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HB 4072 -1, -2, -3 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY
House Committee On Environment and Natural Resources

Prepared By: Erin Pischke, LPRO Analyst
Meeting Dates: 2/14

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:
Authorizes Oregon Fish and Wildlife Commission to establish by rule fees for hunting, angling, and shellfish
licenses, tags, and permits that are less than amount established in statutory fee schedule. Eliminates one-day
angling license. Reduces maximum current and future one-day angling and shellfish license fee established in fee
schedule as follows: the resident fee is changed from $32.50 to $23.00 and the non-resident fee is changed from
$32.50 to $23.00. Provides for temporary partial dedication of one-day angling and shellfish license fee to Oregon
Hatchery Research Center Fund during the period beginning January 1, 2016 and ending December 31, 2026.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:
-1  Removes Oregon Fish and Wildlife Commission direction to establish by rule fees for hunting, angling, and
shellfish licenses, tags, and permits that are less than amount established in statutory fee schedule.
 FISCAL: Costs related to the measure may require budgetary action. This measure warrants a subsequent

referral to the Joint Committee on Ways and Means for consideration of its budgetary impact.
 REVENUE: No revenue impact.

-2  Adds RSC Steelhead Validation and RSC Wild Steelhead Harvest Card fees to the State Fish and Wildlife
Commission (Commission) fee schedule. Authorizes Commission to, upon application and payment of the
applicable fees established by the fee schedule or the commission under ORS 497.061, issue Rogue-South Coast
steelhead validation and Rogue-South Coast wild steelhead harvest card to individuals desiring to angle for fish or
take shellfish. Requires Commission to adopt rules concerning issuance of, and requirements related to, the
Rogue-South Coast steelhead validation and the Rogue-South Coast wild steelhead harvest card, including rules
addressing when the validation and harvest card are required, relative to licenses, tags, and permits that are
required under the wildlife laws. Requires moneys received from the sale of the Rogue-South Coast steelhead
validation and the Rogue-South Coast wild steelhead harvest card to be credited to the Rogue-South Coast
Research and Monitoring Subaccount established under ORS 496.303. Establishes the Rogue-South Coast
Research and Monitoring Subaccount in the Fish and Wildlife Account, consisting of moneys collected from
Rogue-South Coast steelhead validation and Rogue-South Coast wild steelhead harvest card. Requires moneys
in the subaccount be used for research and monitoring that is consistent with the Rogue-South Coast
Multi-Species Conservation and Management Plan (RSP) the Commission adopted in December 2021, as
subsequently amended by the Commission. Authorizes Commission to amend the RSP as needed. Requires
Commission to make the current version of the RSP publicly available on a website of the commission or of the
State Department of Fish and Wildlife.
 FISCAL: Costs related to the measure may require budgetary action. This measure warrants a subsequent

referral to the Joint Committee on Ways and Means for consideration of its budgetary impact.
 REVENUE: No revenue impact.

-3  Removes Oregon Fish and Wildlife Commission direction to establish by rule fees for hunting, angling, and
shellfish licenses, tags, and permits that are less than amount established in statutory fee schedule. Adds RSC
Steelhead Validation and RSC Wild Steelhead Harvest Card fees to the State Fish and Wildlife Commission
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(Commission) fee schedule. Authorizes Commission to, upon application and payment of the applicable fees
established by the fee schedule or the commission under ORS 497.061, issue Rogue-South Coast steelhead
validation and Rogue-South Coast wild steelhead harvest card to persons desiring to angle for fish or take
shellfish. Requires Commission to adopt rules concerning issuance of, and requirements related to, the
Rogue-South Coast steelhead validation and the Rogue-South Coast wild steelhead harvest card, including rules
addressing when the validation and harvest card are required, relative to licenses, tags, and permits that are
required under the wildlife laws. Requires moneys received from the sale of the Rogue-South Coast steelhead
validation and the Rogue-South Coast wild steelhead harvest card to be credited to the Rogue-South Coast
Research and Monitoring Subaccount established under ORS 496.303. Establishes the Rogue-South Coast
Research and Monitoring Subaccount in the Fish and Wildlife Account, consisting of moneys collected from
Rogue-South Coast steelhead validation and Rogue-South Coast wild steelhead harvest card. Requires moneys
in the subaccount be used for research and monitoring that is consistent with the Rogue-South Coast
Multi-Species Conservation and Management Plan (RSP) the Commission adopted in December 2021, as
subsequently amended by the Commission. Authorizes Commission to amend the RSP as needed. Requires
Commission to make the current version of the RSP publicly available on a website of the commission or of the
State Department of Fish and Wildlife.
 FISCAL: Costs related to the measure may require budgetary action. This measure warrants a subsequent

referral to the Joint Committee on Ways and Means for consideration of its budgetary impact.
 REVENUE: No revenue impact.

BACKGROUND:
The State Fish and Wildlife Commission is authorized to issue, to persons desiring to angle for fish or take
shellfish, licenses, and tags upon payment of applicable fees as required under the fee schedule in ORS 497.061.
The Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife (ODFW) has identified, as part of recruiting, retaining, and
reactivating anglers and hunters, that it would be useful to be able to offer discounted licenses or special cost
incentives to encourage participation.

House Bill 4072 would allow the Oregon Fish and Wildlife Commission to charge fees for hunting, angling, and
shellfish licenses, tags, and permits that are less than amount established in statutory fee schedule.


