PREVENTING YOUTH TOBACCO USE IN CENTRAL OREGON WITH TOBACCO RETAIL LICENSING

In Central Oregon counties, youth tobacco use is shocking: Anywhere from 19% – 24% of 11th graders use at least one type of tobacco product. These products include cigarettes, e-cigarettes, chew or smokeless, cigarillos (little cigars), large cigars, or hookah.ⁱ

How is this possible? The tobacco industry continues to market to youth—whom they call "replacement smokers"—**using fruit- and candy-flavored products, including vapes**, that appeal to youth and mask the harsh taste of tobacco, but still get them addicted to nicotine.ⁱⁱ Also, the tobacco industry **currently dictates to our local retailers** how to market tobacco products in a way that targets kids.ⁱⁱⁱ

Laws are in place that should prohibit people under 21 from purchasing tobacco products, but the fact that youth are continuing to use these products means there is a **lack of compliance**.

More than 1 in 6 Oregon tobacco retailers illegally sold tobacco to someone under 21.^{iv}

In Jefferson County, one in five retailers sold tobacco to a someone under the age of 21.^v In 2019 the FDA reported one violation of sale to minors in Crook County; as a result, it issued a warning letter—no fines were issued. In addition, less than half of Crook County tobacco retailers were inspected at all by the state or FDA. In Deschutes County, in 2019 inspections by the state, 6% of retailers inspected sold to youth under 21 years old.^{vi} Due to the state's limited capacity and resources, only a random sample of retailers is selected for compliance checks, and many tobacco retailers can go one or more years without being inspected. Any infraction putting our youth at risk for addiction is too many.

Tobacco retail licensing can keep tobacco out of the hands of our youth and protect them from a lifetime of addiction.^{vii}

- It levels the retail playing field by acknowledging retailers that are obeying the law and stopping and supporting those that aren't.
- It ensures that retailers have the education, training, and tools they need to stay in compliance with laws regulating the sale of tobacco and nicotine products, including e- cigarettes.

With sufficient funding for enforcement, it can ensure that every tobacco retailer is inspected annually and enforce restrictions on tobacco sales and marketing.

 A study of 33 communities outside of Oregon shows decreases in illegal youth tobacco sales since the passage of tobacco retail licensure with strong enforcement provisions.^{viii}

TOBACCO RETAIL LICENSING PROTECTS YOUTH!



Tobacco retail licensing is working toward reducing costs to businesses in the long term by preventing tobacco use. Each employee who smokes costs businesses approximately \$5,800 annually in lost productivity and increased health care costs ^{ix}.

Oregon is one of only seven states in the country that does not require a statewide tobacco retail license.^x There's already broad support: from city leaders, businesses, school officials and public health staff, as well as adults.

retail license policy YES 66% of Central Oregonians^{xi} of tobacco retailers in 53% Deschutes County^{xii} of tobacco retailers in

rice

Crook County indicated that they would say yes or consider supporting requiring stores to purchase a license to sell tobacco^{xiii}

Support of a tobacco

TOBACCO RETAIL LICENSING PROTECTS YOUTH!

45%

ontcial

Montclair_{Montclair}

Ps

https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/stateandcommunity/best practices/index.htm.

ⁱ Oregon Healthy Teens Survey, Tobacco use and related topics, county results, 2019.

https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/DISEASESCONDITIONS/CHRONICDISEASE/DATAREPORTS/Documents/datatables/ORCountyOHT Tobacco 11th.pdf Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids. "New Report Details How Tobacco Companies Have Made Cigarettes More Addictive, More Attractive to Kids and More Deadly." Campaign for Tobacco-

Free Kids, June 23, 2014. https://www.tobaccofreekids.org/press-releases/2014_06_23_report

iii Oregon Health Authority. "Assessing Oregon's Retail Environment: Shining Light on Tobacco Industry Tactics," 2019.

https://smokefreeoregon.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/TARA_StatewideRollup_2019.07.03_Accessible.pdf ^w Oregon Health Authority. "Oregon Tobacco Retail Enforcement Inspection Results," 2019 2018.

https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/DISEASESCONDITIONS/CHRONICDISEASE/HPCDPCONNECTION/TOBACCO/Documents/retail compliance/Enforcement results 1819.pdf. ^v Oregon Health Authority. "Oregon Tobacco Retail Enforcement Inspection Results," 2019 2018.

https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/DISEASESCONDITIONS/CHRONICDISEASE/HPCDPCONNECTION/TOBACCO/Documents/retail compliance/Enforcement results 1819.pdf. vi Oregon Health Authority. "Oregon Tobacco Retail Enforcement Inspection Results," 2019 2018.

https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/DISEASESCONDITIONS/CHRONICDISEASE/HPCDPCONNECTION/TOBACCO/Documents/retail compliance/Enforcement results 1819.pdf vii CDC Tobacco Free. "Best Practices for Comprehensive Tobacco Control Programs—2014." Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, December 12, 2019.

viii The American Lung Association in California Center for Tobacco Policy and Organizing. (2013). Tobacco retailer licensing is effective. Retrieved from https://center4tobaccopolicy.org/wpcontent/uploads/2016/10/Tobacco-Retailer-Licensing-is-Effective-September-2013.pdf

^{*} Berman M, Crane R, Seiber E, et al. Estimating the cost of a smoking employee, Tobacco Control 2014;23:428-433. https://tobaccocontrol.bmj.com/content/23/5/428

^{*} Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). "State Tobacco Activities Tracking and Evaluation (STATE) System, Estimates Are Modified by the Oregon Health Authority Based on Peerto-Peer Interviews," 2020. https://www.cdc.gov/statesystem/interactivemaps.html

xi Oregon Health Authority. Central Oregon Tobacco Prevention Campaign Evaluation Report. December 2018.

xii Deschutes County Health Services. Deschutes County Tobacco Retail License Fiscal Impact Report. July 2017.

xiii Interview data from Crook County Tobacco Retailers.pdf. 2017.