a certificate;

“(d) Requirements for the location of the place of business and lo-

cation of facilities;
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“(e) Requirements for records retention;

“(f) Vehicle equipment standards;

“(g) Courses and standards of instruction;

“(h) Fee schedules;

“(i) Requirements for character of school operators and instructors;

and

“(j) Any other matters the department considers necessary for the

protection of the public.

“(4) The rules related to driver training instructors may prescribe,

but need not be limited to:

“(a) The form and manner of the application;

“(b) The minimum qualifications for the driver training instructor

certificate;

“(c) Grounds and procedures for the denial of a certificate; and

“(d) Any other matters the department considers necessary for the

protection of the public.

“(5) The department may suspend, revoke or cancel a certificate

issued under this section if the department finds that the person has

failed to comply with a rule adopted by the department pursuant to

this section.

“(6) A person subject to discipline under this section is entitled to

a contested case hearing in accordance with ORS chapter 183.

“(7) Commercial driver training school certificates issued under this

section expire two years from the date of issuance.

“(8) Driver training instructor certificates issued under this section

expire on the date the certificate of the commercial driver training

school that employs the instructor expires.

“(9) Commercial driver training school certificates and driver

training instructor certificates issued under this section are subject

to the following:
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“[(b)] (a) The department [shall] may not issue a certificate to a person

until the fee for issuance of the certificate under ORS 822.700 is paid.

“[(c)] (b) The department [shall] may not renew a certificate until the fee

for renewal of the certificate under ORS 822.700 has been paid.

“[(d)] (c) A fee for a certificate may not be refunded in the event any

certificate is refused, suspended, canceled or revoked.

“[(e) The department shall not issue or renew a certificate unless the ap-

plicant or certificate holder maintains a bond that meets the requirements un-

der ORS 822.505.]

“[(f) The department shall not issue or renew a certificate unless the ap-

plicant or certificate holder maintains proof of insurance that meets the re-

quirements under ORS 822.510.]

“SECTION 27. ORS 822.700 is amended to read:

“822.700. (1) Fee for issuance or renewal of dismantler certificates cover-

ing a single place of business, or a supplemental certificate for each addi-

tional place of business to be covered by that certificate and operated under

the same name, $500.

“(2) Fee for each duplicate dismantler certificate issued under ORS

822.110, $40.

“(3) Fee for original issuance or renewal of vehicle dealer certificate

under ORS 822.020 [or renewal under ORS 822.040] of a vehicle dealer cer-

tificate:

“(a) $1,100, for a certificate covering a single place of business; and

“(b) $350, for each additional place of business to be covered by the cer-

tificate and operated under the same name.

“(4) Fee for each corrected vehicle dealer certificate issued under ORS

822.040, $30.

“(5) If a vehicle dealer or dismantler fails to pay a fee required under this

section on or before the date the fee is due, there shall be added as a late

payment charge a fee of $150.
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“(6) Fee for show license issued under ORS 822.084, $50.

“(7) Fee for issuance of towing business certificate under ORS 822.205 or

renewal under ORS 822.210, $17 for each vehicle used for towing or recovery

purposes.

“(8) Fee for issuance or renewal of vehicle transporter certificate under

ORS 822.310, [$150] $450.

“(9) Fee for issuance or renewal of driver training instructor certificate

under ORS [822.530] 822.515, [$100] $200.

“(10) Fee for issuance or renewal of commercial driver training school

certificate under ORS 822.515, [$200] $400.

“(11) Fee for issuance or renewal of vehicle appraiser certificate under

ORS 819.480, $100.

“SECTION 28. ORS 822.990 is amended to read:

“822.990. (1) The Department of Transportation may levy and collect a

civil penalty in the amount of $1,000 for each violation against any person

who violates ORS 822.500 [or 822.525].

“(2) Civil penalties under this section shall be imposed in the manner

provided in ORS 183.745.

“SECTION 29. The amendments to ORS 822.515 and 822.700 by

sections 26 and 27 of this 2023 Act and the repeal of ORS 822.505,

822.510, 822.520, 822.525, 822.530 and 822.535 by section 25 of this 2023 Act

apply to driving training instructor certificates and commercial driver

training school certificates issued or renewed on or after the operative

date specified in section 53 of this 2023 Act.

“VEHICLE TRANSPORTERS

“SECTION 30. ORS 822.310 is amended to read:

“822.310. (1) The holder of a current, valid vehicle transporter certificate

issued under this section may exercise the following privileges under this
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certificate:

“(a) The person is not subject to the prohibitions and penalties under ORS

822.300 while transporting vehicles as provided under this section.

“(b) The person is entitled to apply for and receive [a sufficient number

of] no more than ten special vehicle transporter plates or devices and may

transport vehicles as provided under this section in this state while dis-

playing the plate or device. Only one plate or device shall be displayed on

a vehicle. The plates or devices shall require a fee for issuance as provided

in ORS 805.250. A plate or device issued under this paragraph may be used

on any vehicle transported by the person.

“(c) The person may drive or tow on its own wheels over the highways

of this state any unregistered vehicle or manufactured structure from outside

this state or from manufacturers or dealers within this state to a prospective

purchaser, manufacturer or dealer in this or any other state, territory or

foreign country. This paragraph only permits the person to transport man-

ufactured structures from the place of manufacture to the place of business

of a manufactured structure dealer holding a license under ORS 446.691 or

446.696 or a temporary manufactured structure dealer license under ORS

446.701 or to a place outside of Oregon. Any other movement of a manufac-

tured structure by the person must be under a trip permit issued by a county

as agent for the Department of Consumer and Business Services.

“(2) The Department of Transportation shall provide for the issuance and

renewal of vehicle transporter certificates under this section to persons reg-

ularly engaged in businesses that require the certificates.

“(3) Vehicle transporter certificates issued under this section are subject

to all of the following:

“(a) A certificate described in this section is valid for a [one-year]

three-year period and shall be renewed as provided by the department.

“(b) The department [shall] may not issue a certificate to a person until

the fee for issuance of the certificate under ORS 822.700 is paid.
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“(4) The department may adopt necessary rules for the administration of

the laws relating to the regulation of vehicle transporters, the issuance and

renewal of vehicle transporter certificates, the issuance of vehicle transpor-

ter identification cards and the issuance of vehicle transporter plates. The

rules adopted under this subsection must be consistent with any rules re-

garding vehicle transporters that are adopted under ORS chapter 825. The

rules may include, but are not limited to, grounds and procedures for the

revocation, denial or suspension of vehicle transporter certificates and for

placing vehicle transporters on probationary status.

“(5) A person issued a certificate under this section is subject to regu-

lation under ORS chapter 825.

“SECTION 31. The amendments to ORS 822.310 by section 30 of this

2023 Act apply to vehicle transporter certificates and vehicle trans-

porter plates issued on or after January 1, 2024. Vehicle transporter

certificates and vehicle transporter plates issued before January 1,

2024, shall continue to be governed by ORS 822.310 as in effect imme-

diately before January 1, 2024.

“SECTION 32. ORS 822.315 is amended to read:

“822.315. (1) A person commits the offense of improperly using a vehicle

transporter plate if the person is the holder of a vehicle transporter certif-

icate and the person does any of the following:

“(a) Exercises privileges granted under ORS 822.310 for vehicles with

special vehicle transporter plates issued under ORS 822.310 without conspic-

uously displaying the plates on the rear of each vehicle.

