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AN INTRODUCTION TO OREGON'S
UNCLAIMED PROPERTY PROGRAM

WHAT IS UNCLAIMED PROPERTY?

Unclaimed property is any asset being held by a business, nonprofit,
or government entity for which the owner cannot be found. When
there is no owner-generated activity, property must be reported and
remitted to Treasury, generally within 1 to 3 years.

“4 Intangible: uncashed checks, bank accounts, securities, refunds
and overpayments, etc.

Tangible: safety deposit box contents (banks, hospitals, law
offices, etc.) and military medals and insignia

HOW IT WORKS
Holders (an entity that is holding unclaimed funds on behalf of
others) report annually by November 1

People can search and file a claim 24 hours a day at
unclaimed.oregon.gov

Staff verify connection to funds and pay claims

Some claims are auto-approved through a system-run data match
PROGRAM GOALS

Consumer protection: the funds belong to owners forever
Centralized place to search for assets and claim them

Public benefit: funds are held in trust and transferred to the
Common School Fund every year. Treasury invests the funds, and
interest earnings are distributed to Oregon’s school districts at the
direction of the Land Board.

PROGRAM SCOPE

$991M+ 7M+ 120
IN ASSETS PROPERTIES PROPERTY TYPES

4 We work with more than 41,000 holders (businesses, non-
profits, and government agencies).

4 Oregon ranks 21st nationally on overall property volume.

4 We receive more than 1,000 safety deposit boxes every year.

SCOPE AT A GLANCE

“ 1in 7 people have unclaimed
property

4 $500M returned over the last 25
years

4 Governed by ORS Chapter 98:
Uniform Disposition of Unclaimed
Property Act

PROGRAM HISTORY

4 1957: Oregon adopts the Abandoned
Property Act and establishes the
Unclaimed Property Program at the
Oregon Department of State Lands

2021: Trust Property Division —
including Unclaimed Property and
Escheated Estates programs -
transfers to Treasury

PROGRAM TRANSFER

Status on July 1, 2021:
4 16,000 outstanding claims
4 13-month wait time

Status on December 31, 2022:
4 5,000 outstanding claims
4 5.5-month wait time

Progress since program transfer to

Treasury:

4 $65M+ returned to owners

4 $192M+ received from holders

4 $64M+ added to Common School
Fund

2023 CHECKS WITHOUT CLAIMS

A proactive approach to return
unclaimed property funds using data
matches to verify owner identify and
address.

4 3 waves of checks (February, April,
June)

“ No need for a claim

4 Returns $10M to owners

4 25,000 people will receive funds

Wave 1 publicity generated 6,200
system-approved claims for $1.2M in

the first half of January, 10 times the

normal amount.
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MAP OF UNCLAIMED PROPERTY
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https://unclaimed.oregon.gov/app/map-of-available-property

Trust Property on Treasury's Social Media

?

Oregon St Treasury @OregonTreasury - Dec 15, 2022

Text translation is now avallable across our Unclaimed Property Program
website! We're excited to offer individuals the ability to search for, and
claim, their unclaimed property in Oregon's 10 most popular languages.
Check it out here: b FzNrpl
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$499,682,134

Oregon St Treasury @0regonTreasury - Dec 21, 2022
$500 million and counting!

We're celebrating Oregon's Unclaimed Property Program surpassing $500
million in returned funds to individuals! This milestone is no small feat and
reflects the program's commitment to reconnecting more Oregonians with
their unclaimed funds.

CONGRATULATIONS
TO OREGON'S
UNCLAIMED PROPERTY PROGRAM
ON SURPASSING

S$500 MILLION

IN RETURNED FUNDS!
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Oregon St Treasury @0regonTreasury - Dec 21, 2022

Lets keep this number growing! To see if you have any unclaimed funds in
Oregon, head over to unc d.oregon.gov and complete your search in
just minutes!
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Oregon St Treasury @OregonTreasury - Jan 3
No claim? No problem!

