ALCOHOL HOME DELIVERY PROTECTING CONSUMERS

Senate Committee on Labor and Business



February 2, 2023



US MARKET SHIFT TO DELIVERY NATIONAL PERSPECTIVE

Alcohol Delivery is Trending National

- 80% growth in online alcohol sales in the US in 2020
- Projected to reach \$40 billion by 2026
- 44% of shoppers bought alcohol online in 2020 (compared to 19% in 2019)
- 7% of total to go alcohol sales by 2024
- \$6.1 billion (~4% of all alcohol) in ecommerce sales in 2021





DELIVERY IN OREGON WHO CAN DELIVER?

OLCC Licensees Delivery Status

- Bars & Restaurants: Wine, cider and malt beverages
- OR Distilleries may deliver distilled liquor they manufacture
- Full-On-Premises Sales licensees: Cocktails 2021 (SB 317)

Other Companies involved in Delivery

- For-Hire Carriers
 - Businesses approved by the OLCC to deliver alcoholic beverages on behalf of Oregon licensees.
- Direct Shipper Permittees
 - Businesses permitted by the OLCC ship beer, wine or cider.
- E-Commerce Sales
 - Businesses involved with the promotion, marketing, and facilitation of sales of alcoholic beverages.



DELIVERY IN OREGON THE CURRENT LANDSCAPE

Oregon has <u>limited authority</u> over delivery companies

- XDelivery driver training is not required
- XDelivery companies are not licensed
- XOLCC has limited authority to conduct minor decoy operations on delivery
- XOLCC cannot fine third party delivery companies in violation



EYES ON OREGON STUDY THIRD PARTY DELIVERY



Purpose

• To assess alcohol delivery by third party carriers in Oregon

Study Questions

- Do unlicensed third parties have safe alcohol delivery policies that keep alcohol out of the hands of minors?
- Does the OLCC have the resources/authority to address identified needs?

Study Partners

 OHA Public Health; Multnomah & Washington County Departments of Health & Human Services; Big Village Coalition; University of Oregon – Housing Advisory Team; Oregon Alcohol & Drug Policy Comm.; Oregon State Police; McMenamin's Pubs & Breweries



Eyes On Oregon: An Observational Study of Home Alcohol Delivery Compliance Summary Report

October 25, 2022

Contents	
Executive Sun	unary
Eyes On Oreg	on: Report of Findings
Purpose	
Methods	
Results	
Conclusion	

EYES ON OREGON STUDY COMPLIANCE OUTCOMES

67% Compliant

37% Non- Compliant

OLCC's <u>point in time study</u> found that <u>ID checking compliance</u> at the door <u>does not meet OLCC's goal of 90% compliance</u>



DELIVERY REGULATIONS STATE BY STATE COMPARISON

Third Party Delivery Regulations	Oregon Today	Washington	California	Virginia	Mississippi	Alabama
Are third-party delivery companies (TPD) licensed/permitted?	x	x	x			
Are individual third-party delivery drivers required to be licensed/permitted?	×	x	x	x	x	x
Required training for TPD drivers?	X	X	X			
State training or approved in-house training?	×	×	x			
Are TPD companies liable?	x	X	x			
Are TPD drivers liable for unlawful delivery?						
Required ID Check for TPD delivery			X			
TPD labeling requirement?						
TPD recordkeeping requirement?			X			



ALCOHOL DELIVERY REGULATION LEGISLATION

Alcohol delivery regulation in Oregon has flaws

Aligning with other states

Adopt best practices from national leaders in the regulation of home delivery

Collaboration Framework

- OLCC has worked closely with industry partners and public health stakeholders
- Prevent alcohol delivery to minors and intoxicated persons
- Continue to enable Oregon's industry to safely thrive

2023 Delivery Legislative Fixes

- Permits for third-party delivery companies
- Required delivery driver training approved by OLCC
- Explicit authority to conduct Minor Decoy Operations on alcohol deliveries
- Rulemaking authority for necessary adjustments to regulation



OLCCS MISSION

Support businesses, public safety, and community livability through education and the enforcement of liquor and marijuana laws.

Questions?

