
 

WHAT IS CRIME VICTIMS’ 

COMPENSATION? 
 

 

In 1977, the Oregon Crime Victims’ Compensation 

(CVC) Program was created to assist victims of violent 

crime with expenses associated with the crime. Violent 

crime includes domestic violence, sexual assault, child 

abuse, robbery, assault, homicide or other compensable 

crimes resulting in a physical or psychological injury.  

The mission of the CVC program is to ease the financial 

impact of these crimes on victims, survivors and their 

families. 

 
 

 

CVC PAYS FOR REASONABLE 

CRIME- RELATED EXPENSES 

INCLUDING: 

 
 Up to $20,000 for medical and/or counseling* 

expenses including eyeglasses, hearing aids, 

dentures, and other medically necessary devices and 

expenses. 

 Up to $20,000 for grief counseling expenses for 

survivors of a deceased victim. 

 Documented loss of earnings/support up to $400 per 

week for a maximum of $20,000. ($600 per week 

for crimes occurring after 01/01/2018) 

 Funeral expenses up to a maximum of $5,000. 

 Rehabilitation up to a maximum of $4,000. 

 Reimbursement of mileage (30¢ per mile) for travel 

to medical/ mental health treatment up to maximum 

of $3,000.  This only applies when a victim is 

required to travel over 60 miles roundtrip and there 

are no closer options.   

 Up to $10,000 for counseling expenses for children 

who witness domestic violence. 

 Up to $1,000 for counseling expenses for family 

members of an Oregon resident who is a victim of 

international terrorism. 

 Up to $500 for counseling expenses for friends or 

acquaintances of a deceased victim who are the first 

to discover the deceased victim’s body. 

 

*In cases of child sex abuse, this award would include 

counseling expenses for the victim’s family. 

 
 

 

 

TO BE ELIGIBLE FOR 

CVC YOU MUST: 
 

1. Be a victim of a compensable crime that occurred in 

Oregon. Compensable crime means an intentional, 

knowing, reckless or criminally negligent act by a 

person resulting in injury or death of another person 

which would be punishable as a crime. 

2. Report the crime to the appropriate law enforcement 

officials within 72 hours.* 

3. Cooperate with law enforcement (waived in cases 

of sex abuse, sexual assault, domestic violence or 

stalking). * 

4. Apply within one (1) year of the date of the criminal 

injury.* 

 

*May be waived for good reason 
 

 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND SEXUAL 

ASSAULT COUNSELING BENEFIT 
                                                                                              

Victims of sexual assault or domestic violence who do 

not meet all eligibility requirements may still qualify for 

counseling expenses.  
 

 

VICTIMS ARE NOT ELIGIBLE IF: 
 

 The injury or death resulted from the victim’s own 

criminal conduct.  

 The crime solely involved property damage or loss. 

 The injury or death resulted from a non-criminal 

event (accident). 

 The crime occurred before Oregon CVCP became 

effective in January 1978. 
 

 

PROCESSING OF APPLICATIONS WILL 

BE DEFERRED IF: 
 

 The victim is incarcerated. 

 The victim owes money as a result of a criminal 

conviction for a violent crime. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 
ACCEPTING A CLAIM FOR CVC: 
 

After receiving the application, CVC will review police 

reports, medical charts and any other information 

available in order to determine if a victim or survivor is 

eligible for CVC benefits. A typical application takes 

60-90 days to review and process.  

 

If an applicant has other benefits available (health 

insurance, auto insurance, workers compensation, and 

medical disability), those must be used before CVC will 

pay expenses. CVC will pay copays and deductibles as 

well as crime related treatment that insurance does not 

cover. If the applicant receives money as the result of a 

lawsuit against the offender, any money paid by CVC 

must be repaid to the Department. 
 

 

 

HOW TO SUBMIT AN APPLICATION: 

 
 Crime Victim’s  Portal:  

https://justice.oregon.gov/victims/compensation/Ac

count/Login  

 

 Send an application to: 

  Crime Victim and Survivor Services Division 

  1162 Court Street NE, Salem OR 97301 

  Telephone: (503) 378-5348    

               FAX: (503) 378-5738 

 

 Apply at your local District Attorney’s Office 

Victim Assistance Program 

 

 
 

https://justice.oregon.gov/victims/compensation/Account/Login
https://justice.oregon.gov/victims/compensation/Account/Login


 

 

 
STATEMENT OF NONDISCRIMINATION 

AND COMPLIANCE WITH THE 

AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT 

(ADA) 
 

The Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA) requires 

all programs, services and activities of state and local govern-

mental agencies to be accessible to persons with disabilities. 

 

The Oregon Department of Justice does not discriminate in 

providing access to its programs, services and activities on the 

basis of race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, political 

affiliation, sex, age, marital status, sexual orientation, physical 

or mental disability, or any other inappropriate reason 

prohibited by law or policy of the state or federal government. 

 

For additional information regarding (1) the Department’s 

ADA compliance, (2) its policy of nondiscrimination, 

(3) availability of the information in this pamphlet in a 

different format or (4) procedures for resolving a complaint 

that the Department has discriminated in providing access to 

the Department’s programs, services and activities—please 

contact the Department’s ADA Coordinator:  

 

Personnel and Training Manager 

1162 Court Street NE 

Salem, Oregon 97301-4096 

Telephone: 503-378-5555 
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CRIME VICTIM & SURVIVOR SERVICES DIVISION 

OREGON DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

(503) 378-5348 

(800) 503-7983 

www.doj.state.or.us/victims 
Victims’ Compensation Portal: 

https://justice.oregon.gov/victims/compensation/Account/Login 

http://www.doj.state.or.us/victims
https://justice.oregon.gov/victims/compensation/Account/Login

