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Chair Dembrow, Vice-Chair Thomsen, and members of the Committee. My name is Kyle 
Thomas and I am the Director of Legislative and Policy Affairs for the Higher Education 
Coordinating Commission (HECC). Thank you for the opportunity to submit testimony on SB 
1522 and the -3 amendment. 

Equity Minded Improvements to the Oregon Promise 

If amended with the -3 amendment, Section 19 of SB 1522 will contain provisions modifying the 
Oregon Promise program, designed to distribute more program resources to low income 
students. Because the Oregon Promise is a last dollar program, students who have high levels of 
resources receive more from this program than students with fewer resources. The challenge we 
face is that this gap is increasing over time, as the maximum award amount increases with 
tuition increases, while the minimum amount, the amount that low income students receive, has 
been frozen by statute since 2016. 

HECC presented two weeks ago on this topic and we detailed that while 52% of program 
recipients are low income Pell grant students, they only capture 21% of program funds, while 
students with family incomes estimated at over $100,000 captured 39% of funds. 

HECC proposes making three changes to improve the program: 

1. Doubling the minimum award amount from $1000 to $2000, and indexing future 
increases to the increase in average community college tuition rates – This change 
restores the buying power of the minimum award and will prevent the erosion we have 
seen since the program was created in 2016. 

2. Eliminating the $50 per term co-pay – Because the Promise is designed only to cover 
tuition and fees, students already have ‘skin in the game’ by paying for books, housing, 
food, and transportation. This co-pay reduces the minimum award by 15%, but the 
maximum award by less than 4%, and eliminating it better serves low income students. 

3. Reducing the GPA requirement from 2.5 to 2.0 – Many low income and 
underrepresented populations have difficulty in high school, but succeed in higher 
education, and the 2.5 GPA requirement serves as an unnecessary gateway for students 
seeking to access higher education. 

https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2021I1/Downloads/CommitteeMeetingDocument/251393


As proposed, these changes can be made within the currently available appropriations for the 
program in the current biennium, and the Commission anticipates it will not need to impose any 
income limits on program participants. HECC hopes you will support these changes.  

Importantly, the Commission views these changes as improvements on the margins of the 
program, and while they’re meaningful for some students, they fall short of the broad overhaul 
and significant increases in financial aid availability that would place Oregon amongst national 
leaders in college affordability. As it stands, Oregon today is a below-average provider of 
educational aid. The Commission introduced policy in 2021 to try to address these challenges, 
and is ready to work with the legislature to continue to pursue significant improvements to state 
financial aid programs, through the Taskforce on Student Success for Underrepresented 
Students in Higher Education or any other venue available. 

Provision of Menstrual Products to Students 

Another provision the Commission is following is amendments to HB 3294 (2021) through 
Section 12 of this bill. HECC has been working with advocates and institutions to implement the 
requirement that period products be made widely available at public institutions of higher 
education. HECC has requested and amendment to the current bill on behalf of those 
institutions and advocates that allows the commission to implement the bill in a manner that 
better recognizes the complexity of some spaces on campus. 

If adopted, the amendments would allow HECC to include residence halls as spaces where 
period products must be offered, without requiring institutions to place and maintain them in 
all bathrooms, which is particularly an issue where bathrooms are located in closed suites and 
apartments. Instead, the requirement would apply to more commonly accessible areas.  

If this amendment is adopted, the Commission will likely adopt the final rule implementing HB 
3294 at its April meeting. 

Thank you for your time today. 


