
 

Protect Your Investment - Check the License 
A Guide to Working with Contractors in the State of Oregon 

 

When you’re performing home improvement projects in the state of Oregon, it’s important to hire 

contractors licensed by the state of Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB).  

Licensed contractors: 

• Have a license history you can check 

• Have a surety bond and liability insurance 

• Complete training and pass tests about Oregon laws and business practices 

• Can be held accountable if something goes wrong 

Hiring a licensed contractor gives you access to consumer protections during your home improvement 

project, so check your contractor’s license when you hire the contractor and again before the project 

starts.  

Who needs to be licensed? 

By law, anyone who is paid to repair, improve or build a home in Oregon must be licensed. This includes 

but is not limited to: 

• Roofers 

• Painters 

• Handymen 

• General contractors 

• Carpet and flooring installers 

• Gutter installers 

• Chimney repair people 

• Plumbers 

• Electricians 

How to check the license 

CCB maintains an online site where you can check your contractor’s license. On this site, you can find up 

to 10 years of history on the license, including information about unpaid debts, complaint history and 

disciplinary history. 

1. Click on the link to the CCB’s search feature: http://search.ccb.state.or.us/search/  

2. Enter the contractor’s license number in the search box. Hit “search.” 

3. Select the “choose” button next to the license number that corresponds to your contractor. 

4. Verify the license is active and the name matches your potential contractor. Check under the 

“complaint history” header to see if the contractor has a history of complaints or suspensions. 

Unable to access our online search? Call our office at 503-378-4621. We can give you the same 

information over the phone. 

http://search.ccb.state.or.us/search/
http://search.ccb.state.or.us/search/


Other tips when hiring a contractor: 

• Get multiple bids. This helps you identify the contractor who is most likely to meet your needs.  

• Check the license. Use our online verification system to ensure the contractor you want to hire 

has an active license.  

• Get references. Check two or three references before hiring any contractor, especially for big 

projects. 

• Read the contract. CCB recommends getting a contract for all home improvement projects, but 

a contract is required for work greater than $2,000. Read the contract thoroughly before 

signing.    

Having trouble with your licensed contractor? What to know about CCB’s mediation process. 

Sometimes home improvement projects go wrong. If you’re in a dispute with a licensed contractor, we 

offer mediation services to help bring both parties together. Our mediation services can help keep you 

out of court and hopefully get your home improvement project back on track. We can only help if your 

contractor was licensed during your construction project. Check the license! 

Before you file a complaint with the CCB, you must give the contractor notice by certified mail. You must 
mail this notice at least 30 days before you file the complaint. Many contractors resolve disputes after 
they receive a notice. This may prompt your contractor to communicate with you and find ways to settle 
the issue without ever going through the complaint process.  

If the notice is returned or the contractor refuses to accept delivery, you can still file your complaint 30 
days after you mail the notice by certified mail. We have a pre-complaint notice that you can use 
to generate a notice. Visit CCB’s website or call CCB to learn more about the complaint process.  

Want more information about performing a home improvement project in the state of Oregon?  

• Sign up for the CCB’s homeowner newsletter. Click here to subscribe. This free email newsletter 
is a quarterly publication that covers topics about home improvement and hiring a contractor.  

• Order a free guide to working with a contractor to be mailed to your home. Click here to fill 
out the form and order your publication today.  

 

http://search.ccb.state.or.us/search/
https://www.ccb.state.or.us/PreClaim/preclaim_notice.htm
https://www.oregon.gov/ccb/complaints/Pages/how-file-a-complaint.aspx
https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/ORCCB/subscriber/new?topic_id=ORCCB_12
https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=Mmk_qnz6tEegzqWYytFhzxT99An7zINOoAeuVogYRaZUMlcyUkE3WEI4QjE1MTlJQlFUS0RFUEI5QiQlQCN0PWcu

