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HB 3000 A -A5, -A6, -A9, -A10 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY
House Committee On Rules

Prepared By: Caine Francis
Meeting Dates: 4/19, 4/20, 5/14, 5/27

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:
Defines “tetrahydrocannabinol” ("THC") to include all artificially or naturally derived tetrahydrocannabinols
including Delta-8, Delta-9, optical isomers of Delta-8 or Delta-9, and any artificially derived cannabinoid that may
have an intoxicating effect. Defines “adult use cannabis item” as an item derived from the cannabis plant family
and contains THC, a marijuana item, or an industrial hemp product containing a THC concentration that exceeds
limits established by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) in consultation with the Oregon Health
Authority (OHA) by rule, or the greater of 0.3 percent or the concentration of THC allowed under federal law.
Prohibits sale of adult use cannabis items to a person under 21 years of age. Directs OLCC in consultation with
OHA to adopt rules establishing maximum concentration of cannabinoids or artificially derived cannabinoids
allowed in a single serving of cannabinoid product, concentrate, or extract, and the maximum number of servings
permitted in a package of cannabinoid product. Includes in regulations on cannabis processing industrial hemp
products that contain cannabinoids and are intended for human consumption or use. Authorizes the OLCC to
regulate the processing, transportation, delivery, sale, and purchase of artificially derived cannabinoids. Allows
the import or export of industrial hemp with a THC concentration up to 0.3 percent or to the federal limit,
whichever is greater. Removes criminal penalties for import or export of industrial hemp that exceeds 0.3 percent
but does not exceed 1 percent. Requires Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA) to conduct criminal records
check for an individual applying for industrial hemp grower license; prohibits the ODA from issuing a grower
license to an individual convicted of a felony related to a controlled substance within the past 10 years. Directs
ODA to administer an Oregon Hemp State Program in accordance with the Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018
and subsequent federal law. Authorizes ODA to adopt rules including the adopting by reference of federal laws
and requirements related to the production of hemp. Clarifies definition of “industrial hemp” to mean all nonseed
parts of the plant that contain an average post-decarboxylation concentration of Delta-9 THC that does not
exceed the greater of 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis or the concentration of THC allowed under federal law.
Allows a processor to transfer, sell, or transport industrial hemp products to a person who is not a processor,
retailer, or wholesaler if the product meets testing requirements established by the OLCC, is entered into a
tracking system, and has been held by the processor for a period of time required by the OLCC prior to the
transfer, sale, or transport of the product. Establishes Task Force on Cannabis-Derived Intoxicants to consider
regulation of intoxicating cannabis-derived products, consolidation of administrative functions, methods to
prevent sales to minors, testing and enforcement requirements, changes to state policies and regulations, and
input from marijuana and industrial hemp industries. Requires task force to report to the Legislative Assembly no
later than December 31, 2021. Declares emergency, effective on passage.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:
-A5  Replaces the measure.

Defines “adult use cannabinoid” to include Delta-8 THC, Delta-9 THC, the optical isomers of Delta-8 THC or Delta-9
THC, and any artificially derived cannabinoid that is reasonably determined to have an intoxicating effect. Defines
“adult use cannabis item” as a marijuana item, or an industrial hemp commodity or product that exceeds the
concentration of adult use cannabinoids established by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) in



HB 3000 A -A5, -A6, -A9, -A10 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

This Summary has not been adopted or officially endorsed by action of the committee. 2 of 7

consultation with the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) by rule, or the greater of 0.3 percent total Delta-9 THC or
the concentration of Delta-9 THC allowed under federal law. Prohibits sale of adult use cannabis items to a person
under 21 years of age. Defines “artificially derived cannabinoid” as a chemical substance created by a chemical
reaction that changes the molecular structure of any chemical substance derived from the plant Cannabis family
Cannabaceae, while excluding a naturally-occurring chemical substance that is separated from the plant Cannabis
family Cannabaceae by a chemical or mechanical extraction process, and cannabinoids that are produced by
decarboxylation from a naturally-occurring cannabinoid acid without the use of a chemical catalyst.

