# Memorandum

PREPARED FOR: Senate Committee on Rules

DATE: September 20, 2023 BY: Leslie Porter, Analyst

RE: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments



#### **OREGON PATIENT SAFETY COMMISSION BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

The Governor has appointed the following individuals to the Oregon Patient Safety Commission Board of Directors subject to Senate confirmation.<sup>1</sup>

### **New Appointee**

Margaret Mikula of Corvallis

### Reappointee

Jessica Morris of Portland

#### **Terms**

Mikula: October 5, 2023 – July 1, 2027

Morris: October 1, 2023 - September 30, 2027

## **Appointment/Confirmation Authority**

ORS 442.830 (2021)

## Statement of Economic Interest<sup>2</sup>

Not required.

## Composition<sup>3</sup>

The board consists of 17 members. including: 4

- one Oregon university faculty member who is not involved in the direct delivery of health care (CALDWELL);
- two group purchasers of health care, one of whom shall be employed by a
  governmental entity, and neither of whom provide direct health care services or
  have an immediate family member who does (BUI, VACANT);
- two health care consumers, neither of whom provide direct health care services or have an immediate family member who does (MORRIS, VACANT);
- two health insurers, including a domestic not-for-profit health care service contractor, a domestic insurance company licensed to transact health insurance, or a health maintenance organization (ENGRAV, MARVIN);

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2021).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> ORS 244.050 (2021).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> ORS 182.100 (2021) for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 (2021) for diversity criteria.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> ORS 442.830 (2021).

- one representative of a statewide or national labor organization (HURST);
- two licensed physicians who are in active practice (CHADAGA, DANNENHOFFER);
- two hospital administrators or their designees (MIKULA, MITCHELL);
- one licensed pharmacist (HUFT);
- one representative of an ambulatory surgical center or outpatient renal dialysis facility (KETCHUM);
- one licensed nurse who is in active clinical practice (BEMETZ);
- one licensed nursing home administrator or nursing home director of nursing services (SPRANDO); and
- the State Public Health Officer or the designee (SELOVER).

Members serve four-year terms and are eligible for reappointment. The board selects its chair and vice chair. No voting member may be an employee of the commission.

#### Duties<sup>5</sup>

The Oregon Patient Safety Commission is a semi-independent state agency that improves patient safety by reducing the risk of serious adverse events occurring in Oregon's health care system and by encouraging a culture of patient safety in Oregon. The board exercises the power of, and provides governance to, the commission.

#### The board must:

- adopt rules necessary for the implementation of the Oregon Patient Safety Reporting Program;
- maintain the confidentiality of all patient safety data; and
- appoint a commission administrator.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> ORS 442.820 to 442.835 (2021).



LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE

## Patient Safety Commission Board of Directors, Oregon

Agency: Semi-independent

Authorization: ORS 442.830

Min Members: 17 Max Members: 17

Term Length: 4 Term Limit: 2

Senate Confirmation Required?: Yes

Policy Area: Health

Board Admin: Val Harmon

Address:

**Oregon Patient Safety Commission** 

**PO Box 285** 

Portland, OR 97204

503-224-5034

val.harmon@oregonpatientsafety.org

## **Current Appointments**

Caldwell, Hollie

Faculty Member Rep

Position Number: 1

Bui, Lisa T

**Public Purchaser** 

Position Number: 3

Term(s):

Term(s):

10/1/2022 - 9/30/2026

4/26/2023 - 7/1/2026

12/17/2018 - 9/30/2022

Russell Morris, Jessica H

Healthcare Consumer

Position Number: 5

Term(s):

10/1/2023 - 9/30/2027

10/1/2019 - 9/30/2023

Dr Marvin, Judith

Insurer

Term(s):

10/1/2020 - 9/30/2024

10/1/2016 - 9/30/2020

Position Number: 6

Dr Engrav, Mary B MD

Insurer

Position Number: 7

Term(s):

3/1/2021 - 9/30/2024

Hurst, Heather L

Labor

Position Number: 8

Term(s):

3/1/2021 - 9/30/2024

Dr Chadaga, Smitha R

Physician

Position Number: 9

Term(s):

3/1/2021 - 9/30/2024

Dr. Dannenhoffer, Robert L MD

Physician

Position Number: 10

Term(s):

3/1/2021 - 9/30/2024

Dr Mikula, Margaret I Term(s): 10/5/2023 - 7/1/2027 Hospital Administrator Position Number: 11 Ms Mitchell, Leah M Term(s): 10/1/2019 - 9/30/2023 **Hospital Administrator** 11/20/2015 - 9/30/2019 Position Number: 12 **Hufft, Katherine** 10/1/2022 - 7/1/2026 Term(s): Pharmacist Position Number: 13 Ms Ketchum, Kristi K Term(s): 3/1/2021 - 9/30/2024 **Ambulatory Surgical Center** Position Number: 14 Mrs Bemetz, Amanda J Term(s): 3/1/2021 - 9/30/2023 Nurse Position Number: 15 Sprando, Erin Term(s): 4/26/2023 - 7/1/2026 Nursing Facility Rep Position Number: 16 Dr Selover, Dana S Term(s):

Vacant Positions				
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
2	Ms Evans, Gayle M SPHR	Governor	10/1/2017	9/30/2021
2	Ms Evans, Gayle M SPHR	Governor	3/1/2014	9/30/2017
2	Mr Martin, James F	Governor	10/1/2009	9/30/2013
2	Mr Martin, James F	Governor	1/23/2006	9/30/2009
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
4	Ms Wells, Elaine M	Governor	10/1/2017	9/30/2021
4	Ms Price, Naomi K	Governor	10/1/2012	9/30/2016
4	Ms Price, Naomi K	Governor	7/1/2009	9/30/2012
4	Mr Goldner, Andreas M	Governor	7/2/2004	7/1/2008
4	Mr Goldner, Andreas M	Governor	2/1/2004	7/1/2004

Public Health Officer; By Position

Position Number: 17