“(b) Uses a special vehicle transporter plate to transport a manufactured

structure to a situs not permitted under the privileges granted under ORS

822.310.

“(c) Allows any person other than the transporter or transporter’s em-

ployee to use the special vehicle transporter plates issued to the transporter

under ORS 822.310.
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“(d) Uses the plate outside of the State of Oregon.

“(2) The offense described in this section, improper use of vehicle trans-

porter plates, is a Class D traffic violation.

“SECTION 33. The amendments to ORS 822.315 by section 32 of this

2023 Act apply to offenses committed on or after the operative date

specified in section 53 of this 2023 Act.

“DRIVE TEST PROVIDERS

“SECTION 34. ORS 802.600 is amended to read:

“802.600. (1) The Department of Transportation may enter into an agree-

ment with any [person who is not an employee of the department, including

but not limited to an integrator, enabling the person] qualified provider to

transact on behalf of the department the following functions of the depart-

ment:

“(a) Any vehicle-related transaction for which the department is respon-

sible.

“(b) Processing of fees or taxes for a vehicle-related transaction for which

the department is responsible.

“(c) Written and skills testing for driver licenses and permits, including

commercial driver licenses.

“(2) An agreement described in subsection (1) of this section may be in

any form and may contain any provisions that the department determines to

be in the best interests of the public and convenient for the department, in-

cluding but not necessarily limited to provisions that allow the department

to:

“(a) Ensure product quality control.

“(b) Audit activities of the [person] qualified provider entering into the

agreement to ensure compliance with the agreement.

“(c) Impose sanctions on a [person] qualified provider for violation of the
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agreement.

“(3) A [person] qualified provider authorized to transact business for the

department under this section, including but not limited to a [person] qual-

ified provider who transacts business under contract with an integrator,

may charge a fee for the services provided. Fees authorized under this sub-

section are in addition to any charges or fees that the department is au-

thorized by statute to collect for the transaction.

“(4)(a) The department may adopt such rules as are necessary to carry out

the provisions of this section, including but not limited to rules that:

“(A) Specify criteria for eligibility of a [person] qualified provider to

enter into an agreement with the department under this section.

“(B) Specify the manner in which fees authorized by this section will be

collected and establish any notification the [person] qualified provider is

required to give the public about the fees.

“(C) Require a bond in an amount determined by the department from a

[person] qualified provider acting under an agreement described in this

section.

“(D) Prohibit disclosure of personal information from driver or vehicle

records except in accordance with applicable laws.

“(b) The department may not adopt rules establishing the amount of a fee

to be charged by a [person] qualified provider acting under this section.

“(c) Rules adopted under this subsection shall be developed in consulta-

tion with persons who might enter into agreements with the department un-

der this section, including but not limited to integrators and vehicle dealers.

“(5) As used in this section[,]:

“(a) ‘Integrator’ means a person who enters into a contract with the De-

partment of Transportation:

“[(a)] (A) To provide information and supplies to a [person] qualified

provider who transacts business for the department under an agreement de-

scribed in this section; and

 HB 2099-3 4/28/23
 Proposed Amendments to HB 2099 Page 43



1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

“[(b)] (B) To collect moneys due from [persons] qualified providers who

transact the business and remit the moneys to the department.

“(b) ‘Qualified provider’ means:

“(A) Community college operated under ORS chapter 341;

“(B) Education service district; or

“(C) Person who is not an employee of the department, including

but not limited to an integrator.

“REMOVAL OF PERSONAL PROPERTY

ON HIGHWAY RIGHT OF WAY

“SECTION 35. (1) The Department of Transportation may enter into

an intergovernmental agreement with a city that has a population of

500,000 or more for the removal, storage and disposition of personal

property deposited, left or displayed on property that is owned by the

department. The city shall prioritize removal of personal property that

is within the right of way of a highway under the jurisdiction of the

department as a road authority pursuant to ORS 810.010.

“(2) Notwithstanding ORS 377.650, 377.653 and 377.655, an intergov-

ernmental agreement entered into under this section may provide al-

ternative provisions related to the removal, storage and disposition of

personal property if the alternative provisions conform with the re-

quirements for local government policy for removal of homeless indi-

viduals and personal property under ORS 195.505.

“(3) In addition to the requirements described in subsection (2) of

this section, an intergovernmental agreement entered into under this

section must include the following:

“(a) Requirements for posting notice before the removal of personal

property, including but not limited to the following:

“(A) That the notice is created using durable materials and securely
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posted within 30 feet of the personal property to be removed;

“(B) That the notice must provide the date the notice begins and

the date upon which the city or department may begin removing per-

sonal property; and

“(C) That the notice must provide a description of:

“(i) How an individual may access personal property that is re-

moved and stored; and

“(ii) The length of time the city or department will store personal

property before the city or department disposes of it.

“(b) A requirement that the notice expires 10 days after the city or

department posts the notice.

“(c) A severe weather protocol regarding the weather conditions

under which the city or department will not remove personal property.

“(d) Provisions related to inventorying and storing the personal

property to be removed.

“(e) Provisions related to the city or department relinquishing un-

claimed personal property after the storage period to the city’s or

department’s designated agent.

“(f) Provisions related to when the city will provide impact re-

duction services, including but not limited to trash collection.

“(g) A provision providing that if the department requests city ser-

vices under the intergovernmental agreement, but the city is unable

or unwilling to provide services as requested, the department or the

department’s contractor may perform the requested services consist-

ent with the terms of the agreement, including but not limited to

posting notice.

“(4) The 72-hour notice under ORS 195.505 required under subsection

(2) of this section does not apply:

“(a) When there are grounds for law enforcement officials to believe

that illegal activities other than camping are occurring;
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“(b) Where there is an exceptional emergency, such as possible site

contamination by hazardous materials; or

“(c) When there is immediate danger to human life or safety.

“(5) Before the city adopts an intergovernmental agreement under

this section or changes to the agreement, the city shall invite public

comment on the proposed agreement or the proposed changes to the

agreement.

“MOTOR CARRIER FLAT FEES

“SECTION 36. ORS 825.480, as amended by section 67, chapter 750,

Oregon Laws 2017, and section 29a, chapter 93, Oregon Laws 2018, is

amended to read:

“825.480. (1)(a) In lieu of other fees provided in ORS 825.474, carriers en-

gaged in operating motor vehicles in the transportation of logs, poles, peeler

cores or piling may pay annual fees for such operation computed at the rate

of $11.60 for each 100 pounds of declared combined weight.

“(b) Any carrier electing to pay fees under this method may, as to vehicles

otherwise exempt from taxation, elect to be taxed on the mileage basis for

movements of such empty vehicles over public highways whenever operations

are for the purpose of repair, maintenance, servicing or moving from one

exempt highway operation to another.

“(2) The annual fees provided in subsections (1), (4) and (5) of this section

may be paid on a monthly basis. Any carrier electing to pay fees under this

method may not change an election during the same calendar year in which

the election is made, but may be relieved from the payment due for any

month during which a motor vehicle is not operated. A carrier electing to

pay fees under this method shall report and pay these fees on or before the

10th of each month for the preceding month’s operations. A monthly report

shall be made on all vehicles on the annual fee basis including any vehicle
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not operated for the month.

