Hello. My name is Lisa Duffield. | am a certified in home childcare provider of 14 years. |
run a 3 star spark rated program and pride myself in being able to serve all children in
my community. | am in the process of opening another home and have never had such
a hard time as | have experienced in the last few months. When | first started out in
2006 | rented one home for 5 years and then moved to a bigger one for 5 years. | guess
| was lucky at that time to have landlords not discriminate against me having a child
care. In the last 2 months | have contacted over 20 properties individual owner and
property management companies inquiring about homes that would work perfect for us
and the second | say | have a child care they instantly say no. | have even offered 6
months advance rent, extra deposit and more than they were asking for rent. | have
liability and renters insurance, so landlords are not liable. With all the rules we are held
to to keep our childcare facilities clean and in good repair, we are actually better
candidates than a single family with multiple kids that aren’t subject to multiple
inspections a year. Our childcare children are taught to respect property and each other.
With the shortage of rentals right now and the loss and or lack of childcare facilities due
to Covid this will only add to the childcare crisis in Oregon if landlords are allowed to
continue this behavior. Please approve this bill so landlords can no longer discriminate
against in home childcare providers and so we can to continue to build the supply of
childcare facilities in Oregon.

| believe this law would need to be amended to add landlords as well to make sure they are
protected. Also modifying the proposed bill to say renters are required to have daycare liability
insurance as well as rental.

Here is the statute and California law

https://www.childcarelaw.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/Know-the-Law-About-Family-Child-C
are-in-California-Rental-Property-For-Landlords.pdf

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills laws/ors/ors742.html

742.260 is what pertains to childcare. When | bought my home 3 years ago | went through a
horrible time with my homeowners insurance trying to cancel my policy, until | brought this law
up.

Thank You Lisa Duffield Owner of Lisa’s Wiggle Worms
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