## Senate Bill 235

Printed pursuant to Senate Interim Rule 213.28 by order of the President of the Senate in conformance with presession filing rules, indicating neither advocacy nor opposition on the part of the President (at the request of Chief Justice Martha L. Walters for Oregon Judicial Department)

## SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor's brief statement of the essential features of the measure **as introduced**.

Increases number of circuit court judges in certain judicial districts. Takes effect October 1, 2023.

## A BILL FOR AN ACT

2 Relating to judicial positions; amending ORS 3.012; and prescribing an effective date.

**3 Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:** 

4 **SECTION 1.** ORS 3.012 is amended to read:

1

5 3.012. (1) The judicial districts, the counties constituting the judicial districts and the number

6 of circuit court judges for each judicial district are as follows:

7 (a) The first judicial district consists of Jackson County and has [10] 11 judges.

8 (b) The second judicial district consists of Lane County and has [15] **16** judges.

9 (c) The third judicial district consists of Marion County and has 15 judges.

- 10 (d) The fourth judicial district consists of Multnomah County and has 38 judges.
- 11 (e) The fifth judicial district consists of Clackamas County and has [11] 12 judges.
- 12 (f) The sixth judicial district consists of the counties of Morrow and Umatilla and has five 13 judges.
- (g) The seventh judicial district consists of the counties of Gilliam, Hood River, Sherman, Wasco
   and Wheeler and has four judges.
- 16 (h) The eighth judicial district consists of Baker County and has one judge.
- 17 (i) The ninth judicial district consists of Malheur County and has two judges.
- 18 (j) The tenth judicial district consists of the counties of Union and Wallowa and has two judges.
- 19 (k) The eleventh judicial district consists of Deschutes County and has nine judges.
- 20 (L) The twelfth judicial district consists of Polk County and has three judges.
- 21 (m) The thirteenth judicial district consists of Klamath County and has five judges.
- 22 (n) The fourteenth judicial district consists of Josephine County and has [five] six judges.
- 23 (o) The fifteenth judicial district consists of the counties of Coos and Curry and has six judges.
- 24 (p) The sixteenth judicial district consists of Douglas County and has [five] six judges.
- 25 (q) The seventeenth judicial district consists of Lincoln County and has three judges.
- 26 (r) The eighteenth judicial district consists of Clatsop County and has three judges.
- 27 (s) The nineteenth judicial district consists of Columbia County and has three judges.
- 28 (t) The twentieth judicial district consists of Washington County and has [15] **17** judges.
- 29 (u) The twenty-first judicial district consists of Benton County and has three judges.
- 30 (v) The twenty-second judicial district consists of the counties of Crook and Jefferson and has

1 three judges.

2 (w) The twenty-third judicial district consists of Linn County and has five judges.

3 (x) The twenty-fourth judicial district consists of the counties of Grant and Harney and has one4 judge.

- 5 (y) The twenty-fifth judicial district consists of Yamhill County and has four judges.
- 6 (z) The twenty-sixth judicial district consists of Lake County and has one judge.
- 7 (aa) The twenty-seventh judicial district consists of Tillamook County and has two judges.
- 8 (2) The Secretary of State shall designate position numbers equal to the number of judges in

9 each of the judicial districts established by this section. The positions shall reflect any qualifications
10 established by ORS 3.041.

- 11 <u>SECTION 2.</u> This 2023 Act takes effect on October 1, 2023.
- 12