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Thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony on the forthcoming amendment to 

HB 4061 (a marked-up version of the HB 4061 -1 amendment was submitted for the 

committee’s discussion). This bill primarily focuses on providing additional tools to curb 

unauthorized uses of water related to cannabis (marijuana and hemp). This testimony 

provides information on the Department’s understanding of the forthcoming amendment. 

The Department is not taking a position on the bill or amendments at this time.   

The amendments under discussion provide some additional tools for addressing the water 

challenges posed by cannabis cultivation.  Violations in the forthcoming amendment that 

focus on activities at unregistered sites are generally tools that will be better suited for 

use by law enforcement. It is important to set appropriate expectations about the role of 

the Water Resources Department in regard to unlicensed sites, which may pose a safety 

risk for our staff and are better addressed by law enforcement.   

The Department appreciates the Legislature’s investments during the 2021 2nd Special 

Session to address Department resource challenges and also the attention to the policy 

challenges the Department faces. These amendments do not attempt to address all the 

enforcement challenges and barriers the Department faces that were previously discussed 

in a presentation on February 2, 2022. It is important to have realistic expectations about 

the effectiveness of these tools, as even with these tools, enforcement actions will still 

take time.  

Forthcoming Amendment 

Hauled Water - Water Hauling Records Retention  

Water providers operate water fill stations for the public or provide bulk water for water 

hauling through other arrangements.  These stations are in most cases a legal source of 

water for cannabis sites; however, verifying that water is hauled from these sites can be 

difficult.    

The forthcoming amendment requires any water supplier that sells water to the public at a 

fill station to retain water sale records for up to 12 months from the date of sale, and 

present those records immediately upon request to either the Department or law 

enforcement. Records will include 1) the name and contact information of person the 

water was sold to; 2) the quantity of water sold; 3) the license plate number of the vehicle 

used to haul water; and 4) the purchase date. These requirements would not apply when 

water is sold to a state and local government purchaser, a contractor licensed by the 



 

2/10/2022 

Oregon Construction Contractors Board, or for water used for firefighting purposes.  

Additionally, the amendment proposes that any supplier providing these records to either 

the Department or law enforcement or participating in any judicial proceedings will have 

immunity from any civil or criminal liability that may be the result of the records being 

released.  Note: The Department does not interpret this to mean that a water supplier that 

is not themselves in compliance with Oregon Water Law would be immune from being in 

compliance.  

In addition, the forthcoming amendment will also require the person purchasing the water 

from the fill station for irrigation or nursery uses to maintain records for 12 months from 

the date of purchase and present those records to law enforcement or the Department 

upon request. This means that a person that is purchasing and hauling the water from a 

fill station would need to keep records – this could be a water hauling business that is 

purchasing the water, or it could be the person employed by an operation growing crops 

that purchases and hauls the water, or it could be the person that owns the operation 

crowing crops if that person purchases and hauls the water themself. Records will include 

(1) the name and contact information of the person the water was delivered to; (2) the 

purpose of the use of the water, including the plant type ; (3) the quantity of water 

delivered; (4) the location to which the water was delivered; and (5) the date that the 

water was delivered. The forthcoming amendments provide civil penalties for failure to 

comply with these requirements. 

Prior to these requirements going into effect, OWRD, the Department of Agriculture 

(ODA), and the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission (OLCC) will publicize the law 

change to attempt to notify relevant permit holders. 

Water Statements 

The water statement provisions contained in the -1 amendment are removed in the 

forthcoming amendments.  

Notice of Violation Timelines 

As previously noted during our presentation, the current five-day turnaround time for 

issuing a notice of violation (NOV) poses challenges for the Department for managing 

existing workloads.  Since the Department only has five days to issue a notice of 

violation after the violation was observed, staff must shift priorities, often abandoning 

other workloads to ensure a NOV is issued within the required timeframe.  The 

timeframes are particularly problematic if more than one notice of violation needs to be 

prepared. The forthcoming amendment extends the time period from five days to ten 

business days for the Department to issue a notice of violation after observing a violation.   

Criminal and Civil Penalties 

The forthcoming amendment proposes to increase criminal penalties for use of water 

without a water right at any cannabis site that is not licensed with OLCC, ODA, or 

Oregon Health Authority (OHA) and exceeds the amount of personal plants allowed 

under law, to a Class A misdemeanor with a maximum fine of $25,000.   
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The amendment will establish a new violation for hauling water or arranging to haul 

water to any cannabis site not licensed with OLCC, ODA, or OHA and exceeds the 

amount of personal plants allowed under law is a Class A misdemeanor.   If the person 

hauling water or arranging hauled water is the owner of the water hauling business or the 

responsible party for the cannabis grow operation, the maximum fine for the Class A 

misdemeanor is $25,000.  It is important to understand that the forthcoming amendment 

only provides criminal penalties, not civil penalties, for hauling water to an unregistered 

site.  Prosecution using criminal penalties will generally require law enforcement and 

district attorneys to participate in addressing unregistered sites.  Importantly, these 

provisions mean that even if an unregistered site hauls water from a legal source of water, 

the act of hauling would now be considered a violation of the proposed law via criminal 

penalties.   

The forthcoming amendment will also prohibit any person from willfully or negligently 

providing false information to either the Department or law enforcement regarding the 

hauling of water to a cannabis site. Violations could result in civil penalties consistent 

with the Department’s other existing civil penalty authorities, or a Class A misdemeanor 

criminal penalty.  The Department interprets this to mean both verbal and written 

information and that this penalty could be applied to anyone that provides false 

information about whether water has been hauled for use at a grow site – this means that 

it could include the individual that owns or operates a grow site or an individual that 

hauls water.  

The forthcoming amendment will also provide civil penalties consistent with the 

Department’s other existing civil penalty authorities for persons purchasing water from a 

hauling site that are in violation of the requirement to maintain and provide records of 

water purchases as described above. 


