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This memorandum is in response to your request for information related to executive
emergency authorities provided to the Governor related to the declaration of
emergencies in Oregon and the roles and responsibilities of the Legislative Assembly.
Per the request, information related to selected comparable emergency authorities in
neighboring states also is presented. Given the potential breadth of possible statutes
related to emergency authorities, this memorandum should be considered
representative of such laws rather than a comprehensive analysis of all possible
executive emergency authorities.

This memorandum is divided into the following sections:

e Executive Emergency Authority in Oregon:
o Oregon Constitution, Article X-A (catastrophic disasters),
o ORS chapter 131 (emergency periods),
o ORS chapter 401 (states of emergency),
o ORS chapter 433 (public health emergencies), and
o Recent Judicial Consideration.
e Selected Emergency Authorities in Oregon and Neighboring States.

Executive Emergency Authority in Oregon

Oregon’s Governor is granted the authority to declare various types of emergency
events in Article X-A of the Constitution of the State of Oregon and at least three
separate statutes, ORS chapters 131, 401, and 433. This section summarizes how
those various emergency authorities function with an emphasis on the role of the
Legislative Assembly.

Article X-A, Catastrophic Disasters?

Article X-A of the Constitution of the State of Oregon allows the Governor to find and
declare a catastrophic disaster has occurred and grants the Governor and Legislative
Assembly specific emergency authorities once the Governor has made that declaration.
Such emergency authorities automatically expire within 30 days, may only be invoked
once per event, and may only be extended by a legislative measure passed with a
three-fifths majority in each chamber.

1 0r. Const. Art. X-A.



https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/Pages/OrConst.aspx

Declaration

The Governor may invoke the provisions of Article X-A by finding and declaring that a
catastrophic disaster has occurred. “Catastrophic disaster” means a natural or human-
caused event that:

e results in extraordinary levels of death, injury, property damage, or disruption of
daily life in this state; and

e severely affects the population, infrastructure, environment, economy, or
government functioning of this state.

Article X-A includes a non-exhaustive list of catastrophic disasters: 1) terrorism; 2)
earthquake; 3) flood; 4) public health emergency; 5) tsunami; 6) volcanic eruption; and
7) war. The Governor’s finding must specify the nature of the catastrophic disaster.

Powers

Article X-A requires the Governor, after declaring a catastrophic disaster has occurred,
to manage the immediate response to the disaster. The Governor may use moneys
appropriated from the General Fund and lottery funds allocated to executive agencies
for the current biennium to respond to the catastrophic disaster, regardless of the
legislatively expressed purpose of the appropriation. State constitutional limits on the
use of lottery funds continue to apply to lottery funds reallocated under Article X-A.

Limitations

At the time the Governor invokes Article X-A, if the Legislative Assembly is not already
in session or scheduled to convene a regular session within 30 days, the Governor must
issue a proclamation convening the Legislative Assembly. Article X-A powers
automatically expire 30 days following the Governor’s declaration of a catastrophic
disaster and may only be extended by a measure enacted by the Legislative Assembly.?
The Governor may not invoke Article X-A more than once for the same catastrophic
disaster.

Legislative Oversight

The Legislative Assembly must be convened within 30 days of the Governor’s
declaration of a catastrophic disaster. The body may convene at a location other than
the Capitol if the Capitol is determined to be inaccessible, and all quorum and majority
requirements are determined using members who are able to attend rather than total
membership of the body (e.g., a three-fifths majority in the House is normally 36

2 Article V (Executive Branch) Section 15b of the Oregon Constitution requires every bill passed by the Legislative
Assembly to be presented to the Governor for signature. If the Governor does not return the signed measure within
five days (excluding Saturdays and Sundays) the measure becomes law without the signature of the Governor.
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members, but if only 50 members are able to attend session during a catastrophic
disaster, then a three-fifths majority would be 30 members). Members participating
remotely are considered to be in attendance.

Article X-A limits the Legislative Assembly during the catastrophic disaster to “actions
necessary to implement the Governor’s immediate response to the disaster and to
actions necessary to aid recovery from the disaster.” The body may enact measures to:

e extend Article X-A powers beyond the constitutional limit prior to the 30-day
expiration of Article X-A powers and with a three-fifths majority in each chamber;

e terminate Article X-A powers and provide any provisions the Legislative
Assembly considers necessary to provide an orderly transition to compliance with
any Constitutional requirements waived during the catastrophic disaster after a
finding and declaration by the Governor that the immediate response to the
catastrophic disaster has ended;

e terminate the Governor's emergency spending power by specifying the purpose
for which appropriated General Fund moneys and allocated lottery funds may be
used,

e authorize the use of revenues from taxes on motor fuel, excess income tax
revenues, and lottery funds for purposes other than those established in the state
constitution; or

e notwithstanding constitutional limits on state finance, lend the credit of the state
or create debts or liabilities in an amount the Legislative Assembly considers
necessary to provide an adequate response to the catastrophic disaster.
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Figure 1: Article X-A, Catastrophic Disasters
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Source: Legislative Policy and Research Office (LPRO)
Data: Oregon Constitution Article X-A

