# Memorandum

PREPARED FOR: Senate Committee on Rules DATE: September 20, 2023 BY: Leslie Porter, Analyst RE: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments



# SALEM AREA MASS TRANSIT DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS

The Governor has appointed the following individual to the Salem Area Mass Transit District Board of Directors subject to Senate confirmation.<sup>1</sup>

#### New Appointee

Joaquin Lara Midkiff of Salem

#### Term

October 5, 2023 - June 30, 2027

#### **Appointment/Confirmation Authority**

ORS 267.090 (2021)

### Statement of Economic Interest<sup>2</sup>

Required.

## **Composition**<sup>3</sup>

The board consists of seven members, one member from each of the seven subdistricts: <sup>4</sup> (**LARA MIDKIFF (D1)**, NAVARO (D2), CARNEY (D3), HINOJOS PRESSEY (D4), DAVIDSON (D5), DUNCAN (D6), and HOLSTROM (D7)).

One of the members must regularly use mass transit system services. Members must reside in their appointed subdistrict. Members serve four-year terms, are eligible for reappointment, and continue to serve after their term expires until a successor is appointed, unless discharged by the Governor. Each member must take an oath of office. The board chooses, by majority vote, a president, vice president, treasurer, and secretary, to serve two-year terms. The board must meet monthly.<sup>5</sup>

#### Duties<sup>6</sup>

Mass Transit Districts are municipal corporations and are treated as local governments. The governing body of the most populous city in a metropolitan statistical area may

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> <u>Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 (2021) and 171.565 (2021)</u>.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> ORS 244.050 (2021).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> <u>ORS 182.100 (2021)</u> for affirmative action policy and <u>ORS 236.115 (2021)</u> for diversity criteria.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> ORS 267.090 (2021).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> ORS 267.120 (2021).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> ORS 267.030 (2021) to ORS 267.430 (2021).

propose to create a district if it finds that area-wide mass transit needs cannot be met by local transit. The Salem Area Mass Transit District Board of Directors establishes priorities, evaluates transit system performance, approves budgets, and works with the community to improve bus service and address transit-related issues.

The board must:

- purchase or lease only motor vehicles capable of using alternative fuel and report annually to the Department of Environmental Quality and the Department of Energy on the status of alternative fuel vehicles and alternative fuels used;
- appoint a district general manager;
- annually determine the district territory; and
- prepare and revise a general plan for mass transit operation.

The board may:

- enact police ordinances relating to the protection, use, and enjoyment of district property and facilities, and appoint peace officers to enforce the ordinances;
- by ordinance, provide a procedure for the conduct of public hearings on proposed changes in transit routes and schedules;
- delegate specified duties to the district general manager or other administrative officer;
- call an election for the purpose of referring an ordinance to the electors of a district for their approval before the ordinance takes effect;
- classify and designate service areas;
- alter the territorial boundaries of the district by a nonemergency ordinance; and
- finance construction, acquisition, purchase, lease, operation, and maintenance of a mass transit system and related facilities using specified methods.



# Salem Area Mass Transit District

#### Agency: None

Authorization: **ORS 267.090 & .120** Min Members: **0** Max Members: **7** Term Length: **4** Term Limit: **2** Senate Confirmation Required?: **Yes**  Policy Area: Transportation & Infrastructure Board Admin: Kirra Pressey Address: 555 Court Street NE, Suite 5230 Salem, OR 97301 503-361-7535

#### kirra.pressey@cherriots.org

# **Current Appointments**

Lara Midkiff, Joaquín	Term(s): 10/5/2023 - 6	/30/2027
Subdistrict 1		
Position Number: <b>1</b>		
Mr Navarro, Ramiro	Term(s): 7/1/2021 - 6/	30/2025
Subdistrict 2		
Position Number: <b>2</b>		
Ms Carney, Sadie K	Term(s): 7/1/2023 - 6/	30/2027
Subdistrict 3	7/1/2019 - 6/	30/2023
Position Number: <b>3</b>		
Hinojos Pressey, Maria	Term(s): 7/1/2021 - 6/	30/2025
Subdistrict 4	10/1/2020 - 6	/30/2021
Position Number: <b>4</b>		
Mr Davidson, Ian T MPP	Term(s): 7/1/2023 - 6/3	30/2027
Subdistrict 5	7/1/2019 - 6/3	30/2023
Position Number: <b>5</b>		
Duncan, Sara B	Term(s): 7/1/2021 - 6/3	30/2025
Subdistrict 6		
Position Number: <b>6</b>		
Holmstrom, William	Term(s): 7/1/2023 - 6/	30/2027
Subdistrict 7	9/28/2022 - 6	/30/2023

# Vacant Positions