

MEMORANDUM

Prepared for: Oregon State Senate

- Date: February 11, 2021
- By: Leslie Porter Analyst
- Re: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments

OREGON BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

The Governor has appointed the following individual to the Oregon Business Development Commission subject to Senate confirmation.¹

Appointee

Paula Hayes of Beaverton; Reappointment

Term

Hayes: July 1, 2020 - June 30, 2024

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 285A.040 (2019)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Required

Statutory Requirements³

The Commission consists of nine members.⁴ Seven members are appointed by the Governor. Subject to Senate approval, the Governor appoints one of the voting commissioners as presiding officer of the commission (GOPALPUR (D)). Not more than five members may belong to one political party.

At least one member must be a resident of the area east of the Cascade Range (INSKO (R)).

Consideration must be given to the following areas of expertise or training:

- international trade (CHEUNG (N/A));
- traded sector business development (LEAVITT (R));
- small business development (HAYES (D));
- local economic development;
- finance and business development;
- innovation (GOMEZ (R)); or
- other areas of training or expertise identified by the Governor.

¹ Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 (2019), ORS 171.565 (2019).

² ORS 244.050 (2019).

³ ORS 182.100 (2019) for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 (2019) for diversity criteria.

⁴ ORS 285A.040 (2019).

One member with expertise or training in local development must also be an elected local government official with experience in economic development (MINTY MORRIS (R)).

The President of the Senate appoints one nonvoting member of the Senate to a four-year term (JOHNSON (D)).

The Speaker of the House appoints one nonvoting member of the House to a two-year term (BYNUM (D)).

Members serve four-year terms. Gubernatorial appointees serve at the pleasure of the Governor and may be reappointed.

Duties and Authority

The commission develops the state economic development strategy and provides oversight to the Oregon Business Development Department (Business Oregon).

The commission must:5

- develop and maintain the economic development policy and strategy for the state;
- provide oversight and direction to Business Oregon in carrying out the economic development policies and strategy established by the commission;
- keep complete and accurate records of all the meetings, transactions and business of the commission;
- coordinate its activities with federal, state and local agencies, community partners and regions;
- report biennially to the Governor and the Legislative Assembly on the success of economic development efforts; and
- make specified findings prior to the approval of bond financing or economic development projects.

The commission may:6

- delegate power, duties, or functions to designated department officers, agents, employees or committee members;
- prepare and submit suggested administrative rules to the Director of Business Oregon that the commission determines are necessary for the objectives and programs of the department; and
- establish advisory and technical committees as it considers necessary to aid and advise the commission in the performance of its duties.

⁵ ORS 285A.045 to 285A.060 (2019). ⁶ *Id.*

Business Development Commission, Oregon Agency: Economic Development Authorization: ORS 285A.040 Members: Min: 9 Max: 9 Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2 Senate confirmation required? Yes	Policy Area: Jobs/Economy Board Contact: Suzy Miller Business Development Department 121 SW Salmon Street, Ste #205 Portland, OR 97204 503-986-0117 Fax: 503-986-0256 suzy.miller@oregon.gov	
Current Appointments: Member Name and Address (Alphabetical) Janelle Bynum		
House of Represenatives; Non-voting Term(s):	Position Number: 6	
Raymond C Cheung Not a member of a party Term(s): 03-01-2020 - 06-30-2021	Position Number: 4	
Jessica L Gomez Republican Term(s): 07-01-2019 - 06-30-2023 07-01-2015 - 06-30-2019	Position Number: 9	
Chandrakanth C Gopalpur, Chair Democrat Term(s): 07-01-2017 - 06-30-2021 02-17-2016 - 06-30-2017	Position Number: 3	
Paula J Hayes Democrat Term(s): 07-01-2020 - 06-30-2024 09-26-2016 - 06-30-2020	Position Number: 2	
Paula J Hayes Democrat Term(s): 07-01-2020 - 06-30-2024 09-26-2016 - 06-30-2020	Position Number: 2	
Thomas A Insko Republican Term(s): 07-01-2018 - 06-30-2022	Position Number: 1	
Betsy Johnson, Senator Senate President's Appointment; Non-voting Ex-Officio Term(s): 01-24-2013 - 01-23-2017 09-18-2007 - 09-17-2011	Position Number: 7	

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Business Development Commission, Oregon

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)		Policy Area: Jobs/Economy	
Keith A Lea Republican		Position Number: 8	
Term(s):	07-01-2019 - 06-30-2023		
	07-01-2015 - 06-30-2019		
Kelley M M	inty Morris		
Republican	l	Position Number: 5	
Term(s):	09-25-2017 - 06-30-2021		
()			