

# **M**EMORANDUM

Prepared for: Oregon State Senate

Date: January 21, 2022 By: Leslie Porter, Analyst

Re: Legislative Review of Executive

Appointments

LPRO: LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE

# STATE AVIATION BOARD

The Governor has appointed the following individual to the State Aviation Board subject to Senate confirmation.<sup>1</sup>

# **New Appointee**

Catheryn Stephens of Eugene

#### **Term**

March 1, 2022 - June 30, 2023

# **Appointment/Confirmation Authority**

ORS 835.102 (2021)

# Statement of Economic Interest<sup>2</sup>

Not required.

# **Statutory Requirements**<sup>3</sup>

The board consists of seven members appointed by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate. Members serve four-year terms.<sup>4</sup>

- Members must be appointed with consideration of the different geographic regions of the state, with one member being a resident of the area east of the Cascade Range (FERGUSON (R));
- Not more than four members may belong to the same political party (GRANATO (D), KRUEGER (R), MEEKER (R), OLIVER (I), PEREYO (N/A), STEPHENS (D); and
- Membership must represent diverse aviation interests from both private and public sectors.

The Governor must appoint one member as chairperson and another as vice chairperson, to serve such terms, duties and powers as the board determines are necessary.<sup>5</sup> A majority of members constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business. The board must meet at least once quarterly.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2021).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> ORS 244.050 (2021).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> ORS 182.100 (2021) for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 (2021) for diversity criteria.

ORS 835,102 (2021).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> ORS 835.104 (2021).

## **Duties and Authority**

The board provides policy oversight for the Oregon Department of Aviation.

#### The board must:<sup>6</sup>

- with the advice of the department, incorporate as part of its program a definite plan for the development of airports, state airways, airplane industries and aviation generally;
- through the department, cooperate with and assist the federal government, the municipalities of the state, and other persons in the development of aviation activities;
- oversee the administration of the department, including authorizing contracts, the receipt and use of federal funds, and use of moneys in the State Aviation Account;
- exercise and perform its statutory authority, power, and duty commensurate with and for the purpose of protecting and insuring the general public interest and safety, the safety of persons receiving instruction concerning, or operating, or using, or traveling in aircraft, and of persons or property on land or water, and to develop and promote aviation in this state; and
- in consultation with the State Marine Board and the State Parks and Recreation Department, adopt rules governing seaplane safety and operations in state waters.

### The board may:7

- perform such acts, adopt or amend and issue such orders, rules and regulations, and make, promulgate, and amend such minimum standards as it considers necessary to perform its statutory duties; and
- fix the compensation of the director of the department.

January 21, 2022 Page | 2

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> ORS 835.015 to ORS 835.210 (2021).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>7</sup> *Id*.

# **Executive Appointments Board Roster**

**Aviation Board, State** 

Agency: Transportation

Authorization: ORS 835.102

Members: Min: 7 Max: 7
Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2

Senate confirmation required? Yes

Policy Area: Transportation

**Board Contact:** 

Cathy Clark

Department of Aviation 3040 25th Street SE Salem, OR 97302-1125

503-378-2894

Position Number: 2

cathy.rb.clark@aviation.state.or.us

#### **Current Appointments:**

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Douglas M Ferguson

Republican; East of the Cascades

Term(s): 07-01-2020 - 06-30-2024

07-01-2016 - 06-30-2020

Vince Granato

Democrat Position Number: 6

Term(s): 07-01-2018 - 06-30-2022

07-01-2014 - 06-30-2018

Tom Krueger, Sr

Republican Position Number: 7

Term(s): 03-01-2021 - 06-30-2022

Martha A Meeker

Republican Position Number: 5

Term(s): 07-01-2019 - 06-30-2023

07-01-2015 - 06-30-2019 03-01-2019 - 06-30-2019

Michael D Oliver

Independent Position Number: 3

Term(s): 11-19-2021 - 06-30-2024

Hilda E Pereyo

Not a member of a party Position Number: 1

Term(s): 09-28-2018 - 06-30-2022

Cathryn Stephens

Democrat Position Number: 4

Term(s): 03-01-2022 - 06-30-2023

Printed Date: 1/18/2022 Page 1 of 1