ORS chapter 131, Emergency Period?
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ORS chapter 131 allows the Governor, after consultation with a public official who has
jurisdiction over any public property and police, to proclaim an emergency period during
which the public official may exclude any persons from the public property identified in
the proclamation who the official feels are contributing to or aggravating the danger that

the Governor has proclaimed to exist.

Declaration

An emergency period is declared by proclamation of the Governor after consultation
with the relevant public official and police and with the finding there exists on any public

3 ORS 131.705-131.735 (2021).
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property a clear and present danger of injury to persons, damage to property, or denial
of or substantial interference with ingress or egress from the property. The proclamation
must describe the public property affected by the proclamation. The Governor must
proclaim the end of the emergency period when the Governor finds the danger has
ended.

Powers

The only emergency powers authorized during a declared emergency period are related
to exclusion of persons from public property by a public official with jurisdiction over that
property. Neither the Governor nor the Legislative Assembly are granted emergency
powers during a proclaimed emergency period.

Limitations

The proclamation of an emergency period must contain certain items, must be
publicized by the Governor, and is in effect until the Governor finds the danger has
ended and proclaims the end of the emergency period.

Legislative Oversight
The text of ORS 131.705-131.735 makes no mention of the Legislative Assembly.

Figure 2: ORS chapter 131, Emergency Period
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Source: Legislative Policy and Research Office (LPRO)
Data: ORS 131.705-131.735 (2021).
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ORS chapter 401, State of Emergency*

ORS chapter 401 allows the Governor by proclamation to declare a state of emergency
at the request of a county governing body or after determining that an emergency has
occurred or is imminent. The statute grants the Governor broad authority to declare and
respond to an emergency and allows the Legislative Assembly to terminate a state of
emergency by passage of a joint resolution.

Declaration

The Governor by proclamation may declare a state of emergency at the request of a
county governing body or after determining that an emergency has occurred or is
imminent. The declaration must specify the geographical area covered by the
proclamation, which may be no larger than necessary to effectively respond to the
emergency.

Powers

During a declared state of emergency, the Governor is granted “complete authority over
all executive agencies of the state government and the right to exercise, within the area
designated by the proclamation, all police powers vested in the state by the Oregon
Constitution.”™ The Governor may:

e assume complete control of all emergency operations, police and law
enforcement activities, and roads and highways in the designated emergency
area,;

e direct any agencies in state government to utilize and employ state personnel,
equipment, and facilities for emergency response, including the removal of
disaster debris or wreckage;

e suspend provisions of any order or rule of any state agency when strict
compliance would in any way prevent, hinder, or delay mitigation of the effects of
the emergency;

e designate persons to coordinate the work of public and private relief agencies
operating in the designated emergency area and exclude any person or agency
refusing to cooperate;

4 ORS 401.165-401.236 (2021).
5 ORS 401.168(1) (2021).
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e acquire or assist local government in acquiring temporary housing units for
disaster victims with the concurrence of either the Joint Committee on Ways and
Means or the Emergency Board;®

e waive the mandatory one-week waiting period for unemployment benefits for
residents of the designated emergency area;

e manage the distribution of food, feed, fuel, clothing, and other commodities,
materials, goods, and services, and the use, conservation, salvage, and waste of
materials, services, and facilities;

e apply for, receive, and distribute federal financial assistance; and

e implement any action authorized during a declared public health emergency
under ORS chapter 433.

The Governor is granted rulemaking authority to carry out the purposes of ORS chapter
401. Rules and orders issued under the Governor’s emergency authorities have the full
force and effect of law during and after the state of emergency. The Governor’s
emergency authorities “may be exercised with respect to the entire territory over which
the Governor has jurisdiction, or to any specified part thereof.””

Limitations

Emergency powers continue until the state of emergency is terminated by proclamation
of the Governor or by joint resolution of the Legislative Assembly. The owner of real
property taken under the Governor's emergency powers is entitled to reasonable
compensation from the state. No unit of government may seize a lawfully possessed
firearm during a state of emergency. The power to provide temporary emergency
housing may continue beyond the termination of the state of emergency.

