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HB 3398 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY
House Committee On Rules

Prepared By: Melissa Leoni, LPRO Analyst
Meeting Dates: 5/20, 6/1

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:
Delays implementation requirements for paid family and medical leave program. Extends deadlines for
Employment Department to adopt rules, submit reports to Legislative Assembly, and reimburse General Fund
moneys for start-up costs. Changes start date for employer and employee contributions to January 1, 2023.
Changes start date for benefit payments to September 3, 2023. Takes effect 91st day following adjournment sine
die.

FISCAL: Fiscal impact issued
REVENUE: Revenue impact issued 

ISSUES DISCUSSED:
 Oregon Employment Department (OED) staffing dedicated to paid family and medical leave program (PFMLI)
 Agency focus on unemployment insurance (UI) and expertise of PFMLI staff in UI programs
 Ability to implement program under current and proposed timelines
 Legislative communication around timelines and staffing
 Technology system approvals
 Decision to house program at OED
 Department accountability

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:
No amendment.

BACKGROUND:
Family and medical leave is protected time off from work to recover from a serious illness, care for a family
member who is ill, or bond with a new child. More than half of Oregon workers are eligible for unpaid family and
medical leave benefits under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA) and the Oregon Family
Leave Act (OFLA). 

House Bill 2005 (2019) created an insurance program to provide employees with a portion of wages while on
family, medical, or safety-related leave. The program is administered by the Oregon Employment Department
(OED). The measure also appropriated General Fund moneys for start-up costs that OED must reimburse by
January 2023.

Beginning January 1, 2022, employers will pay 40 percent of contributions and employees will pay 60 percent,
which combined cannot exceed one percent of the worker’s wages. Employers with fewer than 25 employees are
exempt from the obligation to pay their 40 percent share. If they opt to contribute, they may apply for a grant to
offset the cost associated with a worker on leave.

Beginning January 1, 2023, employees will be eligible for 12 weeks of insurance benefits per, with an additional
two weeks of benefits for pregnancy-related leave. An employee can take a total of 16 weeks a year under this
program in any combination of paid leave and unpaid OFLA leave (18 weeks if pregnancy related leave is also
taken). Benefits will be based on the worker’s average weekly wage with a cap set at 120 percent of the state’s
average weekly wage (approximately $1,215). Employees who have worked at least 90 days will have job
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protection when on leave. An employee may use vacation or sick time to supplement insurance, up to 100
percent of wages, with the employer’s consent. An employer, with the Department’s approval, may provide leave
benefits through an equivalent plan.

House Bill 3398 delays implementation dates for the program, including changing the the start date for employer
and employee contributions to January 1, 2023; benefit payments to September 3, 2023; and employer assistance
grants to June 30, 2023. The measure also delays the OED General Fund repayment date to June 30, 2023.


