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HB 4061 -4 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY
House Committee On Agriculture, Land Use, and Water

Prepared By: Laura Kentnesse, LPRO Analyst
Sub-Referral To: Joint Committee On Ways and Means
Meeting Dates: 2/9, 2/14

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:
Authorizes the Water Resources Director to petition for a warrant authorizing entry onto land or inspection.
Requires a person that owns or operates a place of use at which hauled water is used for irrigation, nursery, or
agricultural purposes, or that hauls water to be used for irrigation, nursery, or agricultural purposes, to maintain
records for at least 12 months and to provide the records to the Oregon Water Resources Department (OWRD)
upon request. Prohibits a person that owns or operates a place of use at which hauled water is used for irrigation,
nursery, or agricultural purposes from soliciting or accepting hauled water from illegal source. Prohibits a person
from making false verbal or written statements or representation to OWRD regarding hauled water or hauling of
water. Authorizes the imposition of civil penalties for violation of requirements or prohibitions. Provides that
violation of the false statement or representation prohibition is subject to the maximum penalty of 364 days’
imprisonment, a $25,000 fine, or both. Instructs the Water Resources Commission to notify certain violators of
the time allowed to correct a violation within 10 business days after commission becomes aware of a violation.
Provides that civil penalty for certain violations may not exceed $5,000 per day for each day of violation.
Establishes an exception for a violation related to crops in the cannabis plant family, for which civil penalty may
not exceed $20,000 per day for each day of violation or the economic value of crop, whichever is greater. Instructs
the commission to consider the value of any crops in the cannabis plant family to which certain violations may
relate when imposing civil penalty for violation. Provides that certain violations are Class A misdemeanors, that
each day of violation constitutes separate offense, and that maximum fine is $25,000.

FISCAL: May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued.
REVENUE: May have revenue impact, but no statement issued. 

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:
-4  Replaces the measure. Requires a water supplier that sells water to the public at a distribution location to
maintain specified records of water sales for at least 12 months and immediately provide them to law
enforcement or the Oregon Water Resources Department (OWRD) upon request. Exempts from record
requirement water sales: to state or local government bulk water purchasers, to licensed contractors, and in bulk
for firefighting purposes. Gives immunity from certain civil or criminal liabilities to water suppliers that comply
with the requirement to immediately submit records to law enforcement or OWRD. Requires that a person that
purchases water from a water supplier at a distribution location to be hauled for irrigation or nursery purposes
keep specified records for at least 12 months and immediately provide them to law enforcement or OWRD upon
request. Authorizes OWRD to adopt rules for implementation. Requires OWRD, the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis
Commission, and Oregon Department of Agriculture to make reasonable attempts to provide notice of the
requirements to potentially interested persons. Prohibits a person from hauling or arranging to haul water to an
unregistered or unlicensed cannabis grow site that is growing a quantity of plants not allowed under state law.
Prohibits a person from willfully or negligently providing false information to law enforcement or OWRD regarding
water hauling for cannabis. Changes the Water Resources Commission timeline to notify violators of the time
allowed to correct a violation from five to ten business days after the commission first becomes aware of the
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violation. Establishes civil penalties for violation of record-keeping requirements related to a person that
purchases water to be hauled. Establishes civil penalties and Class A misdemeanor criminal penalties for violation
of the prohibition against providing false information to law enforcement or OWRD. Establishes Class A
misdemeanor criminal penalties and a maximum fine of $25,000 for violation of the prohibition against hauling or
arranging to haul water to an unregistered or unlicensed cannabis grow site that is growing a quantity of plants
not allowed under state law if the person owns the water hauling business or owns, operates, or is responsible for
the relevant grow site. Establishes Class A misdemeanor criminal penalties and a maximum fine of $25,000 for
appropriation of surface or ground water without a permit for an unregistered or unlicensed cannabis grow site
that is growing a quantity of plants not allowed under state law. Takes effect on 91st day following adjournment
sine die.

FISCAL: Has minimal fiscal impact.
REVENUE: No revenue impact.

BACKGROUND:
Illegal cannabis operations are using surface and ground water without water rights, depleting limited water
resources for legitimate agricultural, recreational, residential, municipal, and other uses. 


