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1. Total hours supervised experience required post degree  
 

1. Total post degree supervision hours required in 100% of states  

 Number of states Percentage of all states 

Number of states with requirement 54 100% 

Requirement is in hours 47 89% 

Requirement is in months 1 4% 

Requirement is in years 4 7% 

Requirement not specified 1 4% 

All hours must be in direct clinical contact 3 6% 

 

1. Total post degree supervised experience hours required summary  

Hours1 Number of states Percentage of all states 

1500 1 2% 

2000 2 4% 

3000 28 60% 

3200 3 6% 

3360 1 2% 

3500 2 4% 

3600 2 4% 

4000 7 15% 

5760 1 2% 

1Seven states use a value other than hours 
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1. Total post degree supervised experience hours required by state 

Jurisdiction Clinical license title abbreviation 
Minimum Post Degree Practice Hours 
Required Under Supervision 

Iowa LISW Required, number of hours not specified 

Indiana LCSW 2 years 

Northern Mariana Islands LCSW 2 years 

South Dakota CSW-PIP 2 years 

Virgin Islands CISW 2 years 

Florida1 LCSW 1500 hours 

Illinois LCSW 2000 hours 

New York1 LCSW 2000 hours 

Alabama LICSW 24 months 

Mississippi LCSW 24 months 

Alaska LCSW 3000 hours 

California LCSW 3000 hours 

Connecticut LCSW 3000 hours 

District of Columbia LICSW 3000 hours 

Georgia LCSW 3000 hours 

Guam LCSW 3000 hours 

Hawaii LCSW 3000 hours 

Idaho LCSW 3000 hours 

Kansas LSCSW 3000 hours 

Maryland LCSW-C 3000 hours 

Missouri LCSW 3000 hours 

Montana LCSW 3000 hours 

Nebraska LMHP 3000 hours 

Nevada CSW 3000 hours 

New Hampshire LICSW 3000 hours 

New Jersey LCSW 3000 hours 

North Dakota LICSW 3000 hours 

Ohio LISW 3000 hours 

Pennsylvania LCSW 3000 hours 

Rhode Island LICSW 3000 hours 

South Carolina LISW-CP 3000 hours 

Tennessee LCSW 3000 hours 
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1. Total post degree supervised experience hours required by state 

Jurisdiction Clinical license title abbreviation 
Minimum Post Degree Practice Hours 
Required Under Supervision 

Texas LCSW 3000 hours 

Vermont LICSW 3000 hours 

Virginia LCSW 3000 hours 

Wisconsin LCSW 3000 hours 

Wyoming LCSW 3000 hours 

North Carolina1 LCSW 3000 hours 

Arizona LCSW 3200 hours 

Delaware LCSW 3200 hours 

Maine LCSW (LC) 3200 hours 

Colorado LCSW 3360 hours 

Massachusetts LICSW 3500 hours 

Oregon LCSW 3500 hours 

Kentucky LCSW 3600 hours 

New Mexico LCSW 3600 hours 

Arkansas LCSW 4000 hours 

Michigan LMSW-C 4000 hours 

Minnesota LICSW 4000 hours 

Oklahoma LCSW 4000 hours 

Utah LCSW 4000 hours 

Washington LICSW 4000 hours 

West Virginia LICSW 4000 hours 

Louisiana LCSW 5760 hours 

1All hours must be earned while in direct contact with client 

 

1.a. Total hours spent in direct client contact specified in 24 or 44% of states 
 

1.a. Total direct client contact hours required summary 

Hours Number of states Percentage of states (with requirement) 

750 1 4% 

800 1 4% 

1000 3 13% 

1200 1 4% 

1380 1 4% 

1500 7 29% 

1600 1 4% 
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1.a. Total direct client contact hours required summary 

Hours Number of states Percentage of states (with requirement) 

1750 1 4% 

1872 1 4% 

1920 1 4% 

2000 4 17% 

3000 2 8% 

 

1.a. Total direct client contact hours required by state 

Jurisdiction Minimum Direct Client Hours Required 

California 750 hours 

Guam 800 hours 

Mississippi 1000 hours 

Washington 1000 hours 

Wisconsin 1000 hours 

Wyoming 1200 hours 

Virginia 1380 hours 

Florida 1500 hours 

Kansas 1500 hours 

Maryland 1500 hours 

Montana 1500 hours 

Nebraska 1500 hours 

Pennsylvania 1500 hours 

Rhode Island 1500 hours 

Arizona 1600 hours 

Idaho 1750 hours 

Kentucky 1872 hours 

New Jersey 1920 hours 

Nevada 2000 hours 

New York 2000 hours 

Oregon 2000 hours 

Vermont 2000 hours 

North Carolina 3000 hours 

Oklahoma 3000 hours 

 