Directs OLCC in consultation with OHA and State Department of Agriculture (ODA) to adopt rules establishing
maximum concentration of total Delta-9 THC, adult use cannabinoids, or artificially derived cannabinoids
permitted in a single serving of a product, concentrate, or extract, and the maximum number of servings
permitted in a package. Directs OLCC in consultation with the ODA to adopt rules establishing maximum
concentration of total Delta-9 THC, adult use cannabinoids, or artificially derived cannabinoids permitted in a
single serving of an industrial hemp product, and the maximum number of servings permitted in a package.

Authorizes the OLCC to regulate the processing, transportation, delivery, sale, and purchase of artificially derived
cannabinoids. Requires premises at which industrial hemp commodities or products are processed to be licensed
by the OLCC. Allows the import or export of industrial an hemp commodity or product with a Delta-9 THC
concentration not exceeding 0.3% or the federal limit, whichever is greater. Removes criminal penalties for import
or export of industrial hemp that exceeds a Delta-9 concentration of 0.3% but does not exceed 1%.

Requires ODA to conduct criminal records check for an individual applying for industrial hemp grower license,
prohibits the ODA from issuing a grower license to an individual convicted of a felony related to a controlled
substance within the past 10 years. Includes in criminal records checks individuals associated with the applicant
through limited partnerships, limited liability companies, and corporations.

Directs ODA to administer an Oregon Hemp State Program in and adopt rules in accordance with the Agriculture
Improvement Act of 2018 and subsequent federal law. Clarifies that rules adopted must conform to, and not be
more restrictive than, rules related to hemp established by the United States Department of Agriculture.

Clarifies definition of “industrial hemp” to mean the plant species Cannabis sativa that has a THC concentration
that complies with the concentration specified by the ODA by rule. Authorizes ODA to establish by rule
requirements for the tracking and transfer of industrial hemp products and commodities intended for human
consumption, including the use of systems developed and maintained by the OLCC. Allows a laboratory licensed
by the OLCC to test industrial hemp and industrial hemp products and commodities regardless of whether the
hemp, products, or commodities originated from a licensed grower or processor.

Allows a processor to transfer, sell, or transport industrial hemp products to a person that is not a processor,
retailer, or wholesaler if the product meets testing requirements for marijuana items established by the OLCC, is
entered into a tracking system administered by the OLCC, and has been held by the processor for a period of time
required by the OLCC prior to the transfer, sale, or transport of the product. Requires industrial hemp products or
commodities intended for human consumption be processed in a licensed facility and tested for concentration of
Delta-8 THC if the product or commodity is sold to a person under 21 years of age, or if any representation is
made to the consumer about the concentration of Delta-8 THC in the product. Prohibits the sale of industrial
hemp products or commodities exceeding 0.3% total Delta-9 THC or the concentration allowed under federal law,
whichever is greater, and products or commodities exceeding the concentration of adult use cannabinoids
established by the OLCC and OHA by rule.

Establishes Task Force on Cannabis-Derived Intoxicants to consider regulation of intoxicating cannabis-derived
products, consolidation of administrative functions, methods to prevent sales to minors, testing and enforcement
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requirements, changes to state policies and regulations, and input from marijuana and industrial hemp industries.
Requires task force to report to the Legislative Assembly no later than December 31, 2021.

Directs Department of Revenue to distribute $750,000 from the Oregon Marijuana Account to the Illegal
Marijuana Market Enforcement Grant Program. Directs OLCC and ODA to create a map of licensed industrial
hemp operations and make the map available to law enforcement. Authorizes law enforcement to eradicate
marijuana or industrial hemp that is unlawfully produced. Authorizes OLCC and ODA to enter into agreement
allowing OLCC representatives to carry out inspections of industrial hemp crops. Authorizes Governor to order the
Oregon National Guard to assist ODA in carrying out inspections of industrial hemp crops and other enforcement
duties.

Declares emergency, effective upon passage.

-A6  Replaces the measure.

