
 
 

 
 
To:    The Honorable Nancy Nathanson, Chair 
 Members of the House Revenue Committee   
 
Re:  HB 3160 -2 Amendments – Wildfire Recovery and Insurance Surcharge 

APCIA, NAMIC, NWIC Position: OPPOSE Unless Amended   
 
Date: May 10, 2021     
 
Chair Nathanson and Members of the House Revenue Committee: 
 
The American Property Casualty Insurance Association (APCIA), National Association of 
Mutual Insurance Companies (NAMIC), and the Northwest Insurance Council (NWIC) are 
strongly opposed to Section 5 of the -2 amendments to HB 3160, which seeks to impose a new 
surcharge on all auto, home, and business insurance policies in Oregon. This $10-$50 special 
purpose surcharge would be imposed on each property insurance policy issued after the bill takes 
effect, and proceeds of the surcharge would fund wildfire mitigation measures through the 
Oregon Wildfire Preparedness and Community Protection Fund.  APCIA, NAMIC, and NWIC, 
who collectively represent most of the property and casualty insurers in the state of Oregon, 
appreciate the opportunity to submit our concerns with the -2 amendments to HB 3160. 
 
Insurers fully support the state’s efforts to promote forest health and protect communities from 
wildfire. We are supportive of establishing a dedicated account in Oregon, and fully support the 
goal of developing wildfire prevention, mitigation, and response planning in communities across 
Oregon.  In fact, insurers support programs that help grow wildfire-resistant communities (like 
the Firewise program) as well as research that helps train and equip firefighters and develop 
building materials that harden homes and buildings against fire (like the National Forest 
Protection Association and the Insurance Institute for Business & Home Safety). 
 
However, property and casualty insurers and policyholders in Oregon should not be singled out 
to shoulder the costs of these programs alone. The Oregon Wildfire Preparedness and 
Community Protection Fund should be paid for like other programs that provide societal benefits 
to the entire state, through the state general fund.  
 
Insurers are opposed to Section 5 of the -2 amendments, which would require insurers to collect 
and remit a $10-$50 surcharge on all property insurance policies. Oregon already puts a 
disproportionate tax burden on insurers. Like all corporations in Oregon, insurers must pay the 
corporate excise tax and corporate activity tax. But Oregon also imposes several insurance-
specific taxes, including a 1.15% gross tax on fire insurance premiums, an assessment of up to 
2% of all gross premiums to fund the Insurance Guaranty Association, and an assessment up to 
.09% of gross premiums to fund the Department of Consumer and Business Services.  Insurance 
premium taxes alone are the largest single industry contribution to Oregon’s general fund, and, at 
$122 million anticipated in the current biennium, are the third-largest source of state general 

  

  



 
 

fund revenue behind personal income taxes and corporate income and excise taxes (which, as 
noted, insurers also pay). 
 
In addition to corporate taxes, insurers also pay a gross receipts fire insurance premium tax to the 
state, which funds the state Fire Marshal’s office.  In 2014, the Legislature increased that tax rate 
from 1 percent to 1.15 percent. Even without further increases in the tax rate, the revenue from 
that tax has nearly doubled over the past 10 years, from $8 million in 2011 to nearly $15 million 
in 2020.   
 
Insurance taxes are ultimately paid, as with other industries, by consumers. And at a time when 
Oregon’s economy is showing signs of life, but so many are still struggling, we believe this is the 
wrong moment to add to those costs for insurance consumers.  The other sections of the bill 
provide great benefit – not just to insurance consumers, but to all Oregonians. Singling out 
people who are already paying to protect their homes from wildfire is unfair – any new fees (if 
necessary at all) should be broadly-based. 
 
Though the -2 amendments appear to try to limit the scope and breadth of insurance policies 
affected, merely deleting the word “casualty” from the bill will not meaningfully limit the scope 
of this surcharge because most insurance policies have both property and liability components 
(e.g., home and auto insurance both have property and liability coverage). This broad swath of 
policies would still be subject to the surcharge – even those with no direct connection to wildfire 
threats.   
 
Additionally, the -2 amendments make it clear that this surcharge would apply on per policy 
basis.  This could prove especially costly for businesses with multiple locations, per-vehicle 
policies and/or multiple policies covering different perils. If a business has separate policies, 
either to cover individual perils (such as coverage for farm inventory, agricultural products, farm 
vehicles and equipment, property coverage or other coverages), the surcharges will add up 
quickly.  Given the havoc the pandemic has wrought on businesses across the state, it seems like 
especially poor timing to make insurance policies more expensive, particularly in lines of 
coverage that have no connection to the wildfire threat. 
 
Additionally, it is worth noting and considering that the surcharge to be levied under this bill is 
still regressive.  A single parent with two children making $35,000 per year and renting an 
apartment in SE Portland would pay this new $10 tax on their $300-per-year renters’ policy. A 
family with dual incomes over $200,000 per year, with a $450,000 home and a $1,000 annual 
insurance premium will pay the same $10 tax.  
 
Also, it is unclear if the Division of Financial Regulation has access to information about policy 
premiums on an individual basis, and would thus be able to enforce the two-tiered policy 
surcharge with any accuracy. 
 
HB 3160 also presents a logistical question for insurers: What is an insurer supposed to do if the 
consumer fails to remit the tax?  
 



 
 

Finally, it should be noted that under unique tax law provisions that exclusively apply to 
insurance companies, Oregon domestic insurers (that is; insurers that are headquartered in 
Oregon) face the threat of paying retaliatory taxes in other states beyond Oregon’s borders.  
 
Under retaliatory tax provisions that exist in every state, an Oregon domestic insurer doing 
business in another state must pay that state’s premium tax rate, or the rate that is based on the 
taxes they pay in Oregon – whichever is higher. So, when the tax burden is increased on 
insurers writing business in Oregon, those companies that are headquartered in Oregon face the 
likelihood that they will pay higher taxes not just in Oregon, but in every state where they write 
insurance.  
 
Meanwhile, the competitors to Oregon-based insurers will also pay Oregon’s higher taxes, but 
because they are headquartered in other states, they will not face that retaliatory tax penalty. This 
results in uneven tax treatment for companies that choose to make Oregon their home state, 
putting Oregon companies at a competitive disadvantage to out-of-state competitors. And that 
complicated retaliatory tax mechanism could even reduce the amount of revenue that currently is 
paid to Oregon by out-of-state insurers, according to the revenue impact statement provided to 
the Committee by the Legislative Revenue Office.  
 
In closing, we suggest Oregon should not impose a new tax exclusively on insurance 
policyholders – people who already pay for insurance to protect their homes from the threat of 
wildfire – to pay for programs that clearly benefit all residents of and visitors to Oregon. 
 
A robust and competitive property and casualty insurance industry plays a significant role in 
mitigating the costs and risks associated with wildfires for Oregon’s communities. We urge the 
legislature to oppose this surcharge that would increase the cost of insurance at a time when 
affordable coverage is needed more than ever.  
 
Accordingly, for all of these reasons, APCIA, NAMIC, and NWIC urge you to vote NO on the -
2 Amendments to HB 3160. 
  
Respectfully submitted, 
 
 
Denneile Ritter, Assistant Vice President, State Government Relations  
American Property Casualty Insurance Association (APCIA)  
denneile.ritter@apci.org  
 
Christian J. Rataj, Sr. Regional Vice President  
National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies (NAMIC)  
crataj@namic.org   
 
Kenton Brine, President  
NW Insurance Council (NWIC)  
kenton.brine@nwinsurance.org  
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