1.b.i. Total hours in direct contact with supervisor specified in 48 or 89% of states 
 

1.b.i. Total hours in direct contact with supervisor summary 

Hours Number of states Percentage of states 

300 1 2% 

200 1 2% 

150 5 10% 

144 1 2% 

130 1 2% 

120 1 2% 
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1.b.i. Total hours in direct contact with supervisor summary 

Hours Number of states Percentage of states 

104 3 6% 

100 26 54% 

96 7 15% 

90 1 2% 

75 1 2% 

 
1.b.i. Total hours in direct contact with supervisor by state  

Jurisdiction Minimum Direct Supervisor Contact Hours Required 

Vermont 75 hours 

New Mexico 90 hours 

Alabama 96 hours 

Colorado 96 hours 

Indiana 96 hours 

Louisiana 96 hours 

Maine 96 hours 

Michigan 96 hours 

New Jersey 96 hours 

Alaska 100 hours 

Arizona 100 hours 

Connecticut 100 hours 

Delaware 100 hours 

District of Columbia 100 hours 

Florida 100 hours 

Guam 100 hours 

Hawaii 100 hours 

Idaho 100 hours 

Massachusetts 100 hours 

Minnesota 100 hours 

Mississippi 100 hours 

Missouri 100 hours 

Montana 100 hours 

New Hampshire 100 hours 

New York 100 hours 

North Carolina 100 hours 

Oklahoma 100 hours 

Oregon 100 hours 

South Carolina 100 hours 

Tennessee 100 hours 

Texas 100 hours 

Utah 100 hours 

Virginia 100 hours 

West Virginia 100 hours 
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1.b.i. Total hours in direct contact with supervisor by state  

Jurisdiction Minimum Direct Supervisor Contact Hours Required 

Wyoming 100 hours 

California 104 hours 

Nevada 104 hours 

Wisconsin 104 hours 

Georgia 120 hours 

Washington 130 hours 

Maryland 144 hours 

Kansas 150 hours 

North Dakota 150 hours 

Ohio 150 hours 

Pennsylvania 150 hours 

Rhode Island 150 hours 

Kentucky 200 hours 

Nebraska 300 hours 

 
1.b.ii. Minimum hours face-to-face direct contact with supervisor specified in 33 or 61% of states 
 

1.b.ii. Minimum hours face-to-face contact with supervisor required summary 

Percentage of total supervisor hours Number of states Percentage of states (with requirement) 

100% 16 48% 

75% 4 12% 

60% 3 9% 

50% 9 27% 

46% 1 3% 

 

1.b.ii. Minimum hours face-to-face contact with supervisor required by state  

Jurisdiction Minimum Direct Supervisor Contact Hours Required 

Vermont 37.5 hours 

Colorado 48 hours 

Michigan 48 hours 

Massachusetts 50 hours 

Minnesota 50 hours 

Montana 50 hours 

Virginia 50 hours 

Guam 60 hours 

Tennessee 60 hours 

West Virginia 60 hours 

Washington 60 hours 

New Mexico 68 hours 

Maine 72 hours 

Mississippi 75 hours 

Pennsylvania 75 hours 
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1.b.ii. Minimum hours face-to-face contact with supervisor required by state  

Jurisdiction Minimum Direct Supervisor Contact Hours Required 

Louisiana 96 hours 

Arkansas 100 hours 

Connecticut 100 hours 

Delaware 100 hours 

Hawaii 100 hours 

Idaho 100 hours 

New Hampshire 100 hours 

New York 100 hours 

North Carolina 100 hours 

Oklahoma 100 hours 

South Carolina 100 hours 

Texas 100 hours 

Utah 100 hours 

Wyoming 100 hours 

Nevada 104 hours 

Rhode Island 112.5 hours 

North Dakota 150 hours 

Nebraska 150 hours 

 

1.b.iii. Distance supervision expressly allowed in 25 or 46% of states 
 

1.b.iii. Maximum hours distance supervision with supervisor 

Percentage of total supervisor hours Number of states Percentage of states (with requirement) 

Not specified 2 8% 

100% 13 52% 

50% 4 16% 

46% 2 8% 

25% 4 16% 

 

1.b.iii. Maximum hours distance supervision with supervisor by state 

Jurisdiction Maximum 
Hours Allowed 

Acceptable Methods of Distance Supervision 

Alabama 96 hours Individual supervision is defined as one supervisee meeting face-to-face 
 
with one supervisor. It can also be live, interactive, visual communication 
as long as all three components are met during the session. 
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1.b.iii. Maximum hours distance supervision with supervisor by state 

Jurisdiction Maximum 
Hours Allowed 

Acceptable Methods of Distance Supervision 

Alaska 100 hours Distance supervision may be granted by exception by the board. 
 