Defines “adult use cannabinoid” to include Delta-8 THC, Delta-9 THC, the optical isomers of Delta-8 THC or Delta-9
THC, and any artificially derived cannabinoid that is reasonably determined to have an intoxicating effect. Defines
“adult use cannabis item” as a marijuana item, or an industrial hemp commodity or product that exceeds the
concentration of adult use cannabinoids established by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) in
consultation with the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) by rule, or the greater of 0.3 percent total Delta-9 THC or
the concentration of Delta-9 THC allowed under federal law. Prohibits sale of adult use cannabis items to a person
under 21 years of age. Defines “artificially derived cannabinoid” as a chemical substance created by a chemical
reaction that changes the molecular structure of any chemical substance derived from the plant Cannabis family
Cannabaceae, while excluding a naturally-occurring chemical substance that is separated from the plant Cannabis
family Cannabaceae by a chemical or mechanical extraction process, and cannabinoids that are produced by
decarboxylation from a naturally-occurring cannabinoid acid without the use of a chemical catalyst.

Directs OLCC in consultation with OHA and State Department of Agriculture (ODA) to adopt rules establishing
maximum concentration of total Delta-9 THC, adult use cannabinoids, or artificially derived cannabinoids
permitted in a single serving of a product, concentrate, or extract, and the maximum number of servings
permitted in a package. Directs OLCC in consultation with the ODA to adopt rules establishing maximum
concentration of total Delta-9 THC, adult use cannabinoids, or artificially derived cannabinoids permitted in a
single serving of an industrial hemp product, and the maximum number of servings permitted in a package.
Authorizes the OLCC to regulate the processing, transportation, delivery, sale, and purchase of artificially derived
cannabinoids. 

Authorizes ODA licensed grower/handler to send or receive hemp from another licensed ODA grower/handler, or
a marijuana testing laboratory licensed by OLCC, if the hemp or hemp used in the hemp commodity is from a crop
inspected and found to not contain an average THC concentration exceeding the concentration established by
ODA by rule. Authorizes ODA licensed grower/handler to send or receive hemp from a OLCC licensed marijuana
processor, wholesaler, or retailer if the hemp or hemp commodity or product does not exceed THC concentration
limits established by the OLCC by rule and the hemp originated from a crop previously tested by ODA and found
not to exceed the THC concentration limits established by the ODA by rule.

Removes criminal penalties for import or export of industrial hemp that exceeds a Delta-9 concentration of 0.3%
but does not exceed 1%. Requires ODA to conduct criminal records check for an individual applying for industrial
hemp grower license, prohibits the ODA from issuing a grower license to an individual convicted of a felony
related to a controlled substance within the past 10 years. Includes in criminal records checks individuals
associated with the applicant through limited partnerships, limited liability companies, and corporations.
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Directs ODA to administer an Oregon Hemp State Program in and adopt rules in accordance with the Agriculture
Improvement Act of 2018 and subsequent federal law. Clarifies that rules adopted must conform to, and not be
more restrictive than, rules related to hemp established by the United States Department of Agriculture.

Clarifies definition of “industrial hemp” to mean the plant species Cannabis sativa that has a THC concentration
that complies with the concentration specified by the ODA by rule. Authorizes ODA to establish by rule
requirements for the tracking and transfer of industrial hemp products and commodities intended for human
consumption, including the use of systems developed and maintained by the OLCC. Allows a laboratory licensed
by the OLCC to test industrial hemp and industrial hemp products and commodities regardless of whether the
hemp, products, or commodities originated from a licensed grower or processor.

Allows a processor to transfer, sell, or transport industrial hemp products to a person that is not a processor,
retailer, or wholesaler if the product meets testing requirements for marijuana items established by the OLCC, is
entered into a tracking system administered by the OLCC, and has been held by the processor for a period of time
required by the OLCC prior to the transfer, sale, or transport of the product. Requires industrial hemp products or
commodities intended for human consumption be processed in a licensed facility and tested for concentration of
Delta-8 THC if the product or commodity is sold to a person under 21 years of age, or if any representation is
made to the consumer about the concentration of Delta-8 THC in the product. Prohibits the sale of industrial
hemp products or commodities exceeding 0.3% total Delta-9 THC or the concentration allowed under federal law,
whichever is greater, and products or commodities exceeding the concentration of adult use cannabinoids
established by the OLCC, OHA, and ODA by rule.