Treasury is preparing to proactively return over $10 million in unclaimed
funds to individuals in 2023 as part of the Checks Without Claims initiative.
Read today’s announcement from @Ti rerRead here: bit.ly/2023CwoC
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Oregon St Treasury @OregonTreasury - Jan 3

Checks Without Claims will reconnect thousands of individuals, from 48
states, with their unclaimed funds over the course of 3 phases. Receipiants
do not need to take any action, just keep an eye out for notifications from
Treasury via mail! Learn more: bi NOCwebpage
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Common School Fund

Benefits Oregon Schools

$64.2 Million Earmarked for
State’s 197 K-12 Districts in 2022

Since Oregon became a state in 1859, a little-known fund, the Common School Fund,
has provided hundreds of millions of dollars for Oregon public schools.

Common School Fund distributions are considered local revenue in the state funding
formula, and the dollars are quite significant. In a district such as Corvallis, their 2021
share of $1.09 million supports the equivalent of 12 fulltime teaching
positions; in Bend-LaPine 24; and in Medford 17.

The 2022 distribution is approximately $116 per student.

State Land Board Oversees Common School Fund

When Congress admitted Oregon to the Union in 1859 it granted sections 16 and 36 of
every township for the use of schools. Nearly 3.4 million acres—roughly the size of
Connecticut—came under state ownership.

Our “land-rich, cash-poor” state quickly sold many school lands, as state offials
felt private ownership of these lands would yield more for schools through property
taxes and other economic benefits. In the late 1800s, land swindlers also cheated
Oregon out of thousands of acres. As a result, less than a fourth of Oregon’s
original acreage — about 750,000 acres —remains in state ownership.

2022 Common School Fund Distributions

A sampling of districts and the impact of their distributions

School District Distribution Equal to*
Ashland $282,628 3 full-time teachers
Bend-LaPine $2,107,027 24

Coos Bay $291,657 3

Corvallis $1,092,379 12

Hood River $402,329 4

Medford $1,543,840 17

Ontario $259,015 2

Pendleton $326,897 3

Portland $5,693,405 65
Salem-Keizer $4,614,782 53

*Based on the 2017 annual statewide average of $87,025 per teacher for salary and benefits;
figures are rounded

The State Treasurer and
Oregon Investment Council
invest the Common School
Fund, which earned an
average 13.53 percent
rate of return over the
three-year period ending in
2021. The fund — both the
principal and the interest
— is invested in a mix of
assets, including stocks,
bonds, private equity, and
real estate.

The value of the fund
fluctuates with changing
market conditions, and is
now valued at $2.2 billion.

Fund distributions are sent
to school districts twice

a year. Historically, about
4 percent of the fund

has been distributed to
school districts. The 2022
distribution is 3.5 percent.




“Protecting and enhancing the Common School Fund is arguably the most important
thing we do as a state agency,” says Vicki Walker, director of the Department of State
Lands, the administrative arm of the Land Board. “Our goal is to have every education
advocate understand its role in funding K-12 schools.”

Inputs into the fund include revenues from state-owned trust lands, and from estates
that transfer to the state from people who die without a will and known heirs. All
unclaimed money the state receives is held in the Common School Fund until the
rightful owner is located.

Goal is to grow the fund significantly over time

As the Common School Fund grows, so do
distributions to Oregon school districts.
Since 2000, distributions have ranged
from a low of $13 million in 2004 to a
high of $70 million in 2017.

The Department of State Lands is
strategically managing the fund’s real
estate assets to increase revenues to
schools. Divesting of non-producing
lands, investing in high-quality lands, and
ensuring that state land leases reflect
market values are among the agency’s
strategies.

“Every dollar helps Oregon schools,”
Walker says. “Through balancing revenue
enhancement and resource protection,
our goal is to provide sustainable funding
for schools forever.”

