

1201 Court Street NE, Suite 400, Salem, OR 97301 503-588-2800 | 800-578-6722 | Fax 503-588-2813 | www.osba.org

To: House Committee on Economic Recovery and Prosperity

From: Richard Donovan, Legislative Services Specialist

Re: House Bill 2507 Date: February 4, 2021

Chair Lively, Vice-Chairs Kate and Kropf, and members of the committee:

On behalf of OSBA membership, including 197 school districts and 19 Education Service Districts, thank you for the opportunity to testify in support of House Bill 2507.

On March 8, 2020, Gov. Kate Brown declared a state of emergency regarding the COVID-19 global pandemic. Since that time school districts statewide have been delivering instruction remotely, through comprehensive distance learning. Generally, CDL is delivered online using real-time video conferencing tools. Access to this kind of instruction requires appropriate and reliable high-speed internet home access.

In the midst of this pandemic, some Oregon communities were ravaged by the wildfires of the summer of 2020. During that time, Oregon burned. And some families and students in school districts in these communities lost homes, jobs, incomes, and access to public facilities, including school buildings.

HB 2507 would make modest changes to the Oregon Telephone Assistance Program. OTAP is a program that supports home telephone and internet access to Oregon's most needy by subsidizing costs associated with that access. The bill would extend the sunset on the program from the current 2023 to 2030. It would also make clear that Oregon's OTAP program is not paired with federal programs on the same topic.

During a time of unprecedented upheaval for challenges, HB 2507 would make targeted changes to an existing program with no known opposition. The program benefits some of Oregon's neediest families have access to telephone and internet services that are now, more than ever, crucial to day-to-day life and education.

Thank you for your time. Please support HB 2507.

OFFICERS

President Maureen Wolf Tigard-Tualatin SD

President-elect Scott Rogers Athena-Weston SD

Vice President Sonja Mckenzie Parkrose SD

Secretary-Treasurer Patti Norris Crook County SD

Past President Kevin Cassidy Baker SD

DIRECTORS

Sami Al-AbdRabbuh Oregon School Board Members of Color Caucus

Chris Cronin John Day SD

Jackie Crook South Coast ESD

Terry Deacon Linn Benton Lincoln ESD

Katrina Doughty

Libra FordeNorth Clackamas SD

Linda Hamilton

Kris Howatt Gresham-Barlow SD

Greg Kintz

Melissa LaCrosse Jefferson SD

Jesse Lippold Salem-Keizer SD

Erika Lopez Hillsboro SD

Brandy Penner Newberg SD

Lori Theros Klamath Falls City Schools

Dawn Watson Phoenix-Talent SD

EX-OFFICIO DIRECTORS

COSA/OASE
Craig Hawkins

OAESD Kelly Bissinger

State Board of Education Kimberly Howard

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Jim Green

DEPUTY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Mary Paulson