REVENUE IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION

82nd Oregon Legislative Assembly 2023 Regular Session Legislative Revenue Office Bill Number: HB 2100 - A
Revenue Area: Highway Fund
Economist: Mazen Malik
Date: 05-23-2023

Only Impacts on Original or Engrossed Versions are Considered Official

Measure Description:

Alters and raises various DMV fees. Increases a variety of DMV fee to recover the cost of administering these services.

Revenue Impact:

DMV generated Revenue		2023-25 Revenue (18 Months)	2025-27 Revenue	2027-29 Revenue
State Highway Fund Total		\$17,991,280	\$24,614,664	\$25,315,160
State (ODOT)	60.05%	\$10,803,764	\$14,781,106	\$15,201,754
Counties	24.38%	\$4,386,274	\$6,001,055	\$6,171,836
Cities	15.57%	\$2,801,242	\$3,832,503	\$3,941,570
ID Card (TOF - Elderly & Disabled Special Trans Fund)		\$262,926	\$354,393	\$364,316
RV's to Parks		\$777,201	\$1,033,002	\$1,061,926
Total		\$19,031,407	\$26,002,059	\$26,741,402

Impact Explanation:

Most DMV fees are made up of several parts. The base fee is usually the statutory fee before the year 2000. The fees are intended to cover DMV's operating expenses, generate revenue to the State Highway Fund, and fund specific allocations of certain transportation packages. The Base Fees (prior to any additions dedicated by funding packages) are the main source the agency is legally allowed to use in the recovery of its collection costs. However, since those base fees are not dedicated to cover DMV costs, the remainder (net revenue after collection costs) is apportioned to the State (ODOT 60.05%), Cities (15.57%) and counties (24.38%). Except for transportation packages like OTIA (I,II, and III), JTA, and HB 2017, most base DMV fees (which pay for costs) have not been increased in more than 20 years. Since the 2015-17 biennium, DMV Base fees (not connected or part of any particular funding packages) yielded no net revenue to the State Highway Fund. All fee increases by the multiple transportation funding packages (since 2003) were dedicated to something other than DMV operations, with a small exception where HB 4062 (2018 Legislative Session) made small changes to align some fees.

State Capitol Building 900 Court St NE Salem, Oregon 97301-1347 Phone (503) 986-1266 Fax (503) 986-1770 https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/lro For the 2019-21 biennium, DMV gross Base-Revenue was \$261M and the DMV Operating Cost, Central Service Assessment, and Service Transformation Program expenses were \$327M. The current one is the second biennium that operational/collection costs exceed base revenue, and the deficit will continue and grow until base rates are adjusted to cover the costs of the agency.

In essence, by not raising DMV fees, the legislature through the budget process is allowing DMV costs to be subsidized from other (non-package-dedicated) highway fund sources such as fuel taxes. By increasing the fees, this measure is remedying some of that subsidy and restoring that revenue to the highway fund. This revenue in turn gets apportioned to the state (ODOT), counties and cities on the same percentages that govern the base-fee distribution.

Below is a table of all the fee adjustment in this measure.

