# Memorandum

PREPARED FOR: Senate Committee on Rules

DATE: September 20, 2023 BY: Leslie Porter, Analyst

RE: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments



#### **ALCOHOL AND DRUG POLICY COMMISSION**

The Governor has appointed the following individuals to the Alcohol and Drug Policy Commission subject to Senate confirmation.<sup>1</sup>

## **New Appointees**

Eric Davis of Salem
Kati Jokinen of Helix
Debra Jones of The Dalles
Monta Knudson of Portland
Moxie Loeffler of Eugene
Julia Mines of Portland

### Reappointees

Kathryn Hupy of Salem Monta Knudson of Portland Kelley Minty of Klamath Falls Tony Vezina of Portland

#### **Terms**

Davis: October 5, 2023 – April 18, 2025 Hupy: June 1, 2022 – May 31, 2026

Jokinen: October 5, 2023 – October 4, 2027 Jones: October 5, 2023 – October 4, 2027

Knudson: October 5, 2023 – September 25, 2024 Knudson: September 26, 2024 – September 25, 2028

Loeffler: October 5, 2023 – October 4, 2027 Mines: October 5, 2023 – October 4, 2027

Minty: June 1, 2022 - May 31, 2026

Vezina: March 1, 2023 - February 28, 2026

## **Appointment/Confirmation Authority**

ORS 430.221 (2021)

### Statement of Economic Interest<sup>2</sup>

Not required.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2021).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> ORS 244.050 (2021).

## Composition<sup>3</sup>

The commission consists of no more than 17 members to ensure representation from stakeholders directly impacted by the work of the commission.<sup>4</sup>

At least 75 percent of the appointed members must be representatives of the following public health and health care stakeholder groups:

- county commissioners, managers, and administrators (MINTY, NORDYKE);
- Indian tribes (CRUZ);
- providers of addiction prevention and recovery services (ANDERSON, JOKINEN, JONES, JORDAN, MINES, OBIERO, VEZINA);
- alcohol or drug treatment researchers or epidemiologists (NISSEN);
- the health insurance industry or hospitals (DAVIS);
- consumers of addiction recovery services who are in recovery and the family members of consumers (GODVIN, SHAFFER);
- experts in addiction medicine (LOEFFLER);
- entities that provide housing to individuals who are in recovery (KNUDSON); and
- social service providers.

Up to 25 percent of the appointed members must be representatives of one or more of the following stakeholder groups:

- district attorneys (CLARKSON);
- county sheriffs (GARRETT);
- chiefs of police;
- criminal defense attorneys (GRIFFIN, HUPY); and
- county community corrections agencies (GAOIRAN).

The three remaining members include:

- a senator, appointed by the President of the Senate, who is nonvoting (SOLLMAN);
- a representative, appointed by the Speaker of the House, who is nonvoting (REYNOLDS); and
- a circuit court judge, appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, who is nonvoting (BLOCH).

Members serve four-year terms. The Governor appoints a director, and all gubernatorial appointees serve at the pleasure of the Governor. Non-legislative members are entitled to per diem.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> ORS 430.221 (2021).



LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> ORS 182.100 (2021) for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 (2021) for diversity criteria.

#### **Duties**

The commission was created to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of state and local substance use disorder prevention, treatment, and recovery services for Oregonians.

The commission must develop, review, and update a comprehensive addiction, prevention, treatment, and recovery plan, which must include recommendations regarding:<sup>5</sup>

- capacity, type, and utilization of programs;
- methods to assess the effectiveness and performance of programs;
- the best use of existing programs;
- budget policy priorities for participating state agencies;
- standards for licensing programs;
- minimum standards for contracting for, providing, and coordinating alcohol and drug abuse prevention and treatment services among programs that use federal, private, or state funds administered by the state; and
- the most effective and efficient use of participating state agency resources to support programs.

The commission may also conduct studies related to the duties of the commission in collaboration with other state agencies.<sup>6</sup>

<sup>6 14</sup> 



<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> ORS 430.223 (2021).

