

## 1201 Court Street NE, Suite 400, Salem, OR 97301 503-588-2800 | 800-578-6722 | Fax 503-588-2813 | www.osba.org

To: Senate Committee on Education

From: Richard Donovan, Legislative Services Specialist

Senate Bill 129

Date: Submitted February 3, 2021; resubmitted February 8, 2021

Chair Dembrow, Vice-Chair Thomsen, and members of the committee:

On behalf of OSBA membership, including 197 school districts and 19 Education Service Districts, thank you for the opportunity to testify in opposition to Senate Bill 129, a bill that would give the Teachers, Standards, and Practices Commission broad rulemaking authority to levy fees against public school districts, Education Service Districts, public charter schools, and education preparation program providers. It would also give the agency broad capability to pursue license violations with civil penalties.

The fee expansion contemplated by SB 129 has no precedence in recent education law. The agency's three-part structure of professional practice, licensure, and educator preparatory program oversight is largely funded by the fees from only one portion of the agency, the licensure portion. Unsurprisingly, the agency has seemingly struggled in recent years to find proper funding. Recent action on the topic of TSPC funding culminated in the agency raising license fees for educators and administrators less than two years ago.

If the agency faces the problem of needing additional funding, then a general fund allocation should be considered as an answer, especially given a recent fee hike. What should not be considered is an unrestrained levy on public school districts. This ability to take money from public classrooms and students is not good policy, especially not during a time of national pandemic, statewide educational lockdown, and a greater need than ever for local school funding. That is what SB 129 would allow.

Thank you for your time and attention. Please oppose SB 129.

## **OFFICERS**

President Maureen Wolf Tigard-Tualatin SD

President-elect Scott Rogers Athena-Weston SD

Vice President Sonja Mckenzie

Secretary-Treasurer Patti Norris Crook County SD

Past President Kevin Cassidy Baker SD

## DIRECTORS

Sami Al-AbdRabbuh Oregon School Board Members of Color Caucus

**Chris Cronin** John Day SD

Jackie Crook South Coast ESD

**Terry Deacon** Linn Benton Lincoln ESD

**Katrina Doughty** 

Libra Forde North Clackamas SD

**Linda Hamilton** Lane ESD

Kris Howatt Gresham-Barlow SD

**Greg Kintz** 

Melissa LaCrosse Jefferson SD

Jesse Lippold

Erika Lopez Hillsboro SD

**Brandy Penner** Newberg SD

**Lori Theros** Klamath Falls City Schools

**Dawn Watson** Phoenix-Talent SD

## **EX-OFFICIO DIRECTORS**

COSA/OASE **Craig Hawkins** 

OAESD Kelly Bissinger

State Board of Education **Kimberly Howard** 

**EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR** 

Jim Green

**DEPUTY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR** 

Mary Paulson