,	_				
	Current	Proposed Statutory fee	Actual 2019- 21 Cost	Section	ORS
Driver Licensing	Statutory ree	Statutory ree	21 Cost	Section	UKS
Original Class C Driver License	\$54.00	\$58.00	\$70.93	1	807.370(1)(a)
Class C Driver License Renewal	\$34.00	\$48.00	\$67.14	1	807.370(5)(a)
Class C Driver License Replacement	\$26.00	\$30.00	\$33.04	1	807.370(6)
Orig. Class C Instr. Permit	\$23.00	\$30.00	\$111.89	1	807.370(1)(e)
Class C Instruction Permit Renewal	\$23.00	\$26.00	\$111.89	1	807.370(5)(e)
Class C Instruction Permit Replacement	\$26.00	\$30.00	\$33.04	1	807.370(6)
Class C Knowledge Test	\$5.00	\$7.00	\$2.55	1	807.370(7)(a)
Class C Skills Test	\$9.00	\$45.00	\$123.16	1	807.370(7)(d)
Motorcycle Knowledge Test	\$5.00	\$7.00	\$2.55	1	807.370(7)(b)
Motorcycle Endorsement w/Issuance or Renewal	\$46.00	\$60.00	\$58.62	1	807.370(3)(a)
Motorcycle Endorsement only	\$49.00	\$60.00	\$58.62		807.370(3)(b)
Original CDL	\$75.00	\$160.00	\$137.97	1	807.370(1)(c)
CDL Renewal	\$55.00	\$98.00	\$77.13	1	807.370(5)(c)
CDL/CDP Replacement	\$26.00	\$30.00	\$33.04	1	807.370(6)
Orig. CDL Instr. Permit	\$23.00	\$40.00	\$114.05	1	807.370(1)(f)
CDL Skills Test	\$70.00	\$145.00	\$613.12	1	807.370(7)(e)
All Hardship/ Probationary Permits	\$50.00	\$75.00	\$100.33	1	807.370(1)(L)
All Reinstatements	\$75.00	\$85.00	\$82.64	1&2	807.370(10) + 807.410(d)
Original ID Card	\$44.50	\$47.00	\$33.40	2	807.410(1)(a)
ID Card Renewal	\$40.50	\$43.00	\$28.82	2	807.410(1)(b)
ID Card Replacement	\$39.50	\$40.00	\$15.87	2	807.410(1)(c)&(g)
Vehicles					
License Plate Transfer	\$6.00	\$30.00	\$45.13	6	803.575(3)
Replacement Plate/Sticker	\$10.00	\$12.00	\$28.42	6&7	803.575(2)&(5)& 805.250
Replacement Plate/Sticker (At Renewal)	\$5.00	\$12.00	\$28.42	6&7	803.575(2)&(5)& 805.250
VIN Inspection	\$7.00	\$9.00	\$4.18	3	803.215
Rounding to whole dollar					
Trailer or Campers over 10 ft extra per foot	\$6.75	\$7.00	NA	4	803.420(7)(c)(B)
Motor homes over 14ft extra per foot	\$7.50	\$8.00	NA	4	803.420(7)(c)(D)
Plate manufacturing cost rounded to whole dollar	\$0.50	\$1.00	NA	5	803.570(2)(a)
Moped and Motorcycle Registration Term					
Registration Period for Moped and Motorcyle 4 yrs to 2 yrs	\$176.00	\$88.00	NA	8	803.415

It is worthy to note that underperforming fees also result in unintended consequences:

State Capitol Building 900 Court St NE Salem, Oregon 97301-1347 Phone (503) 986-1266 Fax (503) 986-1770 https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/lro

- a. Plate transfer fees (\$6) are substantially below cost (\$45.13) and incentivizes transfers of plates with unexpired registration instead of buying a new plate set (\$24) plus 2-year or 4-year vehicle registration. Plate transfer transactions grew from 87,895 in 2009-11 biennium to 146,350 in the 2019-21 biennium. Changes were made in the 2018 legislative session around this activity, to address fraud and theft.
- b. Regular Class C drive test fees (\$9) are below their cost (\$123), and significantly undercut the private businesses that offer non-commercial driver skills tests on behalf of DMV. In fact, the entire \$9 fee is dedicated revenue under the JTA funding package. Due to expansion of the Third-Party Testing Program and DMV staffing constraints, about 75% of drive tests are now being conducted by third party testing services.

From the table of fees above it is obvious that even after the increase in statuary fees in this measure, some fees will still be under the threshold of full cost recovery, thus some subsidization of these transactions continues to be the effect of this revenue policy choice. These costs would essentially still be subsidized by the pre-apportioned revenue of the highway fund.

Creates, Extends, or Expands Tax Expenditure: Yes | No |