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WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Directs the Oregon Liquor Control Commission to study cannabis in the state. Requires commission to submit a
report to the Legislative Assembly no later than December 31, 2021. Sunsets provisions January 2, 2022. Declares
emergency, effective on passage.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

-1 Defines “artificially derived cannabinoid” as chemical compound manufactured by chemical reaction with any
chemical compound derived from plants in the Cannabis family. Authorizes the OLCC to regulate processing,
transport, sale, and purchase of artificially derived cannabinoids. Defines “tetrahydrocannabinol” to include all
artificially or naturally derived tetrahydrocannabinols including Delta-8, Delta-9, optical isomers of Delta-8 or
Delta-9, and any artificially derived cannabinoid that may have an intoxicating effect. Revises definition of
“marijuana item” to include industrial hemp product or commodity containing more than 0.3 percent
tetrahydrocannabinol or other concentration established by the State Department of Agriculture and OLCC by
rule. Directs Oregon Health Authority to adopt rules establishing maximum concentration of artificially derived
cannabinoids allowed in a single serving of cannabinoid product, concentrate, or extract, and the maximum
concentration of tetrahydrocannabinol or artificially derived cannabinoid permitted in single serving of industrial
hemp product. Establishes Task Force on Cannabis-Derived Intoxicants to consider regulation of intoxicating
cannabis-derived products, consolidation of administrative functions, methods to prevent sales to minors, testing
and enforcement requirements, changes to sate policies and regulations, and input from marijuana and industrial
hemp industries. Requires task force to report to the Legislative Assembly no later than December 31, 2021.
Declares emergency, effective upon passage.

-4 Replaces the measure. Defines “adult use cannabis item” as an item derived from the cannabis plant family
and contains THC, a marijuana item, or an industrial hemp product containing a THC concentration that exceeds
limits established by the OLCC in consultation with the OHA by rule, or the greater of 0.3 percent or the
concentration of THC allowed under federal law. Prohibits sale of adult use cannabis items to a person under 21
years of age. Defines “tetrahydrocannabinol” to include all artificially or naturally derived tetrahydrocannabinols
including Delta-8, Delta-9, optical isomers of Delta-8 or Delta-9, and any artificially derived cannabinoid that may
have an intoxicating effect. Directs OLCC in consultation with Oregon Health Authority to adopt rules establishing
maximum concentration of cannabinoids or artificially derived cannabinoids allowed in a single serving of
cannabinoid product, concentrate, or extract, and the maximum number of servings permitted in a package of
cannabinoid product. Includes in regulations on cannabis processing industrial hemp products that contain
cannabinoids and are intended for human consumption or use. Authorizes the OLCC to regulate the processing,
transportation, delivery, sale, and purchase of artificially derived cannabinoids. Allows the import or export of
industrial hemp with a THC concentration up to 0.3% or to the federal limit, whichever is greater. Removes
criminal penalties for import or export of industrial hemp that exceeds 0.3% but does not exceed 1 percent.
Requires ODA to conduct criminal records check for an individual applying for industrial hemp grower license,
prohibits the ODA from issuing a grower license to an individual convicted of a felony related to a controlled
substance within the past 10 years. Directs ODA to administer an Oregon Hemp State Program in accordance with

This summary has not been adopted or officially endorsed by action of the committee. 1of2



HB 3000 -1,-4 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

the Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018 and subsequent federal law. Authorizes ODA to adopt rules including
the adopting by reference of federal laws and requirements related to the production of hemp. Clarifies definition
of “industrial hemp” to mean all non-seed parts of the plant that contain an average post-decarboxylation
concentration of Delta-9 THC that does not exceed the greater of 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis or the
concentration of THC allowed under federal law. Allows a processor to transfer, sell, or transport industrial hemp
products to a person that is not a processor, retailer, or wholesaler if the product meets testing requirements
established by the OLCC, is entered into a tracking system, and has been held by the processor for a period of
time required by the OLCC prior to the transfer, sale, or transport of the product. Establishes Task Force on
Cannabis-Derived Intoxicants to consider regulation of intoxicating cannabis-derived products, consolidation of
administrative functions, methods to prevent sales to minors, testing and enforcement requirements, changes to
state policies and regulations, and input from marijuana and industrial hemp industries. Requires task force to
report to the Legislative Assembly no later than December 31, 2021. Declares emergency, effective upon passage.

BACKGROUND:

House Bill 3000 directs the Oregon Liquor Control Commission to study cannabis in the state and submit a report
to the Legislative Assembly no later than December 31, 2021, and sunsets these provisions January 2, 2022.
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