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WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Extends time by which local law enforcement officials must post a written notice before removing homeless
individuals from an established camping site from 24 hours to 72 hours. Requires notice be posted at all
reasonably identifiable entrances to a camping site. Defines “personal property” as any item that can reasonably
be identified as belonging to an individual and that has apparent value or utility. Clarifies requirements for the
removal and storage of personal property, the disposal of unclaimed items which have no apparent value or are in
an unsanitary condition, and the confiscation of weapons, drugs, or other items that appear to be stolen or
evidence of a crime. Requires that unclaimed personal property at a camping site be given to a law enforcement
official, social service or outreach agency serving homeless individuals, a local agency official, or a person
authorized to issue a citation for unlawful camping. Requires that unclaimed personal property be stored in a
facility in the same community as the camping site from which it was removed, and in a manner that is orderly
and is made reasonably available for an individual to claim. Provides that any law or policy of a local government
that is more specific or offers greater protections to homeless individuals subject to removal from an established
camping site preempts contrary provisions of this Act. Extends time period for notice requirements from 48 hours
to 72 hours for Department of Transportation-owned property that is subject to an intergovernmental agreement
between the department and a city that has a population of 500,000 or more for the removal and storage of
personal property from an established camping site. Declares emergency, effective on passage.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

e Whether counties or state-owned parks should also be subject to provisions that apply to incorporated cities

e Expense and time required to store and account for personal property for 90 days, and particular burdens on
small cities with limited capacity

e Failure of campsite cleanups to humanize the experiences of homeless individuals, at times inhibiting social
services providers from connecting transient campers with essential medical and basic services

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

Requires that unclaimed personal property at a camping site be given to a law enforcement official, social service
or outreach agency serving homeless individuals, a local agency official, or a person authorized to issue a citation
for unlawful camping. Requires that unclaimed personal property be stored in a facility in the same community as
the camping site from which it was removed. Retains statutory requirement that local agencies store unclaimed
personal property removed from a camping site for a minimum of 30 days.

BACKGROUND:

Oregon’s rate of homeless individuals who are unsheltered is one of the highest in the United States. A 2019
Urban Institute report found that 24 percent (10,142 individuals) of homeless individuals in Oregon were
unsheltered. According to Oregon Housing and Community Services, the number of unsheltered homeless
individuals has increased by 37 percent since 2015, and the department's 2019 Statewide Shelter Study calculated
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a shortfall of 5,800 emergency shelter beds for individuals and families.

Oregon Law provides a set of required elements that local governments must adopt as part of policies related to
camping by homeless individuals. Through legal settlements or ordinances, some local governments have
established specific guidelines governing the removal of homeless individuals from public property being used for
the purpose of shelter or temporary residence and for the storage and/or disposal of property discovered within
an established camping site.

House Bill 3124 A increases to 72 hours the notice required before law enforcement officials remove homeless
individuals from an established camping site. It clarifies requirements for the removal, storage, or disposal of
unclaimed personal property, and provides that locally established laws and policies providing greater protections
to homeless individuals preempt any contrary provisions in this measure.
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