Enrolled

Senate Concurrent Resolution 11

Sponsored by Senator KNOPP, Representatives KROPF, LEVY E; Senator MANNING JR, Representative HOLVEY (at the request of Dick Tobiason)

Whereas Lance Corporal Don Edward Darnall was born in Portland, Oregon, on May 9, 1946, to Harold and Doris Darnall; and

Whereas Lance Corporal Darnall was raised in Portland and moved to Bend in 1958; and

Whereas Lance Corporal Darnall graduated from Bend High School in 1964; and

Whereas Lance Corporal Darnall enjoyed fishing, boating and hunting with family and friends in the Cascade Mountains; and

Whereas Lance Corporal Darnall married the love of his life, Phyllis A. Sigmund, on September 18, 1965; and

Whereas Lance Corporal Darnall was drafted into the United States Marine Corps and proudly served his country in the Vietnam War, where he attained the rank of Lance Corporal as a machine gunner with G Company, 2nd Battalion, 5th Marines, 1st Marine Division, 3rd Marine Amphibious Force; and

Whereas Lance Corporal Darnall was killed in action, at 20 years of age, in Quang Tri Province, South Vietnam, on October 22, 1966; and

Whereas Lance Corporal Darnall was awarded numerous medals and commendations for his wartime service, including the Purple Heart, the National Defense Service Medal, the Vietnam Service Medal, the Vietnam Campaign Medal and the Combat Action Ribbon; and

Whereas Lance Corporal Darnall was laid to rest in Greenwood Cemetery in Bend; and

Whereas Lance Corporall Darnall was survived by his wife, Phyllis, who holds him forever in her heart; and

Whereas Lance Corporal Darnall's selfless devotion to duty exemplified the spirit and values of the United States Marine Corps; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Eighty-second Legislative Assembly, celebrate the life of Lance Corporal Don Edward Darnall, and we recognize and honor his dedication to serving his state and country.

Adopted by Senate March 28, 2023
Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate
Rob Wagner, President of Senate
Adopted by House April 14, 2023
Dan Rayfield Speaker of House