The Governor must terminate the state of emergency by proclamation either when the
emergency no longer exists or when the threat of an emergency has passed. The
Legislative Assembly may terminate a state of emergency at any time by passage of a
joint resolution. A state of emergency is not limited to a specific number of days and
continues until terminated by either the Governor or the Legislative Assembly.®

Legislative Oversight

The Legislative Assembly may at any time enact a joint resolution terminating a state of
emergency declared by the Governor. Concurrence of the Joint Committee on Ways

6 The Emergency Board operates during the interim when the Legislative Assembly is not in session to allocate
emergency funds, increase expenditure limitations, authorize transfers, receive reports, and approve submissions of
federal grant applications.

7 ORS 401.192(2) (2021).
8 Elkhorn Baptist Church v. Brown, 466 P.3d 30, 36 (2020).
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and Means or the Emergency Board is required before the Governor may obtain or
assist local government in obtaining temporary housing units for disaster victims.

Figure 3: ORS chapter 401, State of Emergency

Declaring a State of Terminating a State of
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proclamation at the all executive agencies of a state of emergency by

request of a county the state government proclamation either
governing body or after «the right to exercise, when the emergency no
Governor determines within the area longer exists or when the
that an emergency has designated by the threat of an emergency
occurred or is imminent proclamation, all police has passed
powers vested in the *Option 2: Legislative
state by the Oregon +Legislative Assembly
Constitution may terminate a state of

emergency at any time
by passage of a joint
resolution

Source: Legislative Policy and Research Office (LPRO)
Data: ORS 401.165-401.236 (2021)

ORS chapter 433, Public Health Emergency®

ORS chapter 433 allows the Governor to declare a state of public health emergency
when bioterrorism, contagion, epidemic, natural disaster, or a chemical or nuclear
accident or attack poses a high probability of death, long-term disability, or exposure to
an infectious or toxic agent. The Governor and certain public health officials are granted
emergency powers during a declared public health emergency. The proclamation of a
state of public health emergency may last no more than 14 days and may be extended
once for an additional 14-day period unilaterally by the Governor.

Declaration

The Governor’s declaration of public health emergency must specify (1) the nature of
the public health emergency; (2) the political subdivision or geographic area subject to
the declaration; (3) the conditions that brought about the public health emergency; and
(4) the duration of the public health emergency, if less than 14 days. The declaration of

9 ORS 433.441-433.466 (2021).

m LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE Page |8



https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors401.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors433.html

a public health emergency may last no more than 14 days and may be extended for an
additional 14-day period by the express action of the Governor.

Powers
During a public health emergency, the Governor may:

e close, order the evacuation of, or the decontamination of any facility that may
endanger the public health;

e regulate or restrict the use, sale, or distribution of food, fuel, medical supplies,
medicines, or other goods and services;

e prescribe routes, destinations, and modes of transportation for the evacuation of
individuals or the provision of emergency services;

e control movement within and the occupancy of premises in any public area
subject to or threatened by a public health emergency;

e authorize licensed pharmacists to administer vaccines to persons who are three
years of age or older;

e seek assistance under the Emergency Management Assistance Compact;° and

e take any other action that may be necessary for the management of resources,
or to protect the public during a public health emergency.

Other duties and authorities are established for the Public Health Director during a
public health emergency.!! The text of ORS 433.441-433.466 makes no mention of the
Legislative Assembly.

Limitations

The declaration of a public health emergency may last no more than 14 days and may
be extended for an additional 14-day period by the express action of the Governor. The
text does not expressly consider whether or not a new emergency can be declared after
the expiration of the 28-day public health emergency.

Legislative Oversight
The text of ORS 433.441-433.466 makes no mention of the Legislative Assembly.

10 The Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC) is a national interstate mutual aid agreement ratified by
Congress and enacted in each U.S. state, territory, and the District of Columbia that enables members to share
resources during times of disaster.

11 ORS 431.035 (2021) mandates “The Director of the Oregon Health Authority shall appoint a Public Health Director
to perform the duties and exercise authority over public health emergency matters in the state and other duties as
assigned by the director. The director may appoint the same person to serve as both the Public Health Director and
the Public Health Officer appointed under ORS 431.045.”

M LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE Page |9



https://www.emacweb.org/
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors431.html

Figure 4: ORS chapter 433, Public Health Emergency
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Source: Legislative Policy and Research Office (LPRO)
Data: ORS 433.441-433.466 (2021)

Recent Judicial Consideration

In a 2020 decision stemming from a challenge to Executive Order 2020-03 declaring an
emergency due to the Coronavirus outbreak in Oregon, the Supreme Court of Oregon
found:'?

e a state of emergency declared under ORS chapter 401 is not limited to a specific
number of days and continues until terminated by either the Governor or the
Legislative Assembly;

e when faced with a public health emergency, the Governor may declare a state of
emergency under ORS chapter 401 or a public health emergency under ORS
chapter 433; and

e Article X-A has no bearing on the Governor’s authority to exercise emergency
powers under ORS chapter 401.

12 Elkhorn Baptist Church v. Brown, 466 P.3d at 36, 45, 51.
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Selected Emergency Authorities in Oregon and Neighboring States

This section summarizes executive emergency authorities in California, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington with an
emphasis on the legislative roles and responsibilities during a declared emergency (Table 1). As noted, given the possibility that
emergency authorities are provided through numerous disparate statutes within a given state, Table 1 should be considered a
representative selection rather than a comprehensive description of all emergency authorities in each state.

Table 1. Summary of Selected Executive Emergency Authorities in California, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington?

Legislative Roles and

Executive Emergency

Declaration Duration/Termination D
Powers Responsibilities
Governor: The Governor Under either a declared State of war emergency: May by concurrent
may declare by state of war emergency or Automatically expires within  resolution terminate a
proclamation a "state of war  state of emergency, the 30 days of proclamation declared state of war
emergency” when the state  Governor has complete unless the Governor emergency or state of
or nation is attacked or an authority over state convenes a special session  emergency.
attack is imminent or a government and the rightto  of the Legislature, or if the
"state of emergency" for exercise, within the area or  Legislature is already in
. . conditions of disaster or regions designated, all session.
California . . . . ) :
extreme peril such as fire, police power vested in the Governor: May terminate a
flood, storm, epidemic, or state. state of war emergency or
drought. state of emergency by
Legislative Assembly: No proclamation.
authority to declare an Legislature: May terminate
emergency. a state of war emergency or

state of emergency by
concurrent resolution.

LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE Page |11




Idaho

Declaration

Governor: May declare by
proclamation a "state of
extreme emergency" due to
threat of enemy attack,
natural disaster, violent
insurrection, or other
conditions likely to
overwhelm control of local
government. May declare by
executive order or
proclamation a "state of
disaster emergency" due to
threat of natural disaster,
civil unrest, hostile military
action, or terrorism.

Executive Emergency
Powers

State of extreme
emergency: The Governor
has complete authority over
state government and the
right to exercise within the
area or regions designated
all police power vested in
the state. Emergency
powers must be limited by
written rules and orders
"narrowly focused without
placing unnecessary
restrictions on the ability for
a person...to work, provide
for their families, or
otherwise contribute to the
economy of the state of
Idaho."

State of disaster
emergency: The Governor
may issue executive orders
and proclamations, which
have the force and effect of
law. Orders and
proclamations "must be
narrowly tailored to
effectively protect life or
property without placing
unnecessary restrictions
on...a person...to work,
provide for their families, or
otherwise contribute to the
economy of the state of
Idaho.”

Duration/Termination

State of extreme
emergency: Must terminate
by either the expiration of
the period for which it was
proclaimed or the need for
the emergency has ceased.
Emergency executive
powers under a state of
extreme emergency
declared for 12 or more
counties automatically
expire on the 90th day
unless the Legislature is in
regular session or the
Governor convenes the
Legislature for the purpose
of voting on whether to
revoke any and all
emergency executive
powers.

State of disaster
emergency: Continues until
terminated by either the
Governor or the Legislature.
Governor: May terminate a
state of disaster emergency
by executive order or
proclamation.

Legislature: May terminate
a state of disaster
emergency by concurrent
resolution at any time.
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Legislative Roles and
Responsibilities

May by concurrent
resolution terminate a
declared state of disaster
emergency at any time.
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Nevada

Declaration

Governor: May declare by
proclamation a state of
emergency or declaration of
disaster with the finding that
enemy attack or natural,
technological, or man-made
emergency or disaster
threatens the welfare of the
inhabitants of the state. May
declare by executive order
that a public health
emergency or other health
event exists which requires
coordinated response.
Legislature: May declare by
resolution a state of
emergency or declaration of
disaster with the finding that
enemy attack or natural,
technological, or man-made
emergency or disaster
threatens the welfare of the
inhabitants of the state.

LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE

Executive Emergency
Powers

State of emergency or
declaration of disaster:
The Governor is granted
broad authority over
emergency response in the
state including the power to
compel evacuation, remove
a public officer for failing to
obey an order, and to
authorize providers of
emergency medical services
and providers of mental
health services licensed in
other states to practice in
the state as necessary to
assist in responding to the
emergency or disaster.
Public health emergency
or health event: The
Governor designates an
emergency team with
powers and duties related to
the public health emergency
or health event.

