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Who We Are...



Public Health Concerns

● Oregon has the 5th highest Alcohol 
Use Disorder Rate in the U.S.

● Increased access is proven to 
increase alcohol consumption, 
underage drinking and alcohol use 
disorder

● Alcohol-related death is the 3rd 
leading cause of preventable death in 
Oregon

● Binge drinking costs state and local 
governments $3.5 billion annually

● COVID is exasperating the crisis



The Pandemic’s Effect on Drinking

14% Overall 
increase in 

drinking 
frequency 41% increase in 

heavy drinking 
among adult 

women 55% Increase in 
total alcohol sales 
(22% required to 
offset restaurant 

closures)

https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamanetworkopen/f
ullarticle/2770975

https://www.nielsen.com/us/en/insights/article/2020/r
ebalancing-the-covid-19-effect-on-alcohol-sales/

https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamanetworkopen/fullarticle/2770975
https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamanetworkopen/fullarticle/2770975
https://www.nielsen.com/us/en/insights/article/2020/rebalancing-the-covid-19-effect-on-alcohol-sales/
https://www.nielsen.com/us/en/insights/article/2020/rebalancing-the-covid-19-effect-on-alcohol-sales/


Compliance: Problem with Home Delivery

10% of 12th grade 
students report 

obtaining alcohol 
through home delivery

Vendors completed 
45% of online orders to 

underage buyers

Only 28% of orders 
were rejected due to 

age verification



ORS 471.410.1: A person may not sell, give 
or otherwise make available any alcoholic 
liquor to any person who is visibly 
intoxicated.

ORS 471.410.2: No one other than the 
person’s parent or guardian may sell, give or 
otherwise make available any alcoholic liquor 
to a person under the age of 21 years. 

Serving Intoxicated People Serving Underage People

Compliance: Problem with Home Delivery



● How do we enforce these laws when the 
product is being delivered to the 
customer's door?

● Who is held responsible when underage 
customers or intoxicated customers are 
served?

Compliance: Problem with Home Delivery



National Liquor Law Enforcement Association (NLLEA) 
BEST PRACTICES AND RECOMMENDATIONS

● Check identifications (IDs) for all alcohol sales and deliveries
Check out this resource from Vermont on how to check IDs for individuals wearing masks or hats.

● Conduct effective compliance checks
These should happen quarterly, be random, and penalties should be swift, certain, and severe. Check 
out this resource from North Carolina on how to conduct effective compliance checks during 
COVID-19.

● Develop evidence-based policies for delivery drivers
This should include that: a) The customer ordering, paying, and receiving the alcohol is the same 
person, is over the age of 21, and shows no sign of impairment; b) Drivers should check that the person 
taking the delivery is at least 21 years of age and showing no signs of impairment; c) Drivers must 
ensure alcohol is received and not left unattended on the premises; d) All delivery drivers should be 
required to have a permit; e) Alcohol outlets should incentivize delivery drivers to not make underage 
sales by paying them if they bring the alcohol back to the outlet rather than sell it to an underage or 
impaired individual.

https://www.oregonrecovers.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/EnforcementGuidance_FINAL.pdf



National Liquor Law Enforcement Association (NLLEA) 
BEST PRACTICES AND RECOMMENDATIONS

● Conduct training for servers, bartenders, & delivery drivers
Servers, bartenders, and delivery drivers should be trained on both state and local alcohol 
policies and taught how to properly check IDs.

● Package and label alcoholic products properly
Check out these resources from Iowa and Illinois on how to properly seal products (e.g., a 
sticker on top of the can is not enough) and properly label products (e.g., clearly state it is 
alcohol, the ingredients). Customers should also receive information on how to comply with open 
container laws (e.g., a reminder to put the alcohol in the trunk).

● Establish and enforce liability and penalties for illegal sales
It needs to be clear who is liable for illegal sales (e.g., the delivery drivers, the servers, the 
owners) and penalties for conducting or delivering those sales need to be swift, certain, and 
severe.

https://www.oregonrecovers.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/EnforcementGuidance_FINAL.pdf



National Liquor Law Enforcement Association (NLLEA) 
BEST PRACTICES AND RECOMMENDATIONS

● Increase funding for Alcohol Law Enforcement (ALE)
Many ALEs are already at capacity and now have had to add on checking that COVID-19 
requirements (e.g., social distancing, masks) are met. More funding is needed. Policy does not 
happen in a vacuum and laws are only as good as their implementation (including funding) and 
enforcement.

● Use science and data to inform policies and practices
ALEs need to improve data collection processes at both the state and local levels (e.g., place of 
last drink, inspections of license premises, administrative/criminal code violations at and around 
license premises) and these data need to be studied. It is important to know the potential harms 
of these laws and how it will both benefit and harm alcohol licensees and public health.

https://www.oregonrecovers.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/EnforcementGuidance_FINAL.pdf



Oregon Recovers' Recommendations 

1. Funding for Increased number of 
Compliance Agents and 
Compliance Checks

2. Enact strict fines for third party 
non-compliance

3. Liability and risk of losing liquor 
license must remain with 
retailers

Sam Nishi, Age 24
Oregon Recovers Staff