“(3)(a) In lieu of the fees provided in ORS 825.470 to 825.474, motor vehi-

cles described in ORS 825.024 with a combined weight of less than 46,000

pounds that are being operated under a permit issued under ORS 825.102 may

pay annual fees for such operation computed at the rate of $9.60 for each 100

pounds of declared combined weight.

“(b) The annual fees provided in this subsection shall be paid in advance

but may be paid on a monthly basis on or before the first day of the month.

A carrier may be relieved from the fees due for any month during which the

motor vehicle is not operated for hire if a statement to that effect is filed

with the Department of Transportation on or before the fifth day of the first

month for which relief is sought.

“(4)(a) In lieu of other fees provided in ORS 825.474, carriers engaged in

the operation of motor vehicles equipped with dump bodies and used in the

transportation of sand, gravel, rock, dirt, debris, cinders, asphaltic concrete

mix, metallic ores and concentrates or raw nonmetallic products, whether

crushed or otherwise, moving from mines, pits or quarries may pay annual

fees for such operation computed at the rate of [$11.50] $19.52 for each 100

pounds of declared combined weight.

“(b) Any carrier electing to pay fees under this method may, as to vehicles

otherwise exempt for taxation, elect to be taxed on the mileage basis for

movements of such empty vehicles over public highways whenever operations

are for the purpose of repair, maintenance, servicing or moving from one

exempt highway operation to another.

“(5)(a) In lieu of other fees provided in ORS 825.474, carriers engaged in

operating motor vehicles in the transportation of wood chips, sawdust,

barkdust, hog fuel or shavings may pay annual fees for such operation com-

puted at the rate of $47 for each 100 pounds of declared combined weight.

“(b) Any carrier electing to pay under this method may, as to vehicles

otherwise exempt from taxation, elect to be taxed on the mileage basis for
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movement of such empty vehicles over public highways whenever operations

are for the purpose of repair, maintenance, service or moving from one ex-

empt highway operation to another.

“CONFORMING AMENDMENTS

“SECTION 37. ORS 87.152 is amended to read:

“87.152. (1) Except as provided in subsections (2) and (3) of this section,

a person that makes, alters, repairs, transports, stores, pastures, cares for,

provides services for, supplies materials for or performs labor on a chattel

at the request of the owner or lawful possessor of the chattel has a lien on

the chattel in the possession of the person for the reasonable or agreed

charges for labor, materials or services of the person, and the person may

retain possession of the chattel until the charges are paid.

“(2)(a) Except as provided in subsection (3) of this section, a person may

not create, attach, assert or claim a possessory lien on a motor vehicle, as

defined in ORS 801.360, unless the person performs a service that complies

with ORS 646A.480 to 646A.495 and that involves making, altering, repairing,

transporting, storing, providing services for, supplying material for or per-

forming labor in connection with the motor vehicle and the person:

“(A) Is a franchised motor vehicle dealership, as defined in ORS 650.120

(5), or a manufacturer, as defined in ORS 650.120, of the motor vehicle;

“(B) Holds a towing business certificate that the Department of Trans-

portation issued under ORS 822.205, provided that the person creates, at-

taches, asserts or claims a possessory lien only for transporting or storing

the motor vehicle; or

“(C) Creates, attaches, asserts or claims the lien against an abandoned

motor vehicle.

“(b) A person, other than a person that is described in paragraph (a)(A),

(B) or (C) of this subsection, shall have in effect a surety bond or irrevocable
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letter of credit in the amount of $20,000 before, and shall maintain the surety

bond or irrevocable letter of credit during, any period in which the person

creates, attaches, asserts or claims a possessory lien on a motor vehicle after

making, altering, repairing, transporting, storing, performing services for,

supplying materials for or performing labor in connection with the motor

vehicle.

“(c)(A) The surety bond and the irrevocable letter of credit described in

paragraph (b) of this subsection must be issued, respectively, by a corporate

surety that is authorized to transact business in this state and by a financial

institution, as defined in ORS 706.008. The corporate surety or the financial

institution, as appropriate, shall notify the Department of Transportation of

any cancellation of the surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit. The cor-

porate surety remains liable under the surety bond and the financial insti-

tution remains obligated under the irrevocable letter of credit until the

department receives the notice or until the date of cancellation specified in

the notice, whichever is later.

“(B) A surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit described in paragraph

(b) of this subsection must be:

“(i) Executed to the State of Oregon;

“(ii) Approved by the Attorney General as to form;

“(iii) Filed with and held by the department; and

“(iv) Conditioned such as to compensate parties damaged as a result of

a use of a possessory lien in connection with a misrepresentation, a fraud

or a violation of a duty set forth in ORS 646A.480 to 646A.495.

“(C) The person described in paragraph (b) of this subsection as subject

to the requirement to have in effect a surety bond or irrevocable letter of

credit must certify in writing to the department each year that the surety

bond or irrevocable letter of credit remains in effect. If another person ob-

tains a recovery against the surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit, the

person shall file with the department not later than three business days after
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the date of the recovery a new surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit in

the amount specified in paragraph (b) of this subsection.

“(3)(a) As used in this subsection:

“(A) ‘Auction company’ means an entity:

“(i) That operates throughout the United States;

“(ii) That holds a vehicle dealer certificate that the Department of

Transportation issued [or renewed] under ORS 822.020 [or 822.040], or a

dismantler certificate that the department issued or renewed under ORS

822.110 or 822.125; and

“(iii) The primary activity of which, in this state, consists of disposing

of totaled motor vehicles.

“(B) ‘Motor vehicle’ has the meaning given that term in ORS 801.360.

“(b) An auction company has a lien on a motor vehicle that the auction

company possesses and stored on premises the auction company owns or

controls. The auction company may title the motor vehicle in the name of:

“(A) The auction company, if the motor vehicle has remained unclaimed

on the auction company’s premises for more than 30 days;

“(B) The insurance company that directed the auction company to take

possession of the motor vehicle; or

“(C) An organization with an exemption from taxation under section

501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code that directed the auction company to

take possession of the motor vehicle.

“(c) ORS 87.166 and 87.172 to 87.212 do not apply to chattel that is subject

to this subsection.

“(4)(a) The owner of a motor vehicle may bring an action to recover from

a person that refuses, at the owner’s demand and without a valid possessory

lien created and attached as provided in subsection (2) or (3) of this section,

to release the owner’s motor vehicle or restore to the owner title to the

owner’s motor vehicle if the person changed the title:

“(A) The greater of $2,000 or an amount equivalent to twice the value of
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the motor vehicle, up to a maximum amount of $20,000; and

“(B) The owner’s reasonable costs and attorney fees.

“(b) In addition to the recovery described in paragraph (a) of this sub-

section, the owner may obtain:

“(A) A judgment that:

“(i) Directs the Department of Transportation to restore title to the motor

vehicle to the owner and to invalidate the title the person obtained; or

“(ii) Extinguishes the person’s interest in the motor vehicle and directs

the department to issue title in the name of the plaintiff in the action;

“(B) A judgment that declares that the person’s lien is invalid if the

person obtained title to the motor vehicle without complying with this sec-

tion; and

“(C) Reimbursement for any fees the owner pays to the department to

reissue the title.