Legislative Roles and

Duration/Termination Responsibilities

State of emergency or
declaration of disaster:
Terminates upon
proclamation of the
Governor or resolution of the
Legislature.

Public health emergency
or health event: Terminates
after the estimated duration
stated in the executive order
declaring the emergency or
event or before that time
upon declaration of the
Governor that the
emergency or event no
longer poses an immediate
threat to the health and
safety of the public. The
Governor may extend the
emergency or event beyond
the estimated duration but
must provide written notice
to the Legislature.

May declare or terminate by
resolution a state of
emergency or declaration of
disaster.
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Oregon

Declaration

Governor: May declare: a
“catastrophic disaster” due
to natural or human-caused
event with “extraordinary”
and “severe” effects; by
proclamation an “emergency
period” due to clear and
present danger on public
property; by proclamation a
“state of emergency” at the
request of a county or after
determining an emergency
is imminent; and a “state of
public health emergency”
due to threat of bioterrorism,
contagion, epidemic, natural
disaster, or a chemical or
nuclear accident or attack.

Executive Emergency
Powers

Catastrophic disaster: The
Governor is granted broad
authority to respond to the
disaster including authority
to reallocate certain funds.
Emergency period: Power
to exclude individuals from
public property is provided
to another public official.
State of emergency: The
Governor is granted
complete authority over all
executive agencies of the
state government and the
right to exercise, within the
area designated by the
proclamation, all police
powers vested in the state.
Public health emergency:
The Governor is granted
emergency response
powers including
evacuation, delivery of
emergency services, and
regulation of goods and
services, as well as
complete authority over all
executive agencies of the
state government and the
right to exercise, within the
area designated by the
proclamation, all police
powers vested in the state.

Duration/Termination

Catastrophic disaster:
Emergency powers expire
after 30 days unless
extended by a measure
approved by a three-fifths
majority of each chamber of
the Legislative Assembly.
Emergency period:
Terminated by proclamation
of the Governor.

State of emergency:
Terminated by proclamation
of the Governor or passage
of a joint resolution by the
Legislative Assembly.
Public health emergency:
May not extend more than
28 days.
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Legislative Roles and
Responsibilities

Catastrophic disaster: The
Legislative Assembly must
be convened within 30 days
of declaration. During a
declared disaster, the
Legislative Assembly may:
override executive disaster
response spending;
authorize additional
spending and borrowing;
and, in coordination with the
Governor, enact a measure
either terminating or
extending emergency
powers past the 30-day
expiration.

Emergency period: None.
State of emergency: The
Legislative Assembly may
by joint resolution terminate
a state of emergency at any
time. Via concurrence of
either the Joint Committee
on Ways and Means or the
Emergency Board, the
Legislative Assembly may
approve the Governor’s plan
for acquiring temporary
housing units for disaster
victims.

Public health emergency:
None.
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Declaration

Executive Emergency
Powers

Duration/Termination

Legislative Roles and

Governor: May declare by
proclamation a “state of
emergency” after finding
public disorder, disaster,
energy emergency, or riot
exists in the state which
affects life, health, property,
or the public peace.

Washington

Source: Legislative Policy and Research Office

During a declared state of
emergency and in the area
described by the
proclamation, the Governor
is granted broad authority to
waive or suspend state
statutory and regulatory
obligations and may issue
orders prohibiting activity as
the Governor reasonably
believes is necessary to
preserve and maintain life,
health, property, or the
public peace.

A state of emergency is
terminated upon
proclamation of the
Governor. Emergency
executive actions waiving or
suspending state statutory
and regulatory obligations
may continue for no longer
than 30 days unless
extended by the Legislature
through concurrent
resolution if the Legislature
is in session or in writing by
the leadership of the Senate
and House of
Representatives until the
Legislature can approve the
waiver or suspension by
concurrent resolution.

Responsibilities

Must approve extension
past 30 days of emergency
executive actions waiving or
suspending state statutory
or regulatory obligations.

Data: Cal. Gov. Code title 2 chapter 7, Idaho Code title 46 chapters 6 and 10, Nev. Rev. Stat. chapters 414 and 439, Oregon Constitution Article X-A, ORS chapters 131, 401, and 433 (2021),

Wash. Rev. Code chapter 43.06.

Notes: a. Given the possibility that emergency authorities are provided through numerous disparate statutes within a given state, this table should be considered a representative selection
rather than a comprehensive description of all emergency authorities in each state.
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