

# MEMORANDUM

Prepared for: Oregon State Senate

Date: April 27, 2021

- By: Leslie Porter, LPRO Analyst
- Re: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments

## OREGON STATE HOSPITAL ADVISORY BOARD

The Governor has appointed the following individual to the Oregon State Hospital Advisory Board subject to Senate confirmation.<sup>1</sup>

### **Appointees**

Javonnie Shearn of Clackamas; Reappointment

#### Term

July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2025

### **Appointment/Confirmation Authority**

ORS 179.560 (2019)

#### Statement of Economic Interest<sup>2</sup>

Not required.

#### **Statutory Requirements<sup>3</sup>**

The board consists of 16 members.<sup>4</sup> Two nonvoting members are from the Legislative Assembly, one appointed by the President of the Senate (COURTNEY) and one appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives (VACANT). Fourteen members are appointed by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate.

Three voting members must be individuals who advocate for or provide representation to individuals with mental illness (FERREIRA, REED, **SHEARN**).

Three voting members must be health care professionals who have experience working with individuals with mental illness (KING, MOLLER, READ).

Two voting members must be or have been consumers of mental health services, at least one of whom is a former patient of the Oregon State Hospital located in Salem (HASKINS, RUGGLES).

Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2019).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> ORS 244.050 (2019).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> ORS 182.100 (2019) for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 (2019) for diversity criteria.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> ORS 179.560 (2019).

One voting member must be a member of the family of a consumer of mental health services (WROLSTAD).

Two voting members must be members of the general public who live in the vicinity of the Oregon State Hospital located in Salem, Marion County (SAN BLISE).

Three nonvoting members must be members of a public employee bargaining unit and who are employed by the Oregon State Hospital located in Salem, Marion County, as follows:

- one individual to represent board-certified physicians;
- one individual to represent board-certified nursing staff; and
- one individual to represent direct care services staff (THOMA).

Gubernatorial appointees serve four-year terms and at the pleasure of the Governor. Legislators serve two-year terms. The Governor selects one of the voting members as chairperson and another as vice chairperson. Voting members may not individually or in a fiduciary capacity have a financial interest in the Oregon State Hospital located in Salem.

#### **Duties and Authority**

The board must periodically conduct a comprehensive review of federal and state laws, and administrative rules, policies, procedures and protocols of the Oregon State Hospital related to, the safety, security, and care of patients.<sup>5</sup> The board must report annually to the Legislative Assembly regarding its activities. The board may make recommendations directly to the superintendent of the Oregon State Hospital, the Director of the Oregon Health Authority, the Legislative Assembly, or interim committees of the Legislative Assembly concerning:

- federal and state laws, and administrative rules, policies, procedures and protocols of the hospital related to, the safety, security and care of patients;
- performance measures related to the safety, security and care of patients;
- goals for improvement in the safety, security and care of patients of the hospital and improvements that are under way; and
- potential legislative proposals or budget packages related to the hospital.

The board may establish ad hoc committees to aid and advise the board in the performance of its functions.<sup>6</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> ORS 179.570 (2019).

Hospital Advisory Board, Oregon State Agency: Department of Human Services Authorization: ORS 179.560 Members: Min: 16 Max: 16 Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2 Senate confirmation required? Yes	Policy Area: Health Board Contact: Dolly Matteucci Oregon State Hospital 2600 Center Street NE Salem, OR 97301 503-945-2850 Fax: 503-945-0985 dolores.matteucci@state.or.us
Irrent Appointments: Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)	
Peter C Courtney, Senator Senate President's Appointment Term(s):	Position Number: 14
Joshua L Ferreira Term(s): 11-25-2019 - 06-30-2023	Position Number: 3
Isaac L Haskins Cocumser Term(s): 10-01-2020 - 06-30-2024	Position Number: 8
Alice M King Health Care Professional Term(s): 07-01-2020 - 06-30-2024 02-14-2020 - 06-30-2020	Position Number: 6
Cary D Moller Health Care Professional Term(s): 07-01-2019 - 06-30-2023	Position Number: 5
Halley E Read Health Care Professional Term(s): 09-23-2019 - 06-30-2023	Position Number: 4
Jeff R Reed Advocate Term(s): 09-23-2019 - 06-30-2023	Position Number: 1
Paul J Ruggles         Consumer         Term(s):       07-01-2019 - 06-30-2023         09-28-2018 - 06-30-2019	Position Number: 7

## Executive Appointments Board Roster

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical) Mary Lou San Blise Public Member Term(s): 07-01-2019 - 06-30-2023 05-25-2018 - 06-30-2019		Policy Area: Health Position Number: 16		
Kim Thoma Public Emp Term(s):	a loyee (non-voting) 07-01-2020 - 06-30-2024 09-23-2019 - 06-30-2020	Position Number: 12		
Kimberly A Family Mer Term(s):		Position Number: 9		

#### Hospital Advisory Board, Oregon State

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Policy Area: Health

#### Vacant Appointments:

Pos	Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
10	Justin C Ottman Public Member	Governor	07/01/2018	06/30/2022
10	Justin C Ottman Public Member	Governor	09/19/2014	06/30/2018
10	Bruce R Rogers CHAIR - Public member	Governor	10/01/2009	07/01/2013
Pos	Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
11	Mary L San Blise AFSCME Membership	Governor	05/25/2018	06/30/2019
11	Douglas W Smith AFSCME - RN, Oregon State Hospital (r	Governor non-voting)	07/01/2015	06/30/2019
11	Frank E Warner, Jr Public employee (non-voting)	Governor	07/02/2010	07/01/2014
11	Frank E Warner, Jr Public employee (non-voting)	Governor	10/01/2009	07/01/2010
Pos	Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
13	Robert C Stone, DO Public employee (non-voting)	Governor	07/01/2017	06/30/2021
13	Robert C Stone, DO Public employee (non-voting)	Governor	03/15/2017	06/30/2017
13	Steven E Fritz Public Employee (non-voting)	Governor	07/01/2013	06/30/2017
13	Kay M Reichlin Public Employee (non-voting)	Governor	06/01/2010	07/01/2012
Pos	Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
15	Carolyn Tomei House Speaker's Appointment	Governor		
15	Mitch Greenlick House Speaker's Appointment	House Co/Speaker		