2/22

Common School Fund
distributions are sent
to school districts twice
a year. By law, fund
distributions cannot
benefit current students
at the disadvantage of
future students, or
vice-versa.

The Land Board’s

Real Estate Asset
Management Plan calls
for a “clear commitment
to creating a consistent
stream of revenue

to increase annual
distributions to schools.”
It also recognizes the
need to strategically
dispose of selected
land assets and acquire
assets with high
performance potential.

Oregon Department
of State Lands

775 Summer St. NE
Suite 100
Salem, OR 97301-1279

(503) 986-5200
www.oregon.gov/DSL
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Tips to Keep Track of Your
Accounts

 Keep your accounts active by contacting your bank and
other businesses that hold your assets at least once every
two years.

« Maintain accurate and current records of all checking,
savings, and retirement accounts, insurance policies,
certificates of deposit, safe deposit boxes, stocks, and
bonds.

« Inform family members of the location of accounts and
records.

« Update your address with current or recent employers,
financial institutions, investment managers, and regular
merchants whenever you move.

Complying with Oregon'’s
Unclaimed Property Law

If you own a business or think your organization
(including public agencies and nonprofits) might
have unclaimed property to report:

» Go to unclaimed.oregon.gov
« Click on Holder Reporting

« Email with questions: holder@ost.state.or.us

Oregon State Treasury

Oregon’s Unclaimed Property Program
503-566-9445 * claims@ost.state.or.us
unclaimed.oregon.gov
oregon.gov/treasury
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UNCLAIMED PROPERTY

Do we have
your money?

Oregon holds and returns millions of dollars
in unclaimed funds:
Insurance Proceeds « Bank Accounts
Utility Deposits « Stock Dividends
Safe Deposit Box Contents « Tax Refunds
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STATE
TREASURY




OREGON

STATE
TREASURY

OREGON'S UNCLAIMED PROPERTY PROGRAM

Do we have your money?

Millions of people have lost funds waiting to be claimed
from Oregon’s Unclaimed Property Program. Oregon State
Treasury holds more than $800 million in unclaimed
funds and receives about $80 million more every year
from financial institutions and businesses. About half of
the funds received annually are claimed.

Many people are unaware funds are available for them
to claim.

Claiming funds is as simple as checking Oregon’s
unclaimed property website for funds that belong to you
and then filing a claim.

What Is Unclaimed Property?

Unclaimed property can be any financial asset that has not
been claimed by the owner or that has not had any owner-
generated activity for a specific time period (one to three
years for most items). Examples include:

« uncashed checks » investment accounts

« forgotten bank accounts « payroll checks

« security deposits « refunds
 tax refunds « mutual funds
« credit balances and securities

Unclaimed property is not land or other real estate.

Search for Your Unclaimed Money
at unclaimed.oregon.gov

It’s easy and free to search for your name and file a

claim online. Simple claims of less than $2,500 may be
automatically approved by our system as soon as they’re
submitted. Complex claims — for example, claims that
involve large sums of money, stock transfers, or deceased
original owners — require detailed review and may take
several months for a response. To protect people’s privacy
and discourage fraudulent claims, only the dollar ranges of
claims are shown.

Go to unclaimed.oregon.gov to start your unclaimed
property search. If you find property for family or
friends, please send them the website link so they can
claim their money.

Track Your Claim

The owner listing and claim status are updated daily.
Your claim is automatically recorded in the database
when you file online. Action will be taken once Oregon
State Treasury receives your completed claim form and
supporting documentation.

Why Do Unclaimed Funds
Go to the State?

Oregon State Treasury administers Oregon’s unclaimed
property program and works to reunite as many people
as possible with their money.

Oregon’s unclaimed property laws, created in 1957,
protect consumers and establish a central registry

of unclaimed funds. Organizations and businesses
throughout the United States are required to report
unclaimed property to Oregon based on the owner’s last
known address. If the amount is $100 or more, they
must make a good faith effort to contact you, the owner,
before reporting. Any company or organization that
writes checks, drafts, or warrants has the potential to
have unclaimed property to report.