Establishes Task Force on Cannabis-Derived Intoxicants to consider regulation of intoxicating cannabis-derived
products, consolidation of administrative functions, methods to prevent sales to minors, testing and enforcement
requirements, changes to state policies and regulations, and input from marijuana and industrial hemp industries.
Requires task force to report to the Legislative Assembly no later than December 31, 2021.

Directs Department of Revenue to distribute $750,000 from the Oregon Marijuana Account to the Illegal
Marijuana Market Enforcement Grant Program. Directs OLCC and ODA to create a map of licensed industrial
hemp operations and make the map available to law enforcement. Authorizes law enforcement to eradicate
marijuana or industrial hemp that is unlawfully produced.
Directs OLCC in consultation with ODA to develop by rule methodology to distinguish whether a cannabis plant is
marijuana or industrial hemp, including testing criteria and cannabinoid concentrations above which immature or
mature cannabis plants are presumptively considered to be marijuana. Authorizes ODA to order a grower/handler
to destroy any cannabis plants located at an industrial hemp operation if the cannabis plants are presumptively
considered to be marijuana.

Authorizes OLCC and ODA to enter into agreement allowing OLCC representatives to carry out inspections of
industrial hemp crops. Authorizes Governor to order the Oregon National Guard to assist ODA in carrying out
inspections of industrial hemp crops and other enforcement duties.

Declares emergency, effective upon passage.

-A9  Changes operative date in HB 2519 Enrolled from January 1, 2020 to January 1, 2022. House Bill 2519
Enrolled allows licensed marijuana retailers to deliver marijuana items to consumers, pursuant to bona fide orders
received by the retailer, within the same city or county in which the retailer is located, or in an adjacent city or
county if allowed by that jurisdiction.

REVENUE: Minimal revenue impact. 
FISCAL: Fiscal impact issued.
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-A10  Replaces the measure.

Defines “adult use cannabinoid” to include Delta-8 THC, Delta-9 THC, the optical isomers of Delta-8 THC or Delta-9
THC, and any artificially derived cannabinoid that is reasonably determined to have an intoxicating effect.

Defines “adult use cannabis item” as a marijuana item, or an industrial hemp commodity or product that exceeds
the concentration of adult use cannabinoids established by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) in
consultation with the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) by rule, or the greater of 0.3 percent total Delta-9 THC or
the concentration of Delta-9 THC allowed under federal law. Prohibits sale of adult use cannabis items to a person
under 21 years of age.

Defines “artificially derived cannabinoid” as a chemical substance created by a chemical reaction that changes the
molecular structure of any chemical substance derived from the plant Cannabis family Cannabaceae, while
excluding a naturally-occurring chemical substance that is separated from the plant Cannabis family Cannabaceae
by a chemical or mechanical extraction process, and cannabinoids that are produced by decarboxylation from a
naturally-occurring cannabinoid acid without the use of a chemical catalyst, and any other chemical substance
identified by the OLCC in consultation with the OHA and ODA by rule.

Directs OLCC in consultation with OHA and State Department of Agriculture (ODA) to adopt rules establishing
maximum concentration of total Delta-9 THC, adult use cannabinoids, or artificially derived cannabinoids
permitted in a single serving of a product, concentrate, or extract, and the maximum number of servings
permitted in a package. Directs OLCC in consultation with the ODA to adopt rules establishing maximum
concentration of total Delta-9 THC, adult use cannabinoids, or artificially derived cannabinoids permitted in a
single serving of an industrial hemp product, and the maximum number of servings permitted in a package.
Authorizes the OLCC to regulate the processing, transportation, delivery, sale, and purchase of artificially derived
cannabinoids. 