“SECTION 38. ORS 646A.090 is amended to read:

“646A.090. (1) As used in this section:

“(a) ‘Buyer’ means a person that purchases or leases a motor vehicle.

“(b) ‘Final approval of funding’ means a lender’s irrevocable agreement

to purchase a retail installment contract or lease agreement from a seller

according to the exact terms that the seller and buyer have negotiated.

“(c) ‘Lender’ means a person that purchases a retail installment contract

or lease agreement for a motor vehicle.

“(d) ‘Motor vehicle’ means a motor vehicle, as defined in ORS 801.360,

that is sold or leased in this state for personal, family or household purposes.

“(e) ‘Seller’ means a person that holds a current, valid vehicle dealer

certificate issued under ORS 822.020 [or renewed under ORS 822.040].

“(2) A seller may offer to sell or lease a motor vehicle to a buyer or

prospective buyer under a retail installment contract or lease agreement that

is subject to a lender’s agreement to purchase the retail installment contract

or lease agreement into which the buyer enters.
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“(3) In any transaction described in subsection (2) of this section:

“(a) If, within 14 days after a buyer takes possession of a motor vehicle,

a lender does not agree to purchase a retail installment contract or lease

agreement on the exact terms that the seller and the buyer negotiate and the

seller does not receive final approval of funding from the lender, the seller

shall return to the buyer all items of value the seller received from the buyer

as part of the transaction; and

“(b) If the seller has accepted a trade-in motor vehicle from the buyer, the

seller may not sell or lease the buyer’s trade-in motor vehicle before the

seller receives final approval of funding from the lender.

“(4) In any transaction described in subsection (2) of this section, if the

buyer has accepted a motor vehicle from the seller that is subject to a retail

installment contract or lease agreement, and a lender does not agree to

purchase the retail installment contract or lease agreement on the exact

terms the seller and the buyer negotiated, the buyer shall return to the seller

all items of value the buyer received from the seller as part of the trans-

action. The seller may charge the buyer only for amounts that the retail in-

stallment contract or lease agreement provides in writing that the seller may

charge. The retail installment contract or lease agreement may provide only

for these amounts:

“(a) The fair market value of damage to, excessive wear and tear on or

loss of the motor vehicle that occurs between the date the buyer takes pos-

session of the motor vehicle and the date the buyer returns the motor vehicle

to the seller’s custody; and

“(b) If, within 14 days after the date on which the buyer takes possession

of the motor vehicle, the seller sends notice to the buyer by first class mail

or written electronic communication that a lender has not agreed to pur-

chase the retail installment contract or lease agreement, a reasonable charge

per mile for the use of the motor vehicle. The charge may not exceed the rate

per mile allowed under federal law as a deduction for federal income tax
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purposes for an ordinary and necessary business expense.

“(5) If the buyer makes a reasonable attempt to return the vehicle within

five days after the seller sends a notice under subsection (4)(b) of this sec-

tion, but the seller is not available to accept the return, the seller may not

charge the buyer under subsection (4)(b) of this section.

“(6)(a) Subject to paragraph (b) of this subsection, a seller has an affir-

mative defense to a claim or charge of violating subsection (3)(a) of this

section by showing that the buyer failed to return the motor vehicle after

the seller sent the notice described in subsection (4)(b) of this section.

“(b) A seller shall retain proof of the date on which the seller sent to the

buyer the notice described in subsection (4)(b) of this section.

“SECTION 39. ORS 802.031 is amended to read:

“802.031. (1) Nothing in ORS 802.600 prohibits the Department of Trans-

portation from adopting rules to:

“(a) Authorize persons to act as agents for the department for the purpose

of issuing winter recreation parking permits.

“(b) Designate vehicle dealers holding a valid certificate issued under

ORS 822.020 [or 822.040] to act as agents of the department for purposes of

accepting documents and fees necessary to title and register any vehicle the

vehicle dealer sells, or to perform other duties the department may authorize.

Other duties may include, but need not be limited to:

“(A) Issuing permits under ORS 803.600 and 803.625; and

“(B) Performing vehicle identification number inspections.

“(2) A vehicle dealer designated under this section shall:

“(a) Transmit title and registration documents with all required fees to

the department within the time specified in ORS 822.042 and in accordance

with any other applicable statutes or applicable rules adopted by the de-

partment.

“(b) Maintain records as determined by the department to show compli-

ance with this section and any rules adopted by the department.
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“SECTION 40. ORS 803.552 is amended to read:

“803.552. (1) As used in this section:

“(a) ‘Car rental company’ has the meaning given that term in ORS

803.219.

“(b) ‘Integrator’ has the meaning given that term in ORS 802.600.

“(2) If the Department of Transportation receives an application for ve-

hicle registration from a car rental company that was submitted to an

integrator and the application does not include the primary ownership record

for the motor vehicle, the department may issue registration plates for the

vehicle if the conditions described in subsection (3) of this section are met.

“(3) Before the department may issue registration plates under subsection

(2) of this section, a car rental company must:

“(a) Possess a valid Oregon vehicle dealer certificate issued [or renewed]

under ORS 822.020 [or 822.040];

“(b) Certify that the car rental company has not received the primary

ownership record for the vehicle as of the date the application is submitted;

and

“(c) Meet any other requirements adopted by the department by rule.

“(4) In addition to any fee for registration or issuance of registration

plates, the department may charge a fee for providing the services authorized

by this section. The department shall establish the amount of the fee by rule.

“(5) The department shall adopt rules to carry out the provisions of this

section.

“SECTION 41. ORS 805.250 is amended to read:

“805.250. This section establishes fees for issuance of registration plates

authorized under ORS 805.200. If a fee for plates authorized in ORS 805.200

is not established in this section, the fee is the same fee as established under

ORS 803.570. Where a fee is established under this section, the fee is in

addition to the fee established under ORS 803.570 unless otherwise provided

in the following:
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“(1) Amateur radio operator registration plates issued under ORS 805.230,

$5.

“(2) Customized registration plates issued under ORS 805.240:

“(a) For original issuance or renewal, $50 annual fee.

“(b) For issuance of a duplicate or replacement plate, $5 when the plate

is issued at the time of renewal of registration or $10 when the plate is is-

sued at any other time.

“(3) Special interest registration plates approved under ORS 805.210 are

approved without cost except as provided in this subsection, including with-

out payment of the fee established under ORS 803.570. If identifying stickers

are required, $1 per sticker or pair of stickers.

“(4) Dealer plates issued under ORS [822.020 and] 822.040 are as follows:

“(a) For the original dealer plate, no fee except the fee established under

ORS 803.570.

“(b) For replacement dealer plates, $10 for each plate except that persons

dealing exclusively in motorcycles, mopeds, snowmobiles or any combination

of those vehicles shall pay only $3 for each replacement plate.

“(c) For additional plates, or for renewal of registration, $42, except that

persons dealing exclusively in motorcycles, mopeds or snowmobiles or any

combination of those vehicles shall pay only $9 for each additional plate, or

for renewal of registration.

“(5) Special vehicle transporter plates or devices issued under ORS

822.310, $5 for each plate or device.

“SECTION 42. ORS 819.482 is amended to read:

“819.482. (1) A person commits the offense of acting as a vehicle appraiser

without a certificate if the person does not hold a vehicle appraiser certif-

icate issued under ORS 819.480 and the person, for consideration, issues an

opinion as to the value of a vehicle.