Typically, unclaimed property occurs when:

« People lose or forget to cash a check, or overpay a final
bill.

» A person’s address changes and mail forwarding ends.

« An account holder dies, and heirs are unaware of
the account.

What Does Oregon State
Treasury Do with the Funds?

Unclaimed funds are held in trust forever in the Common
School Fund until claimed by rightful owners. The money
is not spent by the state. Investment earnings from the
fund are sent twice a year to Oregon’s 197 K-12 public
school districts. In the last five years, schools received
almost $300 million from the Common School Fund.




TAKE ONE MORE STEP

Help Your Employees

Find Their Unclaimed Money

Oregon may be holding unclaimed property for
someone in your organization. It’s easy for anyone
to search our online unclaimed property database
and file a claim, and there is no time limit to recover

unclaimed property. Go to www.unclaimed.
oregon.gov to start an unclaimed property search.

Oregon State Treasury
Oregon’s Unclaimed
Property Program

Phone: 503-986-5290 « Fax: 503-364-3606
Email: holder@ost.state.or.us
www.unclaimed.oregon.gov

www.oregon.gov/treasury

Reporting questions, voluntary disclosure:
holder@ost.state.or.us

Reporting to other states:
www.unclaimed.org
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Complying with
Oregon's Unclaimed

Property Law

A step-by-step guide
for businesses, public agencies,
and organizations

OREGON
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In Oregon, all organizations are required to report
unclaimed funds to Oregon State Treasury. If

your business holds unclaimed financial assets for
Oregonians and you haven’t been able to contact the

owner, it’s your job to report this unclaimed property.

Oregon’s unclaimed property laws, created in 1957,
protect consumers through a central registry of
unclaimed funds. Oregon State Treasury administers
Oregon’s unclaimed property program and works to
reunite as many people as possible with their money.

Unclaimed property is any amount of money that
has not been returned to an individual or entity. It
becomes unclaimed once a business (aka the holder)
cannot contact the owner for a specified time period.

There are four simple steps to track and report
unclaimed funds.

STEP 1

Check Your Records for
Unclaimed Property

Review outstanding checks, customer credits, and
similar liabilities. Many businesses are surprised to
find they have unclaimed property once they check.
Report any unclaimed property you hold, even if it
has been written off or the owner’s legal right to the
property is presumed to be expired.

Examples of unclaimed property include:

« Uncashed checks, including payroll checks
« Security deposits

« Unpaid wages and commissions

« Refunds or other deposits

Unclaimed property is not land/real estate, personal
items (like clothing), or lost and found items.

STEP 2

Contact Owners to Return
Their Property

Attempt to contact the owner of the unclaimed
property. If the amount is $100 or more, state law
requires that you make good faith to contact the
owner via phone, mail, or email before reporting.
Inform owners their funds will be sent to Oregon

State Treasury if they do not respond. You can begin
trying to contact an owner as soon as there is a lack

of account activity, but you must complete outreach
attempts at least 60 days before you file a report.

If you are unable to reach the owner in a specified time
period, you must include that information in your
annual report. The time within which businesses are
required to report unclaimed property varies from

one to 15 years, depending on the asset. For example,
utility deposits should be reported in one year, while
unclaimed payroll checks are reported in three years.
Read on for more details on holding periods.

STEP 3
File Your Report

All unclaimed property, no matter how small, must be
reported. Report and submit the unclaimed property
between October 1 and November 1 each year. If an
owner’s last known address was Oregon,

the unclaimed property should be reported to the
state of Oregon.

If Oregon is your state of incorporation, or you are a
non-corporate business headquartered in Oregon, you
must also report to the state amounts owed to:

» Unknown or unidentified owners
« Owners with foreign addresses
» Owners with unknown addresses



TIPS FOR MANAGING CUSTOMER ASSETS

Create and submit your report electronically,
following the National Association of Unclaimed
Property Administrators (NAUPA) format. You must
request an exemption if you are unable to report
electronically.

