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HB 3632 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY
House Committee On Rules

Prepared By: Adrienne Anderson
Meeting Dates: 6/21

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:
Increases the statute of limitations from 12 years to 20 years for: Rape in the First Degree, Sodomy in the First
Degree, Unlawful Sexual Penetration in the First Degree, and Sexual Abuse in the First Degree.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:
No amendment.

BACKGROUND:
The current statute of limitations for sex abuse offenses in the first degree is 12 years after the commission of the
crime or if the victim of the crime was under 18 years of age, then any time before the victim turns 30. In 2019,
New York increased the statute of limitations for certain sex offenses to 20 years. Washington's statute of
limitations for certain sex offenses is also 20 years and California removed its statute of limitations in 2016.

HB 3632 increases the statute of limitations from 12 years to 20 years for sex abuse offenses in the first degree.