Authorizes ODA licensed grower/handler to send or receive hemp from another licensed ODA grower/handler, or
a marijuana testing laboratory licensed by OLCC, if the hemp or hemp used in the hemp commodity is from a crop
inspected and found to not contain an average THC concentration exceeding the concentration established by
ODA by rule. Authorizes ODA licensed grower/handler to send or receive hemp from a OLCC licensed marijuana
processor, wholesaler, or retailer if the hemp or hemp commodity or product does not exceed THC concentration
limits established by the OLCC by rule and the hemp originated from a crop previously tested by ODA and found
not to exceed the THC concentration limits established by the ODA by rule.

Removes criminal penalties for import or export of industrial hemp that exceeds a Delta-9 concentration of 0.3%
but does not exceed 1%. Requires ODA to conduct criminal records check for an individual applying for industrial
hemp grower license, prohibits the ODA from issuing a grower license to an individual convicted of a felony
related to a controlled substance within the past 10 years. Includes in criminal records checks individuals
associated with the applicant through limited partnerships, limited liability companies, and corporations.

Directs ODA to adopt rules requiring a grower/handler report any plans not to plant an industrial hemp crop or
any crop losses. Requires licensed grower to provide documentation of crop destruction if ordered to do so by
ODA for THC levels exceeding limits. Allows person to apply for grower license if the ODA determines previous
violations are resolved. Directs ODA to prioritize inspections of crops planted by a person prior to issuance of a
grower license and require the person to enter a corrective action plan with the ODA. Authorizes ODA to impose a
civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 on a licensed grower whose crop contains a THC concentration of at least 10
percent on a dry weight basis.
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Directs ODA to administer an Oregon Hemp State Program in and adopt rules in accordance with the Agriculture
Improvement Act of 2018 and subsequent federal law. Clarifies that rules adopted must conform to, and not be
more restrictive than, rules related to hemp established by the United States Department of Agriculture.

Clarifies definition of “industrial hemp” to mean the plant species Cannabis sativa that has a THC concentration
that complies with the concentration specified by the ODA by rule. Authorizes ODA to establish by rule
requirements for the tracking and transfer of industrial hemp products and commodities intended for human
consumption, including the use of systems developed and maintained by the OLCC. Allows a laboratory licensed
by the OLCC to test industrial hemp and industrial hemp products and commodities regardless of whether the
hemp, products, or commodities originated from a licensed grower or processor.

Allows a processor to transfer, sell, or transport industrial hemp products to a person that is not a processor,
retailer, or wholesaler if the product meets testing requirements for marijuana items established by the OLCC, is
entered into a tracking system administered by the OLCC, and has been held by the processor for a period of time
required by the OLCC prior to the transfer, sale, or transport of the product. Requires industrial hemp products or
commodities intended for human consumption be processed in a licensed facility and tested for concentration of
Delta-8 THC if the product or commodity is sold to a person under 21 years of age, or if any representation is
made to the consumer about the concentration of Delta-8 THC in the product. Prohibits the sale of industrial
hemp products or commodities exceeding 0.3% total Delta-9 THC or the concentration allowed under federal law,
whichever is greater, and products or commodities exceeding the concentration of adult use cannabinoids
established by the OLCC, OHA, and ODA by rule.

Establishes Task Force on Cannabis-Derived Intoxicants to consider regulation of intoxicating cannabis-derived
products, consolidation of administrative functions, methods to prevent sales to minors, testing and enforcement
requirements, changes to state policies and regulations, and input from marijuana and industrial hemp industries.
Requires task force to report to the Legislative Assembly no later than December 31, 2021 and December 31,
2022.

Directs Department of Revenue to distribute $750,000 from the Oregon Marijuana Account to the Illegal
Marijuana Market Enforcement Grant Program. Directs OLCC and ODA to create a map of licensed industrial
hemp operations and make the map available to law enforcement. Authorizes law enforcement to eradicate
marijuana or industrial hemp that is unlawfully produced.