“(2) This section does not apply to:

“(a) A person who holds a vehicle dealer certificate issued [or renewed]
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under ORS 822.020 [or 822.040] and who appraises vehicles in the operation

of the vehicle dealer’s business;

“(b) A person from another jurisdiction who holds a vehicle appraiser

certificate requiring qualifications substantially similar to qualifications re-

quired for the certification of a vehicle appraiser in this state;

“(c) An insurance adjuster authorized to do business under ORS 744.515

or 744.521; or

“(d) A person licensed or certified to appraise real estate under ORS

674.310 and who appraises the value of manufactured structures.

“(3) The offense described in this section, acting as a vehicle appraiser

without a certificate, is a Class A violation.

“SECTION 43. ORS 822.015 is amended to read:

“822.015. (1) In addition to any exemptions from the vehicle code under

ORS 801.026, ORS 822.005 does not apply to the following vehicles or persons:

“(a) Road rollers, farm tractors, farm trailers, trolleys, implements of

husbandry, emergency vehicles, well-drilling machinery and boat or utility

trailers with a gross weight of 1,800 pounds or less.

“(b) The owner of a vehicle as shown by the vehicle title issued by any

jurisdiction if the person owned the vehicle primarily for personal, family

or household purposes. If the person has sold, traded, displayed or offered for

sale, trade or exchange more than five vehicles in one calendar year, the

person shall have the burden of proving that the person owned the vehicles

primarily for personal, family or household purposes or for other purposes

that the Department of Transportation, by rule, defines as constituting an

exemption under this section.

“(c) A receiver, trustee, personal representative or public officer while

performing any official duties.

“(d) The lessor or security interest holder of a vehicle as shown by the

vehicle title issued by any jurisdiction.

“(e) Except as otherwise provided in this paragraph, a manufacturer who
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sells vehicles the manufacturer has manufactured in Oregon. Nothing in this

paragraph prevents any manufacturer from obtaining a vehicle dealer certif-

icate under ORS 822.020. This paragraph does not exempt a manufacturer

who sells or trades campers or travel trailers.

“(f) An insurance adjuster authorized to do business under ORS 744.515

or 744.521 who is disposing of vehicles for salvage.

“(g) Except as otherwise provided in this paragraph, a person who sells

or trades or offers to sell or trade a vehicle that has been used in the oper-

ation of the person’s business. This paragraph does not exempt a person who

is in the business of selling, trading, displaying, rebuilding, renting or leas-

ing vehicles from any requirement to obtain a certificate for dealing in those

vehicles.

“(h) A person who receives no money, goods or services, either directly

or indirectly, for displaying a vehicle or acting as an agent in the buying

or selling of a vehicle.

“(i) A person who collects, purchases, acquires, trades or disposes of ve-

hicles and vehicle parts for the person’s own use in order to preserve, restore

and maintain vehicles for the person’s own use or for hobby or historical

purposes.

“(j) A manufactured structure dealer subject to the licensing requirement

of ORS 446.671 or a person exempt from licensing under ORS 446.676 when

selling a vehicle, trailer or semitrailer accepted in trade as part of a manu-

factured structure transaction. A manufactured structure dealership or ex-

empt person may not directly sell more than three vehicles per calendar year

under authority of this paragraph, but by consignment with a dealer certified

under ORS 822.020 [or 822.040] may sell an unlimited number of vehicles ac-

quired as described in this paragraph.

“(k) A lien claimant who sells vehicles in order to foreclose possessory

liens.

“(L) A lien claimant who, in a 12-month period, sells 12 or fewer vehicles
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that the lien claimant acquired through possessory liens if the vehicles are

sold at the business location of the lien claimant.

“(m) Electric personal assistive mobility devices.

“(n) A tower that received title for a vehicle under ORS 822.235.

“(2) Notwithstanding ORS 822.005, the following may participate with

other dealers in a display of vehicles, including but not limited to an auto

show, if the display is an event that lasts for 10 days or less and is an event

for which the public is charged admission:

“(a) A person who is licensed as a vehicle dealer in another jurisdiction;

or

“(b) Any employee of a person who is licensed as a vehicle dealer in an-

other jurisdiction.

“(3) Notwithstanding ORS 822.005, a person who is licensed as a vehicle

dealer in another jurisdiction or an employee of a person who is certified

or licensed as a vehicle dealer may participate in a vehicle auction if the

vehicle auction is:

“(a) Conducted by a vehicle dealer who holds a vehicle dealer certificate

issued [or renewed] under ORS 822.020 [or 822.040]; and

“(b) Open only to certified or licensed vehicle dealers or their employees.

“(4) The department shall adopt rules to carry out the provisions of this

section, including but not limited to specifying which dealers may take ve-

hicles on consignment from other jurisdictions.

“SECTION 44. ORS 822.025 is amended to read:

“822.025. An application for a vehicle dealer certificate issued by the De-

partment of Transportation under ORS 822.020 shall be in a form prescribed

by the department and shall contain all of the following:

“(1) The names and residence addresses of the persons applying, as fol-

lows:

“(a) If the applicant is a firm or partnership, the name of the firm or

partnership with the names and residence addresses of all members thereof.
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“(b) If the applicant is a corporation, the name of the corporation with

the names of the principal officers and their residence addresses and the

name of the state under whose laws the corporation is organized.

“(2) The name under which the business will be conducted.

“(3) The street address, including city and county in Oregon, where the

business will be conducted.

“(4) Whether or not used vehicles are handled.

“(5) A certificate from the applicant showing that the applicant will act

as a vehicle dealer and will conduct business at the location given on the

application.

“(6) A certificate signed by a person authorized by the local governing

body to do so, stating that the location of the business as given in the ap-

plication for a certificate complies with any land use ordinances or business

regulatory ordinances of the city or county. The provisions of this subsection

do not apply to renewal of a vehicle dealer certificate under ORS [822.040]

822.020 unless the location of the business is being changed at the time of

renewal.

“(7) Any information required by the department to efficiently administer

the registration of vehicles and regulation of dealers or other relevant in-

formation required by the department.

“(8) If the applicant is a dealer subject to the education and test re-

quirements under ORS 822.027 (1)(a), a certificate from the provider of each

precertification education program listing the courses that the applicant has

completed and the tests that the applicant has passed in the precertification

education program.

“(9) If the applicant will offer new recreational vehicles for sale, a cer-

tificate from the applicant stating that the applicant will maintain a recre-

ational vehicle service facility at the street address provided by the applicant

pursuant to subsection (3) of this section.

“SECTION 45. ORS 822.027 is amended to read:
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“822.027. (1) Except as provided in subsections (2) and (3) of this section,

the following education requirements apply to an applicant for a vehicle

dealer certificate under ORS 822.020 [or 822.040]:

“(a) An applicant for a vehicle dealer certificate under ORS 822.020 must

complete a minimum of eight hours of courses in any approved precertif-

ication education program described in subsection (4) of this section and pass

the tests required under paragraph (c) of this subsection within one year

prior to submitting an application for the certificate;

“(b) An applicant for a renewal certificate under ORS [822.040] 822.020

must, for each year of a certification period, complete a minimum of four

hours of courses in any approved continuing education program described in

subsection (4) of this section and pass the tests required under paragraph (c)

of this subsection prior to submitting an application for the renewal certif-

icate. An applicant may not repeat a course in an approved continuing edu-

cation program for which the applicant previously obtained credit within the

same certification period; and

“(c) For each course hour required under paragraphs (a) and (b) of this

subsection, the provider shall administer a test and the applicant must pass

each test with a score of at least 70 percent in order to receive credit for the

course hour. Each test must contain at least 10 questions.

