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HB 4108 Ezra’s Law (2022)
•Applies to ADULTS convicted of: 
•Assault in the First Degree
•Assault in the Second Degree
•Attempted Murder (Aggravated, First, 
Second)



HB 4108 Ezra’s Law (2022)

• State must prove that the defendant 
intentionally or knowingly caused 
PERMANENT PHYSICAL INJURY during the 
commission of one of the above serious 
felony crimes
• Does not create a new crime – allows 
discretion to enhance sentence



HB 4108 Ezra’s Law (2022)

• Defines PERMANENT PHYSICAL INJURY as 
qPermanent Loss of Vision or Hearing
qPermanent Loss of Ability to Walk, 

Breathe, Eat, or Move the Person’s Limbs
qPermanent Impairment of Cognitive 

Functioning



HB 4108 Ezra’s Law (2022)
• Presumptive sentence of 300 months in prison, similar to Jessica’s 

Law
• Provides sentencing judge discretion to sentence less than 300 

months based on significant mitigating circumstances 
• Jessica's Law was passed in a special session of the Oregon 

Legislature in 2006. The vote in the House was 54-6 and in the Senate 
it was 30-0.
• Jessica’s Law requires a 25 year mandatory minimum sentence for 

adults convicted of raping, sodomizing or sexually penetrating a child 
under 12 years of age.
• Like Jessica’s Law, Ezra’s Law would protect our state’s most 

vulnerable 



Oregon Law – Physical Injury and 
Serious Physical Injury
• Physical Injury:  an injury that causes substantial 
pain or impairment of physical condition
• Serious Physical Injury:  a physical injury that 
creates a substantial risk of death, or which causes 
serious and protracted disfigurement, protracted 
impairment of health or protracted loss or 
impairment of the function of any bodily organ
• Permanent Injury:  currently no definition under 
Oregon law
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