Itations at a glance

29 circuit courts have
received citations

516 total Class E violations
¢ 53 reduced from criminal
charges filed before 2/1/21
¢ 463 citations on or after
2/1/21. Of those,
= 208 convictions
= 101 in court
= 107 failed to appear
= 15 dismissed
= 293 pending

e 6 cases with juveniles

0 assessment/screening
verifications received

25 people have received
multiple Class E citations,
including 1 juvenile

Most citations are for
possession of meth (65%) or
heroin (22%).

35 citations were issued to
non-Oregon residents.

April 21, 2021

Senate Bill 755-A codifies and amends Ballot
Measure 110, which decriminalized most
unlawful possession of a controlled substance
(PCS) offenses, effective February 1, 2021.

Reduction of Penalties. Measure 110 reduced the penalties
for most PCS offenses from a felony or misdemeanor to a new
Class E violation, which has a maximum penalty of a $100 fine.
SB 755-A directs the court to dismiss the citation if it receives
verification that the person completes a screening or treatment
contact within 45 days of receiving the citation.

History. Measure 110 was approved by Oregon voters during
the November 2020 election. The reduction of penalties took
effect on February 1, 2021. SB 755-A was approved by the
Senate Judiciary Committee and is pending in Ways & Means.

Data Limitations. Except for data on court processes or
outcomes, all data listed is from the citation issued by law
enforcement. OJD’s data includes only citations filed in circuit
courts, not in justice or municipal courts.

Verifications Received. No circuit courts had received
verifications of assessments as of April 21, 2021. SB 755-A will
require verifications be sent to the Oregon Health Authority, which
will electronically file them with the court.

Circuit Court Class E Violations by County

County Number County Number
Baker 4 Lake 6
Benton 43 Lane 71
Clackamas 6 Lincoln 18
Clatsop 8 Linn 17
Columbia 1 Malheur 2
Coos 16 Marion 21
Crook 21 Morrow 0
Curry 1 Multnomah 15
Deschutes 15 Polk 17
Douglas 20 Sherman 0
Gilliam 3 Tillamook 0
Grant 5 Umatilla 12
Harney 0 Union 5
Hood River 6 Wallowa 0
Jackson 10 Wasco 7
Jefferson 0 Washington 34
Josephine 90 Wheeler 0
Klamath 21 Yamihill 21




CLASS E VIOLATIONS IN CIRCUIT COURTS

~ Total Class E violations cited into circuit courts from February 1, 2021 through April 21, 2021 ~

Circuit court Class E violation demographic
data is subject to the data collected on the
citation by the law enforcement
officer.  (Oregon Laws Chapter 706)
Demographic and violation data from the
citation is imported into the official court record
to create the case and has been used to
provide demographic static counts for those
cited to circuit courts.

Demographic  Statistics  reports  the
breakdown of data statewide for circuit court
counts from Class E violations issued on or
after the effective date, February 1, 2021.

*Thresholds for statistical analyses have not
been determined.

Demographic Statistics
for Class E Violations

Gender
Male 309 66.7%
Female 118 25.5%
Missing 36 7.8%
Race
Asian 2 0.4%
Black 4 0.9%
Indian 5 1.1%
Multiracial 0 0.0%
Native Hawaiian or
Other Pacific Islander 0 0.0%
Other 6 1.3%
Unavailable 12 2.6%
White 345 74.5%
Missing 89 19.2%
Ethnicity
Hispanic 21 4.5%
Age
Juvenile 6 1.3%
18 - Under 21 6 1.3%
21-29 120 25.9%
30-39 197 42.5%
40-49 88 19.0%
50-59 32 6.9%
60 + 10 2.2%
Missing 4 0.9%

April 21, 2021

Cases Filed
by Month of Offense
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Percent of Violations by Substance

475.894 PCS Methamphetamine R 655
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475.874 PCS 3,4-MDA N 2%
475.854 PCS Heroin | 22%
475.834 PCS Oxycodone = 0%
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475.752 PCS Schedule |-V il 6%
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21% of Class E violation cases have accompanying charges
Of those. 49% are criminal charaes and 51% are violations

Most Frequent Charges With Class E Violations
Criminal, Felony

Delivery of Methamphetamine 4%
Criminal, Misdemeanor

Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants 7%
More Serious Violation

Violation Driving While Suspended or Revoked 23%

Driving Uninsured 9%

Operating a Vehicle Without Driving Privileges 4%

Failure to Drive Within a Lane 3%



