

MEMORANDUM

Prepared for: Oregon State Senate

Date: February 23, 2021

- By: Leslie Porter, Analyst
- Re: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments

ENERGY FACILITY SITING COUNCIL

The Governor has appointed the following individual to the Energy Facility Siting Council subject to Senate confirmation.¹

Appointees

Perry Chocktoot of Klamath Falls; New Appointment Cynthia Condon of Salem; Reappointment

Term

Chocktoot: March 15, 2021 – February 28, 2025 Condon: December 13, 2020 – December 12, 2024

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 469.450

Statement of Economic Interest²

Required.

Statutory Requirements³

The council consists of seven public members appointed by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate (**CHOCKTOOT**, **CONDON**, GRAIL, HOWE, TRUITT, WINTERS, VACANT).⁴ Members serve four-year terms and at the pleasure of the Governor.

No member of the council may be an employee, director or retired employee or director of, or a consultant to, or have any pecuniary interest, other than an incidental interest which is disclosed and made a matter of public record at the time of the appointment to the council, in:

- any corporation or utility operating or interested in establishing an energy facility in this state; or
- any manufacturer of equipment related to the operation or establishment of an energy facility in this state.

⁴ ORS 469.450 (2019).

¹ Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 (2019), ORS 171.565 (2019)

² ORS 244.050 (2019).

³ ORS 182.100 (2019) for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 (2019) for diversity criteria.

No member may, for two years after the expiration of the term of the member, accept employment with an owner or operator of an energy facility subject to the regulation of the council.

Duties and Authority

The council must annually elect from among its members a chairperson and vice chairperson with such powers and duties as the council imposes.⁵ The council must:⁶

- conduct and prepare, independently or in cooperation with others, studies, investigations, research and programs relating to all aspects of site selection;
- adopt standards and rules to perform the functions vested by law in the council including the adoption of standards and rules for the siting of energy facilities and implementation of the energy policy of the State of Oregon;
- encourage voluntary cooperation by the people, municipalities, counties, industries, agriculture, and other pursuits, in performing the functions vested by law in the council;
- advise, consult, and cooperate with other agencies of the state, political subdivisions, industries, other states, the federal government and affected groups;
- consult with the Water Resources Commission on the need for power and other areas within the expertise of the council when the Water Resources Commission is determining whether to allocate water for hydroelectric development;
- designate as a special advisory group the governing body of any local government within whose jurisdiction a facility is proposed to be located, and other special advisory groups as are considered necessary;
- form by rule an Electric and Magnetic Field Committee and report the findings of that committee to the Legislative Assembly;
- make determinations regarding proposed energy facility sites based on a preponderance of the evidence on the record;
- review and approve programs for monitoring the environmental and ecological effects of the construction and operation of facilities subject to site certificates; and
- perform such other and further acts as may be necessary, proper or desirable to carry out effectively the duties, powers and responsibilities of the council.

⁵ ORS 469.460 (2019).

⁶ ORS 469.470 to 469.520 (2019).

Energy Facility Siting Council

Agency: Energy Authorization: ORS 469.450 Members: Min: 7 Max: 7 Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2 Senate confirmation required? Yes

Policy Area: Energy

Board Contact: Todd Cornett 550 Capitol Street NE Salem, OR 97301 503-378-8328

Todd.cornett@oregon.gov

Current Appointments:

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)			
Perry Choc	ktoot		
Term(s):	03-01-2021 - 02-28-2025	Position Number: 6	
Cindy Condon			
Term(s):	12-13-2020 - 12-12-2024 02-14-2020 - 12-12-2020	Position Number: 1	
Cindy Condon			
Term(s):	12-13-2020 - 12-12-2024 02-14-2020 - 12-12-2020	Position Number: 1	
Marcia L Grail			
Term(s):	07-01-2018 - 06-30-2022 09-26-2016 - 06-30-2018	Position Number: 3	
Kent D Howe			
Term(s):	09-28-2018 - 06-30-2022	Position Number: 7	
Hanley F Jenkins, II			
Term(s):	12-13-2016 - 12-12-2020 12-13-2012 - 12-12-2016	Position Number: 6	
Jordan C Truitt			
Term(s):	09-23-2019 - 09-22-2023	Position Number: 4	
Mary A Win	Mary A Winters		
Term(s):	12-17-2018 - 06-30-2021	Position Number: 2	