March 1, 2022

Education Advocates Ask You To Support SB 1572B

In the 2021 Legislative Session, the Legislature passed HB 3255 to ensure that Oregon's educational employees are provided with information about their eligibility to participate in the public service loan forgiveness (PSLF) program, and receive credit hour eligibility that is commensurable with their work hours.

This session, SB 1572B offers an opportunity to address technical fixes to further clarify the Legislature's intent and goals for HB 3255.

The amendments adopted into SB 1572 clarify that the original language applies to both universities *and* colleges in Oregon. SB 1572B also clarifies the multiplier process intended for eligible classroom hours, so that all educational institutions in Oregon comply with the following formula: a total of 4.35 hours for every 1 hour of time spent in the classroom. Additionally, SB 1572B clarifies that applicability of the multiplier is retroactive.

SB 1572B is critical to ensuring that educational employees receive the intended amount of eligible hours towards the PSLF program, both by clarifying the multiplication process and by directing all employers to use a 30-hour week as the threshold for defining full-time employment for the purpose of PSLF participation. This will ensure that the lowest available federal threshold is used statewide — increasing access to PSLF for Oregon's educators who should qualify.

It is necessary that we remove the mounting financial barriers our educators face, as we continue to address the educational workforce crisis in our state.

Removing barriers and increasing access to the PSLF program is an important step in this process. For these reasons and many others, **Oregon education leaders strongly urge your support for SB 1572B.**