“(2) The precertification education requirements in subsection (1)(a) of

this section do not apply to an applicant for a vehicle dealer certificate un-

der ORS 822.020 [or 822.040] if, at the time of application, the applicant holds

another certificate issued under ORS 822.020 [or 822.040].

“(3) The continuing education requirements of subsection (1)(b) of this

section do not apply to an applicant for renewal of a vehicle dealer certif-

icate under ORS [822.040] 822.020 if the applicant is:

“(a) A dealer having a franchise in this state for nationally advertised

and recognized motor vehicles;

“(b) A dealer having a franchise in this state for new recreational vehi-
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cles;

“(c) A motor vehicle rental company having a national franchise under

the ownership of a corporation that operates throughout the United States;

or

“(d) A national auction company that holds a vehicle dealer certificate

and a dismantler certificate whose primary activity in this state is the sale

or disposition of totaled vehicles.

“(4) Precertification and continuing education programs and the tests re-

quired in subsection (1) of this section may be developed by any motor ve-

hicle industry organization including, but not limited to, the Oregon

Independent Auto Dealers Association. Each education program shall be

submitted to the advisory committee established under ORS 802.370 for ap-

proval every two years. The committee shall vote to approve or deny ap-

proval of each program. A program that is approved must cover state and

federal law in at least the following areas:

“(a) Motor vehicle advertising;

“(b) Odometer laws and regulations;

“(c) Vehicle licensing and registration;

“(d) Unlawful dealer activities;

“(e) Environmental rules and regulations;

“(f) Oregon and industry standard motor vehicle forms;

“(g) Truthful lending practices;

“(h) Motor vehicle financing;

“(i) Service and warranty contracts; and

“(j) Land use regulations governing motor vehicle dealers.

“(5) Precertification and continuing education programs required in sub-

section (1) of this section may be provided by accredited educational insti-

tutions, private vocational schools, correspondence schools or trade

associations if the education programs have been approved by the advisory

committee established under ORS 802.370 as required in subsection (4) of this
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section.

“(6) The approval of an education program under subsection (4) of this

section expires two years from the date of the approval.

“SECTION 46. ORS 822.030 is amended to read:

“822.030. (1) A bond or letter of credit required to qualify for a vehicle

dealer certificate under ORS 822.020 [or to qualify for renewal of a certificate

under ORS 822.040] must comply with all of the following:

“(a) The bond shall have a corporate surety licensed to do business within

this state. A letter of credit shall be an irrevocable letter of credit issued

by an insured institution, as defined in ORS 706.008. The surety or institu-

tion shall notify the Department of Transportation if the bond or letter of

credit is canceled for any reason. The surety or institution shall continue to

be liable under the bond or letter of credit until the department receives the

notice required by this paragraph, or until the cancellation date specified in

the notice, whichever is later.

“(b) The bond or letter of credit shall be executed to the State of Oregon.

“(c) Except as otherwise provided in this paragraph, the bond or letter

of credit shall be in the following sum:

“(A) If the person holds a certificate to be a dealer exclusively in motor-

cycles, mopeds, Class I all-terrain vehicles or snowmobiles or any combina-

tion of those vehicles, the bond or letter of credit shall be for $10,000.

“(B) Except as provided in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph, if the ap-

plicant is seeking a certificate to be a vehicle dealer, the bond or letter of

credit shall be for $50,000 for each year the certificate is valid.

“(d) The bond or letter of credit described in this subsection shall be ap-

proved as to form by the Attorney General.

“(e) The bond or letter of credit must be conditioned that the person is-

sued the certificate shall conduct business as a vehicle dealer without fraud

or fraudulent representation and without violating any provisions of the ve-

hicle code relating to vehicle registration, vehicle permits, the transfer or
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alteration of vehicles or the regulation of vehicle dealers.

“(f) The bond or letter of credit must be filed and held in the office of the

department.

“(g) The vehicle dealer shall purchase a bond or letter of credit under this

subsection annually on or before each anniversary of the issuance of the

vehicle dealer’s certificate.

“(2) Any person shall have a right of action against a vehicle dealer,

against the surety on the vehicle dealer’s bond and against the letter of

credit in the person’s own name if the person suffers any loss or damage by

reason of the vehicle dealer’s fraud, fraudulent representations or violations

of provisions of the vehicle code relating to:

“(a) Vehicle registration;

“(b) Vehicle permits;

“(c) The transfer or alteration of vehicles; or

“(d) The regulation of vehicle dealers.

“(3) Notwithstanding subsection (2) of this section, the maximum amount

available under a bond or letter of credit described in subsection (1)(c)(B)

of this section for the payment of claims to persons other than retail cus-

tomers of the dealer is $10,000.

“(4) Notwithstanding subsection (2) of this section, a person other than

a retail customer of the vehicle dealer may not make a claim under sub-

section (2) of this section against the surety on the vehicle dealer’s bond, or

against the vehicle dealer’s letter of credit, if the vehicle dealer holds a ve-

hicle dealer certificate to deal exclusively in motorcycles, mopeds, Class I

all-terrain vehicles or snowmobiles or any combination of those vehicles.

“(5) If the certificate of a vehicle dealer is not renewed or is voluntarily

or involuntarily canceled, the sureties on the bond and the issuer of the

letter of credit are relieved from liability that accrues after the department

cancels the certificate.

“SECTION 47. ORS 822.033 is amended to read:
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“822.033. A certificate of insurance required to qualify for a vehicle dealer

certificate under ORS 822.020 or to qualify for renewal of a certificate under

ORS [822.040] 822.020 must comply with all of the following:

“(1) The certificate shall:

“(a) Be issued by an insurance carrier licensed to do business within this

state;

“(b) Show that the dealer is insured by a policy that provides the mini-

mum limits of coverage required under ORS 806.070;

“(c) Show that the dealer is insured by a policy that provides for payment

of judgments of the type described in ORS 806.040;

“(d) Show that the dealer is insured by a policy covering all vehicles

manufactured, owned, operated, used or maintained by or under the control

of the dealer;

“(e) Show that the dealer is insured by a policy that also covers all other

persons who, with the consent of the dealer, use or operate vehicles manu-

factured, owned or maintained by or under the control of the dealer;

“(f) Be dated as of the date of the motor vehicle policy for which it is

given;

“(g) Contain the policy number; and

“(h) Provide that the insurer shall give the Department of Transportation

written notice of any cancellation of the policy and that the insurer shall

continue to be liable under the policy until the department receives the no-

tice required by this paragraph or until the cancellation date specified in the

notice, whichever is later.

“(2) The certificate of insurance must be filed and held in the office of

the department.

