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Oregonians are Struggling

44% of Oregonians are having 
difficulty covering their 
expenses and paying their bills.1

30% of Oregonians say they 
likely could not come up with 
$2,000 if faced with a financial 
emergency. 2

1
https://www.oregon.gov/treasury/financial-empowerment/Documents/Annual-reports/230201-FINAL-Oregon-Financial-

Wellness-Scorecard.pdf?utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery

2https://www.oregon.gov/treasury/financial-empowerment/Documents/Annual-reports/230201-FINAL-Oregon-Financial-
Wellness-Scorecard.pdf?utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery

https://www.oregon.gov/treasury/financial-empowerment/Documents/Annual-reports/230201-FINAL-Oregon-Financial-Wellness-Scorecard.pdf?utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery
https://www.oregon.gov/treasury/financial-empowerment/Documents/Annual-reports/230201-FINAL-Oregon-Financial-Wellness-Scorecard.pdf?utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery


Caught in the Debt Trap

• 16% of Oregonians have debt in collections 
(approximately 680,000 people).3

• Communities of color experience double the rate 
of debt in collections (35%) than white 
communities (16%).4

• The median debt in collections in Oregon is 
$1,563.5

• The majority of debt is medical.

3,r,5 https://apps.urban.org/features/debt-interactive-map/?type=overall&variable=totcoll&state=41

https://apps.urban.org/features/debt-interactive-map/?type=overall&variable=totcoll&state=41


Problem No. 1: 
Escalating 
Debt Trap

6Total court cases from Oregon Circuit Court Data, 2021: Microsoft Power BI (powerbigov.us).

6

Consumers 
cannot pay their 

bills.

Late fees are 
assessed and 
accounts are 

shutoff.

Debt is turned over 
to a collection 

agency.

Debt collectors 
repeatedly contact the 
consumer via mail and 

phone.

Debt collector / debt 
buyer files a lawsuit 

against the consumer.

Debt collector / debt 
buyer seizes wages, bank 
accounts, property, and 

more.

The debt grows over 
time, the consumer’s 

situation worsens, and 
they cannot get out of 

the debt trap.



Problem No. 2: Illegal Debt Collection

• Over the past 5 years, Oregonians have filed over 1,300 complaints with 
the federal Consumer Financial Protection Bureau related to unfair debt 
collection practices.7

o Over half of the complaints were related to debt collectors 
attempting to collect debt that was not owed or was the wrong 
amount.

• Currently, Oregon law does not provide consumers with a clear path for
resolving debt disputes when they don't actually owe the debt.

• In addition, consumers have only a 1 year statute of limitations to file an 
illegal debt collection case while debt collectors have a 6 year statute of 
limitations.

7 Search the Consumer Complaint Database | Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (consumerfinance.gov)



HB 2008-- Family Financial Protection Act: 
Avoiding the Debt Trap

Exemption Area Current Law HB 2008 -1

Wages $254/week or 75% of wages Portland Metro min. wage or 

75% of wages

Housing $40,000 33% of real market value or 

100% of real market value for 

seniors

Bank Accounts Wages once deposited, plus 

possible $400 wildcard

Up to $2,500 balance

Car $3,000 $10,000

Items Needed for Work $5,000 $15,000 for work items and 

$30,000 of farm equipment

Household goods $3,000 Protect all belongings except 

those identified as worth more 

than $3,000

Wildcard $400 $1,500, intended not to stack 

on wages or bank account

*These amounts will be adjusted annually for inflation.



HB 2008– Family Financial Protection Act: 
Avoiding Illegal Debt Collection Practices

• Increases the minimum penalty for illegal 
debt collection from $200 to $1,000.

• Increases a consumer’s statute of 
limitations to file a case for illegal debt 
collection from 1 year to 3 years from the 
date of discovery, but no more than 6 years 
from the date of injury.

• Ends consumer liability for challenging 
illegal debt collection.



HB 2008: -2 
Amendment 
(pending)

• Child support, spousal support, and victim restitution 
judgements are not subject to the new exemption levels, but 
will remain at the existing levels.

• Clarification that wildcard cannot be added to wage or bank 
account exemptions.

• All owners need to be 65 years or older to receive 100% of 
the real market value homestead exemption, up to cap.

• The homestead exemption will have an upper cap of 
$250,000 (under 65) or $800,000 (65 years or older).

• Clarifying language around indexing for inflation, wage 
calculations, bank account exemption, and garnishment 
forms.



For more 
information…

• Aspen Institute, A Financial Security Threat in 
the Courtroom

• Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 
Consumer Experiences with Debt Collection

• Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Making 
Ends Meet in 2022

• National Consumer Law Center, No Fresh Start 
2022: Will States Let Debt Collectors Push 
Families Into Poverty as the Cost of Necessities 
Soars

• Oregon State Treasury, Oregon Financial 
Wellness Scorecard

https://www.aspeninstitute.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/ASP-FSP_DebtCollectionsPaper_092221.pdf
https://files.consumerfinance.gov/f/documents/201701_cfpb_Debt-Collection-Survey-Report.pdf
https://files.consumerfinance.gov/f/documents/cfpb_making-ends-meet-in-2022_report_2022-12.pdf
https://www.nclc.org/resources/no-fresh-start-2022-will-states-let-debt-collectors-push-families-into-poverty/
https://www.oregon.gov/treasury/financial-empowerment/Documents/Annual-reports/230201-FINAL-Oregon-Financial-Wellness-Scorecard.pdf