# **Alcohol and Drug Policy Commission**

Agency: Health Authority, Oregon

Authorization: ORS 430.221

Min Members: 17 Max Members: 21

Term Length: 4 Term Limit: 2

Senate Confirmation Required?: Yes

Policy Area: Health

Board Admin: Annaliese Dolph

Address:

Salem, OR 97301

Current	Ap	pointn	nents
---------	----	--------	-------

Minty, Kelley

**County Commissioner** 

Position Number: 1

Ms Cruz, Caroline M

**Tribal Representative** 

Position Number: 2

Mr Gaoiran, Nathan "Nate" S

Director, Josephine County Corrections

Position Number: 3

Nordyke, Vanessa

**County Administrator** 

Position Number: 4

Mr Mazziotti, Donald F JD

Homeless Services Rep

Position Number: 5

Knudson, Monta

**Housing Provider** 

Position Number: 5

Mr Holton, Dwight C

Prevention Representative

Position Number: 6

Jones, Debra "Debby"

Certified Prevention Specialist

Position Number: 6

Obiero, Zachary "Myque"

Treatment Provider

Position Number: 7

Term(s):

6/1/2022 - 5/31/2026

Term(s):

12/17/2018 - 9/27/2022

Term(s):

2/17/2020 - 2/16/2024

2/17/2016 - 2/16/2020

Term(s):

11/19/2021 - 11/18/2025

Term(s):

9/26/2020 - 9/25/2024

9/26/2016 - 9/25/2020

Term(s):

9/26/2024 - 9/25/2028

10/5/2023 - 9/25/2024

Term(s):

10/1/2017 - 9/30/2021

9/19/2014 - 9/30/2017

Term(s):

10/5/2023 - 10/4/2027

Term(s):

11/19/2021 - 11/18/2025

Mrs Hupy, Kathryn "Kat" JD  Defense Attorney	Term(s):	6/1/2022 - 5/31/2026 6/1/2018 - 5/31/2022
Position Number: 8		
Vezina, Tony J	Term(s):	3/1/2023 - 2/28/2026
Certfied Recovery Mentor		10/1/2020 - 2/28/2022
Position Number: <b>9</b>		
Ms Godvin, Morgan E	Term(s):	2/14/2020 - 2/13/2024
Person Seeking Treatment		
Position Number: 10		
Mines, Julia	Term(s):	10/5/2023 - 10/4/2027
Culturally Specific Provider		
Position Number: <b>11</b>		
Mrs Morris, Kelley M	Term(s):	10/1/2020 - 5/31/2022
County Commissioner		
Position Number: <b>12</b>		
Ms Archer, Jill	Term(s):	4/19/2021 - 4/18/2025
CCO Representative		
Position Number: <b>13</b>		
Davis, Eric	Term(s):	10/5/2023 - 4/18/2025
Outpatient Provider		
Position Number: 13		
Jokinen, Kati	Term(s):	10/5/2023 - 10/4/2027
Outpatient Treatment Provider		
Position Number: <b>14</b>		
Senator Sollman, Janeen	Term(s):	-
Senate President Appointment; non-voting		-
Position Number: <b>20</b>		
Loeffler, Moxie	Term(s):	10/5/2023 - 10/4/2027
Expert in Addiction Medicine		
Position Number: <b>15</b>		
Rep. Reynolds, Lisa	Term(s):	-
House Speaker Appointment; non-voting		
Position Number: <b>19</b>		

Judge Bloch, Eric	J
-------------------	---

State Supreme Court Judge; non-voting

Position Number: 21

Term(s):

Vacant Positions						
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End		
16	Dr Anderson, Bradley "Brad" M MD	Governor	6/1/2018	5/31/2022		
16	Ms Sears, Abigail L	Governor	9/18/2013	9/17/2017		
16	Ms Moawad, Heidi H	Statute/Bill				
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End		
17	Mrs Weinhold, Cindy L	Governor	6/1/2016	5/31/2020		
17	Attorney General Rosenblum, Ellen	Statute/Bill				
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End		
18	Mr Jordan, Anthony	Governor	11/17/2017	11/16/2021		
18	Ms Saxton, Lynne H	Statute/Bill				
18	Representative Tomei, Carolyn	House Speaker				