Memorandum

PREPARED FOR: Senate Committee on Rules

DATE: September 20, 2023 BY: Leslie Porter, Analyst

RE: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments



OREGON SUSTAINABILITY BOARD

The Governor has appointed the following individual to the Oregon Sustainability Board subject to Senate confirmation.¹

Reappointee

Rex Burkholder of Portland

Term

January 1, 2023 - December 31, 2026

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 184.427 (2021)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

Composition³

The board consists of the Governor or their designee (VACANT), and 10 appointees who are state residents, sought from all geographic regions of the state, and from communities that have demonstrated an ability to work collaboratively with people of diverse interests, including individuals with experience in business, natural resources, community health, economics, sustainability, or conservation of natural resources (BURKHOLDER, DIETRICH, GAINES, GOOTEE, GREMMELS, HOLLINGSWORTH, MILLER, SCHMICK, WILBURN, VACANT). ⁴

Members serve four-year terms, are eligible for reappointment, and must be removed for failure to maintain appointment requirements.

The Governor or their designee serves as the chair. The board selects its vice chair. A majority constitutes a quorum. The board must meet at least once every three months.⁵

¹ Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 (2021), ORS 171.565 (2021).

² ORS 244.050 (2021).

³ ORS 182.100 (2021) for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 (2021) for diversity criteria.

⁴ ORS 184.427 (2021).

⁵ ORS 184.431 (2021).

Duties⁶

The board encourages activities that best sustain, protect and enhance the environment, economy, and community for the present and future benefit of Oregonians.

The board must:

- identify, evaluate, make recommendations, and propose legislation, regulatory changes, or policy modifications to agencies, the Governor, the Legislative Assembly, private entities, or other bodies;
- develop and promote policies and programs to meet sustainability goals;
- submit a biennial report to the Legislative Assembly;
- consult with trade associations, organizations, businesses, and other groups;
- develop and promote proposals that jointly and mutually enhance local economies, the environment, and community health; and
- administer the Sustainability Board Fund.

The board may:

- apply for, and accept, appropriations, gifts, or grants of money or other property;
 and
- adopt rules necessary for governing its operations and procedures.



⁶ ORS 184.421 to 184.435 (2021).

Sustainability Board

Agency: Administrative Services, Department of

Authorization: ORS 184.427 & .431

Min Members: 11 Max Members: 11

Term Length: 4 Term Limit: 2

Senate Confirmation Required?: Yes

Policy Area: Natural Resources

Board Admin: **Dave Wortman**

Address:

Department of Administrative Services

1225 Ferry St. SE, U100

Salem, OR 97301 971-304-8733

David.WORTMAN@oregon.gov

Current Appointments

Dr Gootee, Roje S	Term(s):	1/1/2017 - 12/31/2020
Position Number: 2		6/5/2013 - 12/31/2016
Mr Burkholder, Rex B	Term(s):	1/1/2023 - 12/31/2026
Position Number: 3		3/1/2019 - 12/31/2022
Mr. Gremmels, David L	Term(s):	1/1/2016 - 12/31/2019
Business		6/1/2012 - 12/31/2015
Position Number: 4		
Mr Schmick, Rory C	Term(s):	1/1/2019 - 12/31/2022
Natural Resources		9/19/2014 - 12/31/2018
Position Number: 5		
Gaines, Lisa J PhD	Term(s):	1/1/2018 - 12/31/2021
Position Number: 6		9/26/2016 - 12/31/2017
Ms Dietrich, Serena S	Term(s):	1/1/2016 - 12/31/2019
Position Number: 7		10/1/2015 - 12/31/2015
Wilburn, Autumn	Term(s):	9/28/2022 - 12/31/2025
Position Number: 8		
Mr Miller, John D	Term(s):	7/2/2011 - 12/31/2014
Sustainability		10/1/2008 - 7/1/2011
Position Number: 10		
Ms. Hollingsworth, Lori L	Term(s):	1/1/2016 - 12/31/2019
Business		6/1/2012 - 12/31/2015
Position Number: 11		

Vacant Positions

Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
1	Secretary Fagan, Shemia	Statute/Bill		
1	Mr Wolf, Greg W	Governor		
1	Mr Bradbury, William "Bill"	Governor		
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
9	Mr Nystrom, Mark D	Governor	1/1/2016	12/31/2019
9	Mr Nystrom, Mark D	Governor	10/1/2015	12/31/2015
9	Mr Simpson, Alando L	Governor	1/1/2012	12/31/2015
9	Mr Simpson, Alando L	Governor	12/1/2011	12/31/2011
9	Comm Jaramillo, Annabelle E	Governor	7/1/2008	1/1/2011
9	Comm Jaramillo, Annabelle E	Governor	3/1/2006	2/28/2010