

What is TSPC?



Education Governance in Oregon

- Oregon Department of Education

 Compliance at the district level
 Federal Programs
 Educator Advancement Council
- Teacher Standards and Practices Commission • Compliance at the individual educator level
- Early Learning Division
- Higher Education Coordinating Commission



What is "the Commission"?

- Created by the Legislature in 1961
- One of 12 independent standards boards in the United States
- ORS (Oregon Revised Statute aka the law) gives the Commission authority to set policies for the preparation, licensing and discipline of teachers and administrators paid from public funds
- OAR (Oregon Administrative Rule) are the policies adopted by the Commission to guide the agency and the public in the implementation of statute



Teachers Standards and Practices Commission

- 3-year terms
- Interested individuals apply to serve
- Governor appointed; Senate confirmed
- 17 members
- At least one member must have demonstrated experience in special education



TSPC Responsibilities

Licensing school personnel



Evaluating complaints and investigating where needed



Approving educator preparation programs



TSPC's Three 'Units'

Educator Preparation & Pathways

(formerly Program Approval)

- Approve the university programs which prepare educators
- Respond to "How do I become a teacher?"
- Apprenticeships
- Administrator Scholars Program
- Multiple Measures Assessments

Licensure

- Assist educators with eLicensing and licensure requirements
- Review Applications
- Issue Licenses

Professional Practices

- Complaints
- Investigations
- Discipline



Oregon Substitute License Requirements



Substitute Licenses

Full Substitute

- Have completed teacher preparation
- No PDUs to renew
- May accept assignments as long as one academic year
- Three-year term



Substitutes and Other States

Education Commission of the States 2022 Report



Expanding the Pool of Substitutes

California

EMERGENCY 30-DAY SUBSTITUTE TEACHING PERMIT: may sub for *no more than 30 days* for any one teacher during the school year.

Requirements:

- Hold at least a bachelor's degree, and
- Complete the basic skills requirement.

EMERGENCY SUBSTITUTE TEACHING PERMIT FOR PROSPECTIVE TEACHERS: allows

students still completing their degrees to serve as substitute teachers.

Requirements:

- Have completed at least 90 semester hours of course work, and
- Have verification of enrollment and complete the basic skills requirement.



Louisiana

H.B. 8 (2020): Outlines requirements and provisions for the re-employment of retired teachers as substitute classroom teachers, including specifics related to:

- Salary,
- Retirement system contributions, and
- Notification of employment to the board of trustees.

Michigan

H.B. 4421 (2018): Individuals without a teaching certificate may be employed as a substitute teacher if either of the following requirements are met:

- 1) The individual has at least 60 semester hours of college credit or an associate degree from a college, university or community college; or
- 2) For a substitute teaching a course in an industrial technology education program or a career and technical education program, the individual is engaged to substitute teach in a subject matter or field in which the individual has achieved expertise, and satisfies a number of requirements.



OREGON

Restricted Substitute

- Bachelor's degree
- No teacher preparation
- No PDUs to renew
- Single assignments no longer than 10 consecutive days (ORS 342.610 & local bargaining agreements)
- Requires district sponsorship
 - Can then sub in ANY district
- First license: 1-year term
- Renewal: 3-year term with on-time app and same sponsoring district

District Substitute

(New July 2023)

- No Bachelor's degree
- No PDUs to renew
- Can only work in the sponsoring district
- A single assignment cannot be for longer than 10 consecutive days (ORS 342.610 and local bargaining agreements

Other licenses that can sub:

✓ Preliminary

- ✓ Professional
 - Teaching, School Counselor, and Admin





• Restricted, Preliminary and Professional



Restricted license renewal changes





Restricted license renewal changes



Substitute Compensation

Delaware

H.B. 88 (2018): Pays students \$83 per day as substitute teachers — the same rate paid to those who hold a bachelor's degree but not a teaching license.