“(3) A dealer is exempt from the requirement to file the certificate of in-

surance described in this section if the dealer certifies, in such form as may

be required by the department, that the dealer will be dealing exclusively in

one or more of the following:
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“(a) Antique vehicles issued permanent registration under ORS 805.010;

“(b) Farm trailers;

“(c) Farm tractors;

“(d) Implements of husbandry; or

“(e) Snowmobiles, Class I or Class III all-terrain vehicles.

“SECTION 48. ORS 822.045 is amended to read:

“822.045. (1) A vehicle dealer improperly conducts a vehicle dealer busi-

ness and is subject to the penalties under this section if the vehicle dealer

commits any of the following offenses:

“(a) A vehicle dealer commits the offense of failure to obtain a supple-

mental vehicle dealer certificate if the vehicle dealer opens any additional

place of business using the same business name as a place of business ap-

proved under a vehicle dealer certificate without first obtaining a supple-

mental dealer certificate under ORS 822.040.

“(b) A vehicle dealer commits the offense of failure to obtain a corrected

vehicle dealer certificate if the dealer moves a place of business or changes

the business name without first obtaining a corrected dealer certificate under

ORS 822.040.

“(c) A vehicle dealer commits the offense of failure to maintain proper

vehicle dealer records if the dealer does not keep records or books with all

of the following information concerning any used or secondhand vehicles or

campers the dealer deals with:

“(A) A record of the purchase, sale or exchange or of the dealer’s receipt

for purpose of sale.

“(B) A description of the vehicle or camper.

“(C) The name and address of the seller, the purchaser and the alleged

owner or other person from whom the vehicle or camper was purchased or

received or to whom it was sold or delivered.

“(D) For motor vehicles, the vehicle identification number and any other

numbers or identification marks as may be thereon and a statement that a
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number has been obliterated, defaced or changed, if such is a fact.

“(E) For trailers and campers, the vehicle identification number and any

other numbers or identification marks as may be thereon.

“(F) A duly assigned certificate of title or other primary ownership record

or a bill of sale from the registered owner of the vehicle or camper from the

time of delivery to the dealer until the dealer disposes of the vehicle or

camper. If title is issued for the vehicle in a form other than a certificate,

or if the primary ownership record is in a form other than a document, a

dealer shall keep records in accordance with rules adopted by the Depart-

ment of Transportation for the purpose of complying with this subparagraph.

“(d) A vehicle dealer commits the offense of failure to allow administra-

tive inspection if the dealer refuses to allow the department to conduct an

inspection under ORS 822.035 at any time during normal business hours.

“(e) A vehicle dealer commits the offense of failure to allow police in-

spection if the dealer refuses to allow any police officer to conduct an in-

spection under ORS 810.480 at any time during normal business hours.

“(f) A vehicle dealer commits the offense of illegal use of dealer vehicle

for hire if the dealer allows any vehicle operated under vehicle dealer reg-

istration to be loaned or rented with or without driver for hire or direct

compensation.

“(g) A vehicle dealer commits the offense of improper use of dealer plates

or devices if the dealer or employee of the dealer causes or permits the dis-

play or use of any special vehicle dealer registration plate or device on any

vehicle not owned or controlled by the dealer.

“(h) A person commits the offense of improper display of dealer plates if

the person operates over and along the highways of this state any unregis-

tered vehicle owned or controlled by the dealer and any dealer plates issued

are not displayed in the manner provided in ORS 803.540 for the display of

registration plates.

“(i) A vehicle dealer commits the offense of failure to exhibit the dealer
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certificate if the dealer fails to permanently exhibit the certificate at the

place of business of the person at all times while the certificate is in force.

“(j) Except as provided in subsection (2) of this section, a vehicle dealer

commits the offense of failure to provide clear title if:

“(A) Within 15 days of transfer of any interest in a vehicle or camper to

the dealer by a consumer, the dealer fails to satisfy:

“(i) The interest of any person from whom the dealer purchased or ob-

tained the vehicle or camper;

“(ii) The interest of any person from whom the person described in sub-

subparagraph (i) of this subparagraph leased the vehicle or camper; and

“(iii) All security interests in the vehicle or camper entered into prior to

the time of transfer.

“(B) Within 15 days of receiving clear title to a vehicle or camper from

another dealer, the purchasing dealer fails to satisfy the interest of the

dealer from which the purchasing dealer received the certificate of title or

other primary ownership document. For purposes of this subparagraph, a

purchasing dealer receives a certificate of title or other primary ownership

document from a dealer on the date:

“(i) The purchasing dealer or the Department of Transportation takes

physical possession of the certificate or document; or

“(ii) A written notice is mailed by certified or registered mail, return re-

ceipt requested, to the purchasing dealer from the dealer, stating that the

certificate or document is available to be picked up at a place and time

prearranged by both parties. The written notice must be mailed to a business

address of the purchasing dealer that is on file with the department. Service

by mail under this sub-subparagraph is effective on the date of mailing.

“(k) Except as provided in subsection (3) of this section, a vehicle dealer

commits the offense of failure to furnish certificate of title or application for

title if, within 90 calendar days of transfer of any interest in a vehicle or

camper by the dealer, the dealer has failed to:
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“(A) Furnish the certificate of title or other primary ownership record for

the vehicle or camper and any release thereon or, if title has been issued or

is to be issued in a form other than a certificate, any information or docu-

ments required by rule of the department, to the security interest holder next

named, if any, otherwise to the lessor or, if none, to the purchaser; or

“(B) Submit to the department in a manner that complies with any ap-

plicable statutes and rules, an application for title on behalf of the person

to whom the title is to be furnished or whose name is to be shown on the

title record.

“(L) A vehicle dealer commits the offense of failure to maintain bond or

letter of credit coverage if the dealer permits a bond or letter of credit to

lapse during the period that the bond or letter of credit is required under

ORS 822.020 [or 822.040] or if the dealer fails to purchase a bond or letter

of credit required by ORS 822.030.

“(m) A person commits the offense of acting as a vehicle dealer while

under revocation, cancellation or suspension if the person conducts business

as a vehicle dealer in this state and the person’s vehicle dealer certificate

is revoked, canceled or suspended, regardless of whether the person is li-

censed as a vehicle dealer in another jurisdiction. This paragraph does not

apply if the person has other current, valid dealer certificates issued in this

state.

“(n) A vehicle dealer commits the offense of improper display of a vehicle

for advertising purposes if the dealer displays a vehicle at a location other

than the dealer’s place of business for the purpose of advertising and the

dealer does not comply with the provisions of ORS 822.040 (4).

“(2) A dealer is not considered to have committed the offense described

in subsection (1)(j)(A) of this section if the dealer fails to satisfy an interest

in a vehicle or camper that arises from an inventory financing security in-

terest for which the dealer is the debtor.

“(3) A dealer is not considered to have committed the offense described
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in subsection (1)(k) of this section if the dealer demonstrates that:

“(a) The dealer has made a good faith effort to comply; and

“(b) The dealer’s inability to provide title is due to circumstances beyond

the dealer’s control.

“(4) The offenses described in this section are subject to the following

penalties:

“(a) The offense described in this section, failure to obtain a supplemental

vehicle dealer certificate, is a Class A misdemeanor.

“(b) The offense described in this section, failure to obtain a corrected

vehicle dealer certificate, is a Class A misdemeanor.

“(c) The offense described in this section, failure to maintain proper ve-

hicle dealer records, is a Class A misdemeanor.

