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WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Directs the presiding judge of a judicial district to enter a standing pretrial release order specifying persons and
offenses subject to release on recognizance, conditional release, and those not eligible for release until
arraignment. Directs the Chief Justice of the Oregon Supreme Court to establish release guidelines for pretrial
release orders described with input from a criminal justice advisory committee appointed by the Chief Justice. The
developed guidelines should: provide consistent release decision-making structure across the state; reduce
reliance on the use of security; include provisions for victim input and notification; and balance the rights of the
defendant and presumption of pretrial release against any risk to public safety and of failure to appear. Directs
pretrial release assistance officer to make reasonable efforts to contact the victim and obtain victim's position on
release prior to submitting a report or making a release decision as authorized, if defendant is charged with
certain crimes. Removes mandatory minimum bail amounts from statute. Requires release decisions to be made
at the time of arraignment or other first appearance unless good cause to postpone, as defined by measure, is
shown. Directs the district attorney to make reasonable efforts to inform the victim of the location, date, and time
of the appearance and requires the victim be provided opportunity to reasonably express any views relevant to
the issues addressed at the appearance. If a release decision is postponed, requires court, upon request by a party
or the court's own motion, to hold a release hearing within 48 hours of arraignment or first appearance, but
under no circumstances more than five days after first appearance. Authorizes a law enforcement agency to
release a booking photo to the court as part of a pretrial release report or process. Allows the Oregon Judicial
Department (0JD) to take action to comply with requirements established by measure prior to the operative date
of July 1, 2022, if necessary to satisfy the duties, functions, and powers conferred on OJD.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

e Correlation between pretrial detention and prison sentences
Disparate impact of cash bail on people of color

Security in practice as proxy for dangerousness
Constitutional provisions relating to security release

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:
Replaces the measure.

BACKGROUND:

The Oregon Constitution provides a right to bail except for when an individual is charged with murder or treason
(Art. 1 §14) or when the defendant is charged with a violent felony (Art. | §43), so long as certain evidentiary
thresholds are met. If a defendant does not fall under one of the two exceptions above, courts must consider
whether to release the defendant or to require security. If security release is ordered by a court, the defendant is
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required to deposit 10 percent of their security amount and agree to any other conditions imposed, before they
can be released. In 2017, the legislature reconvened the Public Safety Task Force (PSTF) to study security release,
including the disparate impact on racial and ethnic populations, and to study alternative mechanisms of reducing
failure to appear at court hearings. In December of 2020, the PSTF submitted its final report to the Legislative
Assembly with recommendations for changes to Oregon’s pretrial framework. The PSTF report included
recommendations to reduce reliance on security release and to eliminate mandatory minimum bail amounts in
statute.

Senate Bill 48 B eliminates certain mandatory minimum security amounts currently in statute and requires courts
and pretrial release officers to conduct individualized assessments when making release determinations and
setting security.
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