HB 2703 A STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Senate Committee On Housing and Development

Prepared By: Devin Edwards, LPRO Analyst **Meeting Dates:** 4/29, 5/13

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Requires real estate licensees seeking to renew or reactivate license to complete at least three hours of real estate education on state and federal fair housing laws. Applies to real estate licenses renewed or reactivated on or after July 1, 2022. Declares emergency, effective on July 1, 2021.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

• Provisions of measure

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

To lawfully practice or advertise as a real estate professional in Oregon, a person must hold an active license issued by the Oregon Real Estate Agency. Licenses are renewed for 24-month terms, and prior to renewal the licensee must have completed 30 hours of continuing education courses during the two years preceding the renewal or reactivation of a license. Of those 30 hours, at least 3 hours must be in a course on recent changes in real estate law or rule.

Oregon statute distinguishes between three types of real estate licensees: real estate brokers, real estate property managers and principal real estate brokers.

The federal Fair Housing Act (1968) prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of dwellings, and in other housing-related transactions, based on a person's race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, or physical or mental disability. Fair Housing laws more generally refer to federal, state and local laws that prohibit housing discrimination.

House Bill 2703 A requires real estate licensees seeking to renew an active license or reactivate an inactive license to complete at least three hours of real estate education on state and federal fair housing laws. The real estate education course must be approved by the Real Estate Board. The measure applies to real estate licenses renewed or reactivated on or after July 1, 2022.