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HB 4016 -1, -2, -3, -6 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY
House Committee On Economic Recovery and Prosperity

Prepared By: Michael Lantz, LPRO Analyst
Sub-Referral To: Joint Committee On Ways and Means
Meeting Dates: 2/2, 2/7, 2/9

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:
Prohibits the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission (OLCC) and the Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA)
from issuing new marijuana and hemp production licenses for applications received after January 1, 2022.
Requires annual report on prohibitions to Legislative Assembly. Sunsets prohibitions on March 31, 2024.
Authorizes OLCC to reissue marijuana licenses that have expired, been relinquished, or been otherwise
suspended. Allows district attorney to seek lien against building or property that owner has knowingly used or
allowed to be used for illegal hemp growing or handling. Requires marijuana industry workers to report to OLCC
and law enforcement if the person has a reasonable belief that sex trafficking, human trafficking, or the
prohibited employment of a minor is occurring on the licensed premises. Creates human trafficking coordinator
position within OLCC. Authorizes OLCC to allow a marijuana retailer mistakenly licensed to operate within 1,000
feet of a school to relocate without reapplying for a new license. Makes conforming statutory changes. Sets
operative dates. Declares emergency, effective on passage.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:
 Need for marijuana license moratoriums
 Current state  of marijuana industry
 Need for additional resources to combat illegal marijuana grows
 Potential funding impacts to Ballot Measure 110 programs
 Amendment provisions

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:
-1  Prohibits OLCC from issuing new marijuana production, processor, wholesaler, and retailor licenses for
applications received after January 1, 2022. Requires yearly report on prohibitions to the Legislative Assembly.

-2  Removes prohibition on ODA issuing new hemp production licenses for applications received after January 1,
2022.

-3  Makes modifications to the Illegal Marijuana Grant Enforcement Program (Program) administered by the
Oregon Criminal Justice Commission (CJC). Allows CJC to provide grants directly to community-based
organizations. Increases quarterly distribution from Oregon Marijuana Account to CJC to $4,000,000 starting on
July 1, 2023. Provides that $3,250,000 will be for grants to law enforcement and that $750,000 will be for grants
to community-based organizations. Requires annual report to Legislative Assembly on Program. Removes
Program sunset.

-6  Removes industrial hemp lien provisions in sections 7 and 8 of measure. 

BACKGROUND:
The production, processing, and sale of marijuana and hemp is legal under Oregon law. The Oregon Liquor and
Cannabis Commission (OLCC) has primary responsibility for regulating marijuana while the Oregon Department of
Agriculture (ODA) regulates hemp. To produce marijuana or hemp, the grower must be licensed by the regulating
agency. There is currently no restriction on how many production licenses can be issued though a moratorium on
the issuance of new marijuana production licenses was in place between 2019 and January 2, 2022 (See SB 218,
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2019). Processors, wholesalers, and retailers are also subject to licensing requirements. Marijuana and hemp must
be tested at several stages, both for contamination, and, in the case of hemp, to ensure the concentration of THC
is not above the .3 percent limit imposed by state and federal law. 

House Bill 4016 prohibits OLCC and ODA from issuing new marijuana and hemp production licenses and makes
other changes to the laws regulating cannabis in Oregon.