Requirements:

- 1) Currently enrolled in an accredited institution for higher education in a program that will culminate in the student becoming eligible for teaching, and
- 2) has earned at least 60 credits

Tennessee

S.B. 379/H.B. 368 (2017):

- A substitute teacher who is a retired teacher is not required to continue to renew their teacher's license in order to work as a substitute teacher, and
- The rate of compensation for a retired teacher without an active teaching license must not be less than the rate of compensation set by the school district for a retired teacher with an active teaching license

Substitute to Preliminary Teacher Pathways:

Arizona

S.B. 1071 (2019): Requires the state board of education to adopt rules for certification that allow substitute teachers who can demonstrate primary teaching responsibility in a classroom to use the time spent in that classroom toward the required capstone experience for standard teaching certification.

Hawaii

S.R. 59-2017 (2017): Requests that the department of education and University of Hawaii System develop programming and educational supports for educational assistants and long-term substitute teachers to earn teaching degrees and become full-time certified teachers.



Substitute Accountability and Supervision

Statutory Language:

18 states*, including Oregon, plus D.C.: Applicants for substitute licensure must pass a criminal background and/or fingerprint check

Florida:

Districts shall develop performance appraisal measures for assessing the quality of instruction delivered by substitutes who provide instruction for 30 or more days in a single classroom placement.



State Statutes of Note:

Nevada:

Substitute teachers excluded from evaluation and employee discipline statutes dictating requirements of administrators in supervision and termination

Illinois:

School districts may supplement their substitute teacher recruitment for elementary and secondary schools with the use of recruiting firms.



Illinois

Article 34 of the School Code

Districts using recruiting firms must verify:

- 1) The district is unable to find an adequate number of substitute teachers and has exhausted all other efforts;
- 2) The district has prioritized existing substitute teachers over substitute teachers from recruiting firms;
- 3) Copies of all substitute teacher contracts will be filed with the district's regional office of education, acting as an extension of the State Board of Education, in an electronic or paper format;
- 4) Each recruiting firm contracted by the district shall file an annual report with the district that includes the number of substitute teachers placed in the district, the total cost of the contract to the district, and the percentage of substitute teacher openings that were filled; and
- 5) The district has adequate funds to fill and pay for all substitute teacher positions



Illinois

Article 34 of the School Code

- Substitute teachers provided by recruiting firms must meet all mandated State laws, rules, and screening requirements for substitute teachers, as well as additional requirements; and
- A recruiting firm may enter into an agreement with a labor organization that has a collective bargaining agreement with a school district.



Professional Practices

Complaints and Investigations:

Processes and Timelines

To establish, uphold and enforce professional standards of excellence and communicate those standards to the public and educators for the benefit of Oregon's students



The Professional Practices Division

- Staff 1 Director, 4 investigators, 2 Legal Liaisons, and 2 Admin. Assistants
 - Handle all types of complaints:
 - School District Reports
 - Patron Complaints
 - Referrals
 - Internally discovered
 - DHS Cross Reports



LEGAL MANDATES AND RESPONSIBILITIES

TSPC is required by Statute to investigate any and all complaints/Information that may constitute grounds for "Discipline" under ORS 342.176.

Superintendent is mandated to report to TSPC by Administrative Rule OAR 584-020-0041(2) and (3) when:

Reasonably believes . . .

Gross Neglect of Duty

Gross Unfitness

Regardless of Employment



TSPC Case Lifecycle

- TSPC Receives Report, Complaint or Information
 - Public Complaints & School District Reports
- TSPC Conducts Investigation
 - Gathering Facts from Evidence and Witness Interviews
 - Prepares a Report for Director and the Commission
- TSPC Director reviews completed investigations / Recommends action
- TSPC Commission determines if a licensure sanction will be imposed
- Educators sanctioned by the Commission have due process rights
- Investigations dismissed by Commission are confidential by state law



Thank You!!

Melissa Goff, Interim Executive Director

Cristina Edgar, Director of Professional Practices