To receive the exception an applicant who practices in a remote location 
must, before the supervision begins, submit a written request to the board 
to allow supervision by telephonic or electronic means. 
 
The board will approve a request for telephonic or electronic supervision 
of an applicant who practices in a remote location if the board determines 
that 
(1) approved clinical supervisors are not practicing at, or within a 
reasonable distance of, that location; or 
(2) the approved clinical supervisors practicing at that location cannot 
provide appropriate supervision because of the supervisor's relationship 
to the applicant, a possible conflict of interest, or other good cause shown. 
(e) For good cause shown to the board's satisfaction, the board will accept 
an alternate plan of supervision that varies from the requirement of this 
section, if the applicant: 
(1) submits the alternate plan in writing to the board; and 
(2) receives approval of the alternate plan by the board before the 
applicant begins the alternate supervised experience. 

Arizona 25 hours Telephonically lasting at least 30 minutes is acceptable; Videoconferencing 
counts as face to face per clinical supervision definition. 

Arkansas 100 hours   

California 104 hours Two-way video conferencing is allowed for licensees working for a 
governmental entity, school, college, or university, or an institution that is 
both a nonprofit and charitable institution. 

Colorado 48 hours Acceptable modes of supervision include but are not limited to individual, 
group, telephone, electronic mail, audio-visual, process recording, direct 
observation, telecommunication (teleconferencing, fax, videotapes), and 
hospital rounds. The appropriate modality of supervision shall be 
determined by the training, education, and experience of the supervisee, 
and the treatment setting (i.e. urban/rural, or the availability of resources 
and at all times based on community standards and client needs) 

Delaware 50 hours Live video conferencing is permitted for no more than 50% of the total 
supervision provided in any given month 
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1.b.iii. Maximum hours distance supervision with supervisor by state 

Jurisdiction Maximum 
Hours Allowed 

Acceptable Methods of Distance Supervision 

Hawaii 100 hours Face-to-face supervision can be conducted electronically through a video 
conference service that is compliant with all federal and state privacy, 
security, and confidentiality laws, including the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996. 

Indiana 48 hours 50% of supervision may occur through virtual technology 

Iowa Not specified   

Kansas Not specified Supervisees that use videoconferencing for a portion of their supervision 
must provide written verification of the technological security measure 
implemented to protect confidentiality. 

Kentucky 100 hours Individual supervision may include electronic supervision of one direct 
meeting per month. Electronic supervision may be used for one (1) direct 
meeting per month but only after the first twenty-five (25) hours of 
individual supervision hours have been obtained in face-to-face, in-person 
meetings where the supervisor and supervisee are physically present in 
the same room. No more than fifty (50) percent of the individual 
supervision hours may be obtained in an electronic format. "Electronic 
supervision" means the use of computers and other electronic means by 
which the supervisor and supervisee use interactive video technology, in 
real-time, with video and audio interaction for individual and group 
supervision. 

Maine 96 hours Videoconference permitted but not telephone or any other audio-only 
technology 

Minnesota 25 hours Eye-to-eye electronic media, while maintaining visual contact. 

Mississippi 25 hours Supervision may include alternate means of supervision by audio or 
audiovisual electronic device provided there is direct, interactive, live 
exchange between the supervisor and supervisee or provided that 
communication is verbally or visually interactive between the supervisor 
and the supervisee. 

Missouri 100 hours The use of electronic communications is acceptable for meeting 
supervision requirements only if the ethical standards for confidentiality 
are maintained and the communication is verbally and visually interactive 
between the supervisor and the supervisee. 

Nevada 104 hours Via any synchronous system of delivery e.g. telephone, webinar, Skype, 
etc. Distance supervision must be pre-approved by the Board and is done 
on a case by case basis prior to the supervision. 

New Mexico 22.5 hours   
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1.b.iii. Maximum hours distance supervision with supervisor by state 

Jurisdiction Maximum 
Hours Allowed 

Acceptable Methods of Distance Supervision 

North Dakota 150 hours Telephone, audio or audiovisual electronic device. Face-to-face 
supervision means a direct, interactive, live exchange, either in person, by 
telephone, or by audio or audiovisual electronic device in either individual 
or group supervision. 

