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SB 1052 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY
House Committee On Judiciary

Prepared By: Adrienne Anderson, LPRO Analyst
Meeting Dates: 5/11, 5/17

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:
Provides that the crime of subjecting another person to involuntary servitude in the second degree occurs if a
person knowingly and without lawful authority forces or attempts to force the other person to continue to engage
in services by subjecting the person to: debt bondage; instilling in the other person a fear that the actor will
withhold medical care; controlling or threatening to control the other person\'s access to a controlled substance;
fraud or misrepresentation. Defines debt bondage. Provides that the crime of subjecting another person to
involuntary servitude in the first degree occurs when a person knowingly and without lawful authority forces or
attempts to force the other person to continue to engage in services by threatening to cause death or serious
physical injury or physically restraining the person. Provides that force or attempted force can be proven by
considering the age of the person, the relationship between the person and the defendant, the immigration
status of the other person, and any handicap or disability of the other person. Requires the Oregon Criminal
Justice Commission to classify subjecting another person to involuntary servitude in the first as crime category 9
and in second degree as a crime category 8 on the sentencing guidelines grid when the victim is under 18 years of
age at the time of the offense. Provides that a person commits the crime of trafficking in persons if the person
knowingly recruits, entices, or obtains by other means another person and the person knows or recklessly
disregards the fact that the other person will be subjected to involuntary servitude. Creates an affirmative
defense to subjecting another person to involuntary servitude if the person was a human trafficking victim at the
time of engaging in the conduct and engaged in the conduct due to being a human trafficking victim. Provides that
a person injured under the crime of subjecting another person to involuntary servitude may bring civil damages
within 10 years after the date on which the conduct giving rise to the claim ceases or, if the plaintiff was a minor
at the time, the date on which the plaintiff turns 18. Requires alcohol services permittee to report suspected
human trafficking. Directs the Board on Public Safety Standards and Training to include training on labor and sex
trafficking in the required police officer training. Requires the Department of Justice to develop a training program
on human trafficking awareness for state agencies by January 1, 2025 and requires those agencies that come into
contact with potential human trafficking victims to take the training annually.

FISCAL: Indeterminate fiscal impact

REVENUE: Minimal revenue impact

Senate floor vote: 24--3

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:
No amendment.

BACKGROUND:
Labor trafficking is a form of human trafficking and includes the use of threats and coercion to force a person to
work against their will. Under current law, a person subjects another person to involuntary servitude if they force
the other person to engage in services, using a variety of different types of force. In 2020, Attorney General Ellen
Rosenblum formed a Labor Trafficking Task Force to study and make recommendations for Oregon\'s response to
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labor trafficking. The task force included legislators, advocates and service providers, state and federal law
enforcement and prosecutors, state agencies, and consulates from several counties. Under Oregon\'s current law,
the debt the trafficker is threatening to collect has to be an unlawful debt. Oregon\'s law also does not reference
fraud or controlling access to controlled substances. Oregon law does allow for an affirmative victim defense, but
it requires the victim to prove that the trafficker used force or threatened physical force.

Many of the changes proposed by the measure are modeled after the Uniform Law Commision (ULC) and
California\'s labor trafficking codes. Debt bondage, for example under the ULC and California code does not
require a threat for collection and does not require it to be an "unlawful" debt. The ULC has higher penalties for
labor trafficking involving minors and the California code takes into account the totality of the circumstances,
which includes the age of the victim, when determining if coercion has taken place.

Senate Bill 1052 expands the crime of subjecting another person to involuntary servitude to include forcing
another person to continue to engage in services by subjecting the person to various acts, including debt
bondage, withholding medical care, controlling the access to controlled substances, and fraud or
misrepresentation; it increases the penalties when the victim is a minor; creates an affirmative defense when the
person was the victim of human trafficking; increases the statute of limitations to 10 years for civil claims; and
requires training for various governmental agencies and law enforcement. 