Helpful and free reporting tools include:

« https://unclaimed.oregon.gov
« hrspro.unclaimedproperty.com

STEP 4
Keep Updated Records

Maintain records and documents related to
unclaimed property reports and your efforts to

contact owners for three years after reporting.

FREQUENTLY ASKED

QUESTIONS

What If I've Never Filed
a Holder Report?

If you're unfamiliar with reporting unclaimed
property, one option is to go through our Voluntary
Disclosure Program. The program gives you time to
research and report unreported unclaimed property
without fear of penalties that might otherwise apply.
You can request to participate in the Voluntary
Disclosure Program at unclaimed.oregon.gov/
app/forms.

What If | Don't Comply?

Oregon State Treasury routinely performs
compliance audits. Companies that do not comply
with unclaimed property laws may be subject

to late-reporting interest and a civil penalty of

up to $50,000 for corporations and $1,000 for
individuals. It’s in your and your customers’ best
interest to comply.

What Happens to Property Once
It's Turned Over to the State?

We make an effort to reunite owners with their
funds, including through direct mail and media that
encourage Oregonians to search their names on our
registry.

While the property is waiting to be claimed, funds
earn interest in the Treasury-managed Common
School Fund. Investment earnings from the fund are
sent twice a year to Oregon’s 197 K-12 public school
districts. In the last five years, schools received
almost $300 million from the Common School
Fund.

How Much Money is Involved?

Oregon State Treasury holds more than $700 million
for claim by rightful owners. Each year the reported
amounts grow, so we encourage people to search our
owner database regularly.

Do | Have to Report Small Amounts,
Even 20 Cents?

Yes, all unclaimed property should be reported.
You may aggregate small items under $50 when
reporting, but we request you send the individual
information to Treasury as aggregating makes it
difficult to reunite owners with their property.

Manage Uncashed Checks

Set up procedures to review outstanding checks
more than six months old:

« Contact payees and encourage them to cash checks.
Your research might uncover accounting errors,
such as duplicate payments, or that a check was
issued in error.

« If your business has branch or satellite offices,
contact the unit manager to make sure any
uncashed payroll checks have been distributed to
employees.

Manage Credit Memos, Credit
Balances and Refunds

Set up procedures to review credit balances more
than six months old:

« Contact customers about their credit balance. Mail
a statement of account or make contact by phone,
mail, or email.

« Give customers the option of using the credit with
their next purchase or refund the amount.

Simplify Reporting Everything Else

Transfer any remaining unclaimed items to a liability
account. Set up the subsidiary ledger of the liability
account to include:

« Owner’s name, address, Social Security number or
tax identification number.

« Check date or last date of positive contact and
check amount.

Perform due diligence to find the owner if the value
is $100 or more. Consider contacting owners with
less than $100 when it is practical. Maintain proof
of your required due-diligence efforts. Submit your
report to Treasury in an electronic file through
https://unclaimed.oregon.gov/.

52,362 66,505
$ 499,746 $ 778,517

UNCLAIMED PROPERTY HOLDING PERIODS

Different categories of unclaimed property have different reporting timeframes. Holding periods are
based on fiscal years ending June 30, and all reports are due by November 1 annually.

ONE YEAR THREE YEARS +  Savings and checking

« Utility deposits « Unclaimed payroll checks accounts

«  Proceeds of dissolved (except public authorities) *  Mutual Funds
corporations (including « Credit memos or accounts SEVEN YEARS
employee benefits) receivable «  Money orders

TWO YEARS + Stocks and proceeds FIFTEEN YEARS

+  Tangible property in 0 Uner drisagealle ety « Traveler’s checks
safekeeping depositories « Unclaimed checks from

. Intangible property held by general disbursement
courts, public authorities, or accounts

L OREGON
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