SB 582 A -A4 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Joint Committee On Ways and Means

Prepared By: Benjamin Ruef, Budget Analyst **Meeting Dates:** 5/30

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Requires state agency that authorizes or funds installation of electric vehicle charging system located on customer's side of meter to require installing contractor or contractors to hold all legally required licenses and one or more electricians who hold Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Training Program or equivalent training program certification to supervise or participate in installation.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

-A4 The amendment removes a grant program for individuals who successfully complete an Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Training Program.

The amendment also adds a requirement where at least 25 percent of the electricians involved in the installation of an electric vehicle charging system located on the customer's side of the meter, supplying 25 or more kilowatts to an electric vehicle must hold Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Training Program or equivalent training program certifications.

BACKGROUND:

Over the course of the next five years, the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) is projecting to invest \$100 million from both federal and state sources to increase electric vehicle (EV) charging infrastructure. According to ODOT, the funding will focus on charging infrastructure for light-duty EVs such as cars, SUVs, and trucks. Approximately two-thirds of the funding is from the 2021 Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act which requires that the funds be spent on EV charging infrastructure along "Alternative Fuel Corridors," as per guidance from the Federal Highway Administration. The remaining portion of the funding is to be focused on EV infrastructure gaps beyond the Alternative Fuel Corridors. In September, the federal government approved Oregon's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Plan.