FISCAL IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION

81st Oregon Legislative Assembly – 2021 Regular Session Legislative Fiscal Office

Only Impacts on Original or Engrossed Versions are Considered Official

Prepared by:	Libby Chamberlin
Reviewed by:	John Borden, Julie Neburka, Tom MacDonald
Date:	March 30, 2021

Measure Description:

Requires owner or possessor of firearm to secure firearm with trigger or cable lock, in locked container or in gun room except in specified circumstances.

Government Unit(s) Affected:

Oregon Judicial Department (OJD), Oregon Health Authority (OHA), Oregon State Police (OSP), District Attorneys and their Deputies (DAs), Public Defense Services Commission (PDSC), Department of Justice (DOJ)

Summary of Fiscal Impact:

Costs related to the measure may require budgetary action - See analysis.

Summary of Expenditure Impact:

Department of State Police	2021-23 Biennium	2023-25 Biennium
General Fund	\$176,382	\$0
Lottery Funds		
Other Funds		
Federal Funds		
Total Funds	\$176,382	\$0
Positions		
FTE		

Analysis:

HB 2510 requires that, except in specified circumstances, firearm owners must secure their firearms with a trigger or cable lock or in a locked container. The measure establishes that violation of this requirement is a Class C violation for each firearm not in compliance with these requirements and it is a Class A violation if a minor obtains an unsecured firearm. The measure also applies strict liability for injury caused by unsecured firearms and requires gun dealers to post signage regarding safe storage requirements.

This measure also creates requirements for the transfer of a firearm and for reporting a lost or stolen firearm. A person who owns a firearm would be required to report the loss or theft of the firearm to law enforcement as soon as is practicable but no later than 72 hours from the time the owner becomes aware of the loss or theft. Failure to report a lost or stolen firearm within that timeframe would be a Class B violation.

The Oregon Health Authority (OHA) is charged with establishing rules regarding minimum standards for trigger locks, cable locks, and containers by January 1, 2022. OHA believes that the rulemaking requirements are within its current scope of practice and does not anticipate a fiscal impact from this measure.

While there is an exemption from the requirements of the measure for police officers if their law enforcement agency has a policy regarding firearm storage and firearms are stored according to that policy, the Oregon State Police (OSP) intends to implement the requirements of the measure. The agency anticipates a one-time fiscal impact of \$176,382 General Fund for costs to purchase necessary equipment. OSP bases the estimate on a per firearm safe price of \$225 and two trigger or cable locks per sworn member at a cost of approximately \$7 each.

It should be noted that the Governor's 2021-23 budget included a policy option package for OSP in the amount of \$110,700 General Fund to purchase safes to securely store officers' firearms. The increased cost in this fiscal impact is due to updated cost information and the need for trigger or cable locks.

All other affected agencies are anticipated to have a minimal fiscal impact from this measure.