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Measure Description:
Requires court to indicate in judgment document when person is convicted of designated person misdemeanor
involving domestic violence.

Government Unit(s) Affected:
Criminal Justice Commission (CJC), District Attorneys and their Deputies (DAs), Public Defense Services

Commission (PDSC), Department of Corrections (DOC), Oregon Judicial Department (0JD)

Summary of Fiscal Impact:
Costs related to the measure may require budgetary action - See analysis.

Summary of Expenditure Impact:

2021-23 Biennium 2023-25 Biennium
General Fund $7,060,171 $21,836,336
Total Funds $7,060,171 $21,836,336
Positions
FTE

Analysis: This measure requires county community corrections departments to supervise, sanction, and provide
services to offenders convicted of designated person misdemeanors. Designated person misdemeanors include:
assault 4 constituting domestic violence (ORS 163.160 (4)), menacing constituting domestic violence (ORS
163.190 (3)), and sex abuse 3 (ORS 163.415). Harassment convictions are not included in this estimate.

The Department of Corrections (DOC) is responsible for housing and managing felony offenders whose sentence
exceeds one year. Felony probation and designated drug misdemeanors are overseen by Community Corrections
and funded by the Legislature through DOC. The Criminal Justice Commission (CJC) estimates an additional 920
convictions per year for misdemeanor domestic assault 4 convictions that would be supervised by Community
Corrections. This assumes that 54% of misdemeanor assault 4 convictions are for domestic violence, and that
one third of individuals convicted are already supervised by county community corrections departments for other
convictions. The average probation sentence length is 24 months. The CJC estimates 276 convictions a year for
misdemeanor domestic violence menacing that would be supervised under LC 3049. This assumes that 50% of
misdemeanor menacing convictions are for domestic violence, and that 44% of individuals convicted are already
supervised by county community corrections departments for other convictions. The average probation sentence
length is 25 months. This would result in a fiscal impact of $7.1 million General Fund in 2021-23 and $21.8 million
General Fund in 2023-25. It is expected that costs to DOC would decrease somewhat due to more individuals
entering the Community Corrections system rather than the corrections system.

District Attorneys, Pubic Defense Services Commission, Oregon Judicial Department, and the Criminal Justice
Commission anticipate a minimal fiscal impact due the provisions of this measure.

The -A3 adds funding language to the measure and does not change the original fiscal determination.
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