Directs OLCC in consultation with ODA to develop by rule methodology to distinguish whether a cannabis plant is
marijuana or industrial hemp, including testing criteria and cannabinoid concentrations above which immature or
mature cannabis plants are presumptively considered to be marijuana. Authorizes ODA to order a grower/handler
to destroy any cannabis plants located at an industrial hemp operation if the cannabis plants are presumptively
considered to be marijuana.

Authorizes OLCC and ODA to enter into agreement allowing OLCC representatives to carry out inspections of
industrial hemp crops. Authorizes Governor to order the Oregon National Guard to assist ODA in carrying out
inspections of industrial hemp crops and other enforcement duties.

Declares emergency, effective upon passage.

FISCAL: Fiscal impact issued
REVENUE: Revenue impact issued 

BACKGROUND:
Delta-9-THC is the primary intoxicating component in cannabis and is subject to regulation by the Oregon Health
Authority (OHA) and the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) including potency and concentration limits,
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serving sizes, testing and labeling requirements, and purchasing limits. Delta-8-THC (“Delta-8”) is an intoxicating
cannabinoid which is chemically similar to the more common Delta-9-THC. Delta-8 can be sold to minors in the
state and purchased online with no requirement for age verification of the consumer, and it can be created from
hemp-derived CBD by chemical processing which produces chemical byproducts with unknown health effects.

Under current law, hemp is subject to regulation by the Oregon Department of Agriculture. ORS 571.260 to
571.348 establish regulations for industrial hemp, including requirements by which an industrial hemp processor,
retailer, or wholesaler may purchase, receive, transfer, sell or transport industrial hemp, or an industrial hemp
commodity or product that contains cannabinoids and is intended for human consumption. ORS 571.341 prohibits
the sale of industrial hemp products containing more than 0.3 percent tetrahydrocannabinol to a consumer other
than a retailer.

House Bill 3000 A defines “tetrahydrocannabinol” (“THC”) to include all artificially or naturally derived
tetrahydrocannabinols including Delta-8, Delta-9, optical isomers of Delta-8 or Delta-9, and any artificially derived
cannabinoid that may have an intoxicating effect. The measure defines “adult use cannabis item” as: an item
derived from the cannabis plant family and contains THC; a marijuana item; or an industrial hemp product
containing a THC concentration that exceeds limits established by the OLCC in consultation with the OHA by rule,
or the greater of 0.3 percent or the concentration of THC allowed under federal law. The measure prohibits the
sale of adult use cannabis items to a person under 21 years of age.

The measure directs the OLCC in consultation with the OHA to adopt rules establishing the maximum
concentration of cannabinoids or artificially derived cannabinoids allowed in a single serving of cannabinoid
product, concentrate, or extract, and the maximum number of servings permitted in a package of a cannabinoid
product. The measure also authorizes the OLCC to regulate the processing, transportation, delivery, sale, and
purchase of artificially derived cannabinoids. The measure allows for the import or export of industrial hemp with
a THC concentration up to 0.3 percent or to the federal limit, whichever is greater, and removes criminal penalties
for the import or export of industrial hemp that exceeds 0.3 percent but does not exceed one percent.

The measure requires the Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA) to conduct a criminal records check for an
individual applying for an industrial hemp grower license and authorizes the ODA to adopt rules including the
adoption by reference of federal laws and requirements related to the production of hemp. The measure revises
the definition of “industrial hemp” to mean all nonseed parts of the plant that contain an average
post-decarboxylation concentration of Delta-9 THC that does not exceed the greater of 0.3 percent on a dry
weight basis or the concentration of THC allowed under federal law. The measure also allows a processor to
transfer, sell, or transport industrial hemp products to a person who is not a processor, retailer, or wholesaler if
the product meets testing and tracking requirements established by the OLCC.

Finally, House Bill 3000 A establishes the Task Force on Cannabis-Derived Intoxicants to consider the regulation of
intoxicating cannabis-derived products, consolidation of administrative functions, methods to prevent sales to
minors, testing and enforcement requirements, changes to state policies and regulations, and input from
marijuana and industrial hemp industries. The measure requires the task force to submit a report to the
Legislative Assembly no later than December 31, 2021.


