## SB 825 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

### Senate Committee On Finance and Revenue

**Prepared By:** Kyle Easton, Economist

Meeting Dates: 2/27

# WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Modifies provisions governing first-time home buyer savings accounts. Requires taxpayers claiming first-time home buyer savings account subtraction or exemption to submit with tax return specified information and maintain such information for at least four years. Requires Department of Revenue to prescribe forms for claiming subtraction and exemption. Limits Department of Revenue rulemaking authority of financial institutions in regards to first-time home buyer savings accounts. Eliminates requirement of financial institutions to provide account certificate beginning with 2024 calendar year. Eliminates requirement of financial institutions to designate accounts as first-time home buyer savings account. Applies to all first-time home buyer savings accounts whenever created. Takes effect on 91st day following adjournment sine die.

#### **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

#### **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

No amendment.

#### **BACKGROUND:**

In 2018, Oregon created a personal income tax subtraction available to first-time homebuyers utilizing a first-time homebuyer savings account. Taxpayers may annually subtract from taxable income cash contributed to a first-time homebuyer savings account along with earnings on deposits in the account, though earnings are subject to taxation when withdrawn. The subtraction is limited annually to \$5,000 for individually filing taxpayers (single) and \$10,000 for joint filers. First-time homebuyer is defined as an Oregon resident who has not owned or purchased a single-family residence within three years of purchasing the single-family residence to which the first-time homebuyers savings account funds were used. The subtraction may be claimed each year for up to ten years and the combined principal and earnings that may be subtracted is limited to \$50,000. For the 2021 tax year, the respective annual subtraction limits are phased out beginning at \$104,000 in adjusted gross income (AGI) for single filers and \$149,000 for joint filers (phase outs are indexed to inflation). Account withdrawals must be used for home purchase within ten years of account opening and any amounts withdrawn for an unqualified purpose must be added back to income at time of withdrawal and are subject to a five percent penalty.

In 2022, nearly 1,500 taxpayers claimed the first-time homebuyer savings account income tax subtraction. The average subtraction per taxpayer was about \$5,500 equating to an average tax savings of about \$450 per taxpayer. The overall loss in General Fund revenue from the subtraction was about \$650,000 for tax year 2020.