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Program Comparison 
• Paid Leave Oregon 
• Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA)  
• Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) 
• Oregon Sick Leave 

Paid Leave Oregon and the Oregon Bureau of Labor & Industries created this chart as 
a general program comparison. It is not intended to provide legal or financial advice and 
does not cover all possible exceptions. Each program has different qualifications and 
factors that determine eligibility.  
Contact each agency directly to determine eligibility for their programs. 
 

 

 ELIGIBILITY 
 REQUIREMENTS 

Paid Leave 
Oregon 

OFLA FMLA Oregon  
Sick Leave 

 Covered Employers 

All employers 
except federal 

or tribal 
governments 

Employers 
with 25 or 

more 
employees 

Employers 
with 50 or 

more 
employees 

and all public 
employers 

 
All employees 
are eligible for 

protected 
unpaid time 

 Wages required to be 
 eligible for leave 

$1,000 in wages 
the previous 

year 
n/a n/a n/a 

 Required time worked for 
 employer before taking 
 leave and before job 
 protection applies 

No work time 
requirement for 

Paid Leave 
benefits, but 

must have 
worked 90 days 

to have job 
protection 

180 days 12 months 90 days 

 
 Required hours worked for 
 employer to be eligible for 
 leave 

n/a 

25 hrs/week  
in past 180 
days. Does 
not apply to 

parental 
leave 

1,250 hours  
in previous 12 

months 

1 sick time hour 
earned for 

every 30 hours 
worked 

 Geographic requirement 
 
 

n/a n/a 

Location  
with 50 

employees 
within 75 

miles 

n/a 

Eligibility requirement     
Not a requirement      

https://www.oregon.gov/boli/workers/pages/oregon-family-leave.aspx
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla
https://www.oregon.gov/boli/workers/Pages/sick-time.aspx
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 QUALIFYING  
 PURPOSES 

Paid Leave 
Oregon OFLA FMLA 

 
Oregon  

Sick Leave 

Family Leave     

  Birth, adoption or foster      
  placement 

Yes Yes Yes Yes 

  Family member's serious  
  health condition 
      (family member 
      definitions vary)  

Yes Yes Yes Yes 

Medical Leave     

  Individual’s own serious    
  health condition Yes Yes Yes Yes 

Safe Leave     
   
  Domestic violence,  
  sexual assault,  
  harassment or stalking Yes 

No 
 Serious health 
condition and 

reasonable safety 
accommodations 
under ORS 659A 

may include leave. 

No Yes 

Other Leave Types     
  Extended leave for a  
  pregnancy*  
    *In addition to leave for  
    serious health condition 

Yes Yes No No 

  Sick child leave No Yes No Yes 

  Military family leave No Yes Yes No 

  Bereavement leave No Yes No Yes 

   
 Public health emergency 

No 

Yes 
Active Public 

Health 
Emergency allows 
for sick child leave 

for school/child 
care closures 

No Yes 

Covered     
Not Covered     
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 LEAVE DURATION    
 AND BENEFIT  
 PAYMENTS 

 
Paid Leave 

Oregon OFLA FMLA Oregon  
Sick Leave 

 Leave duration  
 (most cases) 

12 weeks in a 
one-year 
period  

12 weeks in a 
one-year 
period  

12 weeks in a 
one-year 
period  

40 hours in a 
one-year period  

  
Maximum leave duration 
 (for certain combinations 
 of leave types)  

14 weeks in a 
one-year 
period  

36 weeks in a 
one-year 
period  

26 weeks in a 
one-year 
period  

Employers may 
cap use at 40 
hours per year 

  
Payment 

Paid Leave Unpaid Leave Unpaid Leave 

Paid Leave  for 
employers with 

10 or more 
employees 

(6 or more in 
Portland) 

 Benefit amount Varies based 
on 

employee’s 
average 

weekly wage. 
Up to 100% for 
lower-income 

workers.    

n/a n/a 100% of 
regular wages 
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