Oklahoma 100 hours Video conference such as SKYPE, Face-time, Agency Video Conferencing, 
etc. Distance supervision must be pre-approved by the board and is done 
so on a case by case basis. 

Oregon 100 hours Video conference 

Texas 100 hours   

Utah 100 hours Live video conferencing 

Washington 60 hours   

West Virginia 30 hours   

 

2. The frequency of supervision specified in 39 or 72% of states 
 

2. Minimum frequency of supervision summary 

Minimum Frequency of Supervision Number of states Percentage of all states 

1 hour per week 12 31% 

2 hours per week 3 8% 

2 hours per month 2 5% 

3 hours per month 1 3% 

4 hours per month 5 13% 

1 hour per 15 hours of practice 1 3% 

1 hour per 20 hours of practice 2 5% 

1 hour per 30 hours of practice 3 8% 

1 hour per 32 hours of practice 1 3% 

1 hour per 40 hours of practice 6 15% 

2 hours per 80 hours of practice 1 3% 

2 hours per 160 hours of practice 1 3% 

 

2. Minimum frequency of supervision by state 

Jurisdiction Minimum Frequency of Supervision 

Florida 1 hour per 15 hours of practice 

Kansas 1 hour for every 20 practice hours 

Ohio 1 hour for every 20 practice hours 

North Carolina 1 hour for every 30 practice hours 

Tennessee 1 hour for every 30 practice hours 

Wyoming 1 hour for every 30 practice hours 

Iowa 1 hour for every 40 practice hours 

New Mexico 1 hour for every 40 practice hours 
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2. Minimum frequency of supervision by state 

Jurisdiction Minimum Frequency of Supervision 

Texas 1 hour for every 40 practice hours 

Vermont 1 hour for every 40 practice hours 

Virginia 1 hour for every 40 practice hours 

Arkansas 1 hour per week 

California 1 hour per week 

Colorado 1 hour per week 

Delaware 1 hour per week 

Mississippi 1 hour per week 

Nebraska 1 hour per week 

Nevada 1 hour per week 

New Hampshire 1 hour per week 

New Jersey 1 hour per week 

Oklahoma 1 hour per week 

Wisconsin 1 hour per week 

Maine 1 hour per week / 4 hours per month 

District of Columbia 1 hour supervision per 32 practice hours 

Montana 2 hours for every 160 practice hours 

Kentucky 2 hours for every 2 weeks of practice 

Missouri 2 hours for every 2 weeks of practice 

Rhode Island 2 hours for every 2 weeks of practice 

Pennsylvania 2 hours for every 40 practice hours 

Louisiana 2 hours for every 80 practice hours 

New York 2 hours per month 

Oregon 2 hours per month per month 

Maryland 3 hours per month 

Minnesota 4 hours for every 160 practice hours 

Alabama 4 hours per month 

Illinois 4 hours per month 

Indiana 4 hours per month 

Michigan 4 hours per month 

South Dakota 4 hours per month 

 

3. A minimum time period in which supervision can be earned specified in 44 or 81% of states 
 

3. Minimum time period to accrue supervision summary 

Minimum Time Period of Supervision Number of states Percentage of all states 

Not specified 10 19% 
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3. Minimum time period to accrue supervision summary 

Minimum Time Period of Supervision Number of states Percentage of all states 

18 months 1 2% 

24 months 3 6% 

No less than 100 weeks 1 2% 

2 years 35 65% 

36 months 3 6% 

3 years 1 2% 

 

3. Minimum time period to accrue supervision by state 

Jurisdiction Minimum Time to Accrue Time 

Connecticut Not specified 

Illinois Not specified 

Louisiana Not specified 

Massachusetts Not specified 

Michigan Not specified 

Minnesota Not specified 

Nebraska Not specified 

North Dakota Not specified 

South Dakota Not specified 

Virgin Islands Not specified 

Wyoming 18 months 

Indiana 24 months 

Mississippi 24 months 

Missouri 24 months 

Florida No less than 100 weeks 

Alaska 2 years 

Arizona 2 years 

Arkansas 2 years 

California 2 years 

Colorado 2 years 

Delaware 2 years 

District of Columbia 2 years 

Guam 2 years 

Hawaii 2 years 

Idaho 2 years 

Iowa 2 years 

Kansas 2 years 

Kentucky 2 years 

Maine 2 years 

Maryland 2 years 

Montana 2 years 

Nevada 2 years 
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3. Minimum time period to accrue supervision by state 

