
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Background – The small business PTE tax rates were part of the Grand Bargain from the 2013 

special session. The package of bills passed during the special session included HB 3601, which 

among other provisions that raised revenue overall, created new tax rates for taxpayers with PTE 

business income meeting certain criteria, namely those with at least one full-time employee and 

those whose owners actively participate in the day-to-day operation of their businesses. The policy 

objective was to provide a more favorable rate structure for these businesses. 

Oregon Has Already Disconnected from Federal PTE Tax Policy – The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act 

(TCJA) of 2017 used a tax parity lens to make sure that both C corps and PTEs benefited as equally as 

possible from the tax cuts. C corps saw their corporate income tax rates reduced from 35% to 21% 

and pass-through businesses were able to apply a new 20% deduction (Sec. 199A) to reduce their 

federal tax liability. During the 2018 regular session, the Legislature passed SB 1528, which required 

an add-back of that federal deduction as Oregon taxable income because the state already had its 

own PTE tax policy. The Governor then called a special session to pass HB 4301, which expanded 

Oregon’s PTE rates to sole proprietorships (and single-owner LLC’s), a group of businesses that were 

left out of the original legislation. The net result was that while Oregon’s PTE policy now benefits 

around 25,000 businesses, hundreds of thousands of businesses missed out on the tax savings 

they would have received on their Oregon income taxes had the state remained connected to 

the federal 20% pass-through deduction. 

New, Retroactive Restrictions – While the -7’s and the -10’s broaden the lowest PTE rate (7%) to 

income up to $500,000 and provides a slight rate decrease (from 7.6% to 7.5%) for income between 

$500,000 and $1 million, businesses with more than $5 million in income would be prohibited from 

opting into the program starting January 1, 2021 (this is where the majority of the $30-40 revenue 

increase comes from). Additionally, a new requirement would be applied to S corps and partnerships 

(sole proprietorships would be exempt). Businesses subject to this requirement would need to 

meet or exceed a new “Oregon employee to Oregon owner ratio”, adjusted based on income, 

and/or reinvest at least 75% of business profits back into the business. 

Oregon Does Not Need the Money – The May Revenue Forecast was incredibly strong, projecting 

a $2.8 billion positive ending balance. This amounts to a $1.1 billion increase from the March 

Revenue Forecast and a $2.3 billion increase from the 2019 Close of Session Forecast. The state has 

also been allocated $2.6 billion in direct financial aid from the Biden Administration’s American 

Rescue Plan Act of 2021, in addition to ARPA funds for local jurisdictions. Given this, there is no 

budgetary justification for tax increases of any sort, including tax increases on pass-through 

businesses. 

 
 

For more information, please contact Anthony K. Smith, NFIB, Anthony.Smith@NFIB.org, (503) 364-4450 or 
Scott Bruun, OBI, ScottBruun@oregonbusinessindustry.com, (503) 720-1329 

https://nam12.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Folis.oregonlegislature.gov%2Fliz%2F2013S1%2FMeasures%2FOverview%2FHB3601&data=04%7C01%7CAnthony.Smith%40NFIB.ORG%7Ccb2929ed0017464bdbb208d92861f14c%7C5cd0a0cc694543ed87cb649f84121ea2%7C0%7C0%7C637585223427493788%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=spRPnkrXf7BdjCMysj%2BaSoOC3zfYoKOTomeDKFC8Rnk%3D&reserved=0
https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2018R1/Measures/Overview/SB1528
https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2018S1/Measures/Overview/HB4301
mailto:Anthony.Smith@NFIB.org
mailto:ScottBruun@oregonbusinessindustry.com

