#### HB 3188 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

# **Joint Committee On Transportation**

**Action Date:** 03/30/23

Action: Do pass.

**Senate Vote** 

Yeas: 4 - Boquist, Frederick, President Wagner, Woods

Nays: 1 - Findley

**House Vote** 

Yeas: 6 - Boshart Davis, Helfrich, Mannix, McLain, Nathanson, Pham K

Navs: 1 - Evans

**Fiscal:** Has minimal fiscal impact

**Revenue:** No revenue impact

**Prepared By:** Patrick Brennan, LPRO Analyst

**Meeting Dates:** 3/30, 4/25

#### WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Adds Marion County to list of road authorities authorized to designate speeds on certain roads under its jurisdiction.

## **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

- Background on standard process modifying speed limits
- Local government capacity variants regarding speed zone changes
- Recent yearly injury and fatal accident increases
- Reasons for exclusion of most counties
- Department of Transportation work group on speed zone guidance

## **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

No amendment.

## **BACKGROUND:**

Historically, road authorities in Oregon, other than the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT), that sought to change speed limits outside of statutory speed limit parameters were required to formally request the Department to change roadway speeds. The process required justifications by road authorities to change roadway speeds, and often involved a lengthy process.

House Bill 2682 (2017) granted the City of Portland the authority to establish, by ordinance, a designated speed five miles per hour below the statutory speed in cases of residential district roadways, non-arterial highways, and roadways with posted signage to inform the traveling public. Subsequent legislation (Senate Bill 558, 2019) expanded this authority to all cities. To set speeds on low volume or unpaved roads under certain jurisdictions, House Bill 3055 (2021) authorized ODOT to delegate its authority to Clackamas County, Multnomah County, or a city with jurisdiction over the highway.

House Bill 3188 expands authority for speed setting on low volume or unpaved roads to Marion County.

Carrier: Sen. Gorsek