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WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Authorizes the Water Resources Director to petition for a warrant authorizing entry onto land or inspection.
Requires a person that owns or operates a place of use at which hauled water is used for irrigation, nursery, or
agricultural purposes, or that hauls water to be used for irrigation, nursery, or agricultural purposes, to maintain
records for at least 12 months and to provide the records to the Oregon Water Resources Department (OWRD)
upon request. Prohibits a person that owns or operates a place of use at which hauled water is used for irrigation,
nursery, or agricultural purposes from soliciting or accepting hauled water from illegal source. Prohibits a person
from making false verbal or written statements or representation to OWRD regarding hauled water or hauling of
water. Authorizes the imposition of civil penalties for violation of requirements or prohibitions. Provides that
violation of the false statement or representation prohibition is subject to the maximum penalty of 364 days’
imprisonment, a $25,000 fine, or both. Instructs the Water Resources Commission to notify certain violators of
the time allowed to correct a violation within 10 business days after commission becomes aware of a violation.
Provides that civil penalty for certain violations may not exceed $5,000 per day for each day of violation.
Establishes an exception for a violation related to crops in the cannabis plant family, for which civil penalty may
not exceed $20,000 per day for each day of violation or the economic value of crop, whichever is greater. Instructs
the commission to consider the value of any crops in the cannabis plant family to which certain violations may
relate when imposing civil penalty for violation. Provides that certain violations are Class A misdemeanors, that
each day of violation constitutes separate offense, and that maximum fine is $25,000.

FISCAL: May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued.
REVENUE: May have revenue impact, but no statement issued.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

-1 Replaces the measure. Requires a city or county that sells water to the public at fill stations for hauled water to
maintain records of the water sales, provide the records to law enforcement or the Oregon Water Resources
Department (OWRD) upon request, and retain the records for at least 12 months. Allows a person to haul water
to a grow site for cannabis plants only if the grow site is legally registered or licensed. Requires OWRD to define
"water statements." Requires a person to provide a water statement to OWRD if the person applies for a new,
renewed, or modified license under cannabis and industrial hemp statutes. Requires OWRD to verify water
statements and send them to the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission (OLCC) and Oregon Department of
Agriculture (ODA). Authorizes OLCC and ODA to refuse to issue, renew, or allow modification of a license if OWRD
determines that the water statement does not identify a legal source of water or if the water statement is
inaccurate. Requires OWRD, and authorizes OLCC and ODA, to adopt rules for implementation. Provides for water
statement provisions to become operative on November 1, 2022. Changes the Water Resources Commission
timeline to notify violators of the time allowed to correct a violation from five to ten business days after the
commission first becomes aware of the violation. Establishes that violation with criminal negligence of provisions
related to hauling water only to registered or licensed grow sites is a Class A misdemeanor subject to a maximum
fine of $25,000. Establishes that violations of appropriation or ground water laws for cannabis crops at locations
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unconfirmed by relevant state agencies is also a Class A misdemeanor subject to a maximum fine of $25,000.
Penalties apply to offenses committed on or after January 1, 2023. Takes effect 91st following adjournment sine
die.

FISCAL: May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued.
REVENUE: May have revenue impact, but no statement issued.

BACKGROUND:

Illegal cannabis operations are using surface and ground water without water rights, depleting limited water
resources for legitimate agricultural, recreational, residential, municipal, and other uses.
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