“(d) The offense described in this section, failure to allow administrative

inspection, is a Class A misdemeanor.

“(e) The offense described in this section, failure to allow police in-

spection, is a Class A misdemeanor.

“(f) The offense described in this section, illegal use of dealer vehicle for

hire, is a Class B traffic violation.

“(g) The offense described in this section, improper use of dealer plates

or devices, is a Class D traffic violation.

“(h) The offense described in this section, improper display of dealer

plates, is a Class B traffic violation.

“(i) The offense described in this section, failure to exhibit the dealer

certificate, is a Class A misdemeanor.

“(j) The offense described in this section, failure to provide clear title, is

a Class A misdemeanor.

“(k) The offense described in this section, failure to furnish certificate of

title or application for title, is a Class A misdemeanor.

“(L) The offense described in this section, failure to maintain bond or

letter of credit coverage, is a Class A misdemeanor.
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“(m) The offense described in this section, acting as a vehicle dealer while

under revocation, cancellation or suspension, is a Class A misdemeanor.

“(n) The offense described in this section, improper display of a vehicle

for advertising purposes, is a Class A misdemeanor.

“SECTION 49. ORS 822.060 is amended to read:

“822.060. (1) Except as provided in subsection (2) of this section, a person

who holds a vehicle dealer certificate issued [or renewed] under ORS 822.020

[or 822.040] commits the offense of illegal consignment practices if the person

does any of the following:

“(a) Takes a vehicle on consignment from a person who does not hold a

vehicle dealer certificate issued [or renewed] under ORS 822.020 [or 822.040],

or who is not licensed as a vehicle dealer in another jurisdiction, and who

does not have proof that the consignor is the registered owner, a security

interest holder or lessor of the vehicle.

“(b) Takes a vehicle on consignment from a security interest holder

without the security interest holder first completing a repossession action

prior to consigning the vehicle and providing the dealer with proper docu-

mentary proof of the repossession action.

“(c) Takes a vehicle on consignment and does not have the terms of the

consignment agreement in writing and provide a copy of the agreement to

the consignor. The agreement shall include a provision stating that if the

terms of the agreement are not met, the consignor may file a complaint in

writing with the Department of Transportation, Salem, Oregon.

“(d) Sells a vehicle that the dealer has on consignment and does not pay

the consignor within 10 days of the sale.

“(e) Sells a vehicle that the dealer has on consignment and does not ei-

ther provide the purchaser with a certificate of title to the vehicle or with

other primary ownership records in the form of documents or apply to the

department in the purchaser’s name for title to the vehicle within 30 days

of the sale in a manner provided by the department by rule.
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“(f) Does not allow the department or any duly authorized representative

to inspect and audit any records of any separate accounts into which the

dealer deposits any funds received or handled by the dealer or in the course

of business as a dealer from consignment sale of vehicles at such times as

the department may direct.

“(g) Takes any part of any money paid to the dealer in connection with

any consignment transaction as part or all of the dealer’s commission or fee

until the transaction has been completed or terminated.

“(h) Does not make arrangement for the disposition of money from a

consignment transaction with the seller at the time of establishing a

consignment agreement.

“(i) Sells a vehicle that the dealer has taken on consignment without first

giving the purchaser the following disclosure in writing:

“ ________________________________________________________________________

DISCLOSURE REGARDING

CONSIGNMENT SALE

 (Name of Dealer) is selling the following described

vehicle:  (Year)  (Make)  (Model)  (Vehicle

Identification Number) on consignment.

[ ] There is a security interest in this vehicle.

[ ] There is not a security interest in this vehicle.

YOU SHOULD TAKE ACTION TO ENSURE THAT ANY SECURITY IN-

TERESTS ARE RELEASED AND THAT THE TITLE TO THE VEHICLE IS

TRANSFERRED TO YOU. OTHERWISE, YOU MAY TAKE TITLE SUB-

JECT TO ANY UNSATISFIED SECURITY INTERESTS.

“ ________________________________________________________________________

“(2) The offense described in this section does not apply if the person

 HB 2099-3 4/28/23
 Proposed Amendments to HB 2099 Page 71



1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

takes a vehicle on consignment from an entity other than a retail customer

and the person holds a vehicle dealer certificate issued [or renewed] under

ORS 822.020 [or 822.040] and operates a:

“(a) Wholesale vehicle auction company; or

“(b) National auction company whose primary activity in this state is the

sale or disposition of totaled vehicles.

“(3) The offense described in this section, illegal consignment practices,

is a Class A misdemeanor.

“(4) The department shall adopt rules to carry out the provisions of this

section, including but not limited to rules to specify which persons may take

and sell vehicles on consignment and to regulate the taking and selling of

vehicles on consignment from other jurisdictions.

“GENERAL REPEALS

“SECTION 50. ORS 805.242 is repealed.

“SECTION 51. ORS 805.117 is repealed.

“SECTION 52. The repeal of ORS 805.117 by section 51 of this 2023

Act applies to registration plates issued, renewed or replaced on or

after the effective date of this 2023 Act. Consular corps registration

plates issued before the effective date of this 2023 Act shall continue

to be governed by ORS 805.117 as in effect immediately before the ef-

fective date of this 2023 Act.

“DELAYED OPERATIVE DATE

“SECTION 53. (1) The amendments to ORS 87.152, 319.550, 319.520,

319.530, 646A.090, 802.031, 803.530, 803.552, 805.103, 805.210, 805.250, 807.080,

819.482, 822.015, 822.020, 822.025, 822.027, 822.030, 822.033, 822.035, 822.040,

822.045, 822.050, 822.060, 822.310, 822.315, 822.515, 822.700, 822.990 and
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825.480 by sections 3 to 5, 9, 16 to 22, 26 to 28, 30, 32 and 36 to 49 of this

2023 Act and the repeal of ORS 805.242, 822.505, 822.510, 822.520, 822.525,

822.530 and 822.535 by sections 25 and 50 of this 2023 Act become oper-

ative January 1, 2024.

“(2) The Department of Transportation may adopt rules or take any

actions before the operative date specified in subsection (1) of this

section that are necessary to enable the department, on and after the

operative date specified in subsection (1) of this section, to carry out

the amendments to ORS 87.152, 319.550, 319.520, 319.530, 646A.090,

802.031, 803.530, 803.552, 805.103, 805.210, 805.250, 807.080, 819.482, 822.015,

822.020, 822.025, 822.027, 822.030, 822.033, 822.035, 822.040, 822.045, 822.050,

822.060, 822.310, 822.315, 822.515, 822.700, 822.990 and 825.480 by sections

3 to 5, 9, 16 to 22, 26 to 28, 30, 32 and 36 to 49 of this 2023 Act and the

repeal of ORS 805.242, 822.505, 822.510, 822.520, 822.525, 822.530 and 822.535

by sections 25 and 50 of this 2023 Act.

“CAPTIONS

“SECTION 54. The unit captions used in this 2023 Act are provided

only for the convenience of the reader and do not become part of the

statutory law of this state or express any legislative intent in the

enactment of this 2023 Act.

“EFFECTIVE DATE

“SECTION 55. This 2023 Act takes effect on the 91st day after the

date on which the 2023 regular session of the Eighty-second Legislative

Assembly adjourns sine die.”.
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