Jurisdiction Minimum Time to Accrue Time 

New Hampshire 2 years 

New Jersey 2 years 

New Mexico 2 years 

North Carolina 2 years 

Northern Mariana Islands 2 years 

Ohio 2 years 

Oklahoma 2 years 

Oregon 2 years 

Pennsylvania 2 years 

Rhode Island 2 years 

South Carolina 2 years 

Tennessee 2 years 

Texas 2 years 

Utah 2 years 

Vermont 2 years 

Virginia 2 years 

West Virginia 2 years 

Wisconsin 2 years 

Alabama 36 months 

Georgia 36 months 

New York 36 months 

Washington 3 years 

 
4. A maximum time period in which supervision can be earned specified in 27 or 50% of states 
 

4. Maximum time period to accrue supervision summary 

Maximum Time Period Number of states Percentage of all states 

Not specified 27 50% 

36 months 2 4% 

3 years 3 6% 

48 months 1 2% 

4 years 5 9% 

60 months 1 2% 

5 years 4 7% 

72 months 1 2% 

6 years 8 15% 

108 months 1 2% 

10 years 1 2% 
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4. Maximum time period to accrue supervision by state 

Jurisdiction Maximum Time to Accrue Time 

Alabama Not specified 

Arizona Not specified 

Arkansas Not specified 

Colorado Not specified 

Connecticut Not specified 

Delaware Not specified 

Florida Not specified 

Illinois Not specified 

Indiana Not specified 

Louisiana Not specified 

Maine Not specified 

Massachusetts Not specified 

Michigan Not specified 

Minnesota Not specified 

Montana Not specified 

Nebraska Not specified 

New Hampshire Not specified 

Northern Mariana Islands Not specified 

Ohio Not specified 

Oklahoma Not specified 

South Dakota Not specified 

Utah Not specified 

Vermont Not specified 

Virgin Islands Not specified 

Washington Not specified 

West Virginia Not specified 

Wisconsin Not specified 

Mississippi 36 months 

Wyoming 36 months 

Kentucky 3 years 

Nevada 3 years 

New Jersey 3 years 

Missouri 48 months 

District of Columbia 4 years 

North Dakota 4 years 

South Carolina 4 years 

Texas 4 years 
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4. Maximum time period to accrue supervision by state 

Jurisdiction Maximum Time to Accrue Time 

Virginia 4 years 

New Mexico 60 months 

Guam 5 years 

Hawaii 5 years 

Idaho 5 years 

Oregon 5 years 

New York 72 months 

California 6 years 

Iowa 6 years 

Kansas 6 years 

Maryland 6 years 

North Carolina 6 years 

Pennsylvania 6 years 

Rhode Island 6 years 

Tennessee 6 years 

Georgia 108 months 

Alaska 10 years 

 
5. Supervision plan requirements 
 
Supervision plan required in 32 or 59% of states 

• Required content defined in 20 or 37% of states (with requirement) 

• Must be approved in 15 or 28% of states (with requirement) 

• Must be filed with the board in 26 or 48% of states (with requirement) 

• Board notification required when supervision is terminated in 18 or 33% of states (with requirement) 
 

6. Supervision reporting requirements 
 
Supervision reporting is required 31 or 57% of states 
 
Reporting frequency: 

• Annually – 3 states or 710 of states (with requirement) 

• Semi-annually – 6 states or 21% of states (with requirement) 

• Quarterly – 2 states or 7% of states (with requirement) 

• When supervision is terminated – 12 states or 43% of states (with requirement) 

• Reporting frequency not specified – 2 states or 7% of states (with requirement) 

• Other – 3 states or 11% of states (with requirement) 
o A record of supervision required in the event there is a discrepancy in hours reported by the supervisor 

and supervisee 
o After the first 1500 hours of work or 75 hours of supervision or whenever there is a supervisor change 
o Reporting required at 25, 50 and 100 hours of educational supervision. 
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7. Supervisor requirements 
 
The supervisor must be registered and pre-approved in 24 or 44% of states 
 
The supervisor must be a licensed clinical social worker in 27 or 52% of states, otherwise state gives minimum hourly 
requirement with LCSW 
 
The supervisor must meet requirements for minimum practice experience post licensure in 29 or 56% of states 
 
The supervisor must meet requirements for initial training prior to performing supervision in 